Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guidance for Academic Writing
Excellent Guidance for Academic Writing!! I wish I found this book at the early stage of my PhD. Love format and writing style of the author - clear, concise, interesting and easy to follow on boxes of conclusion in each chapter. I would like to meet her in person one day. Super woman :) Impressive :)
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by CS

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I came across this book whilst visiting a colleague in Italy who thought very highly of it. I thought it might be of value to our students so I had a look through and saw that whilst it had much to recommend it, it also had some fundamental errors that I could not condone:
- the use of the term 'Methodology' for Methods. Methodology is the study of methods and in...
Published on 4 July 2012 by D. McCollin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guidance for Academic Writing, 12 Jun 2011
Excellent Guidance for Academic Writing!! I wish I found this book at the early stage of my PhD. Love format and writing style of the author - clear, concise, interesting and easy to follow on boxes of conclusion in each chapter. I would like to meet her in person one day. Super woman :) Impressive :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly prepared writing tutorial, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Y. Tenzer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book looks thoroughly into the aspects of research writing not only from the language aspects but also from the structure. I personally, being a non-native-speaker, found it as a priceless guide because it features useful vocabulary, tips, examples and step-by-step guiding. This book was of a great help during my struggle towards the first journal publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended book for university student, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most favorite I like the book is for non-native speakers. The book has comprehensive content for fresh people who is the first time to write research dessert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Research Writing, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a good book,full of advice and terms.It is clear and divided into sections corresponding to the section of a scientific paper. I really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 July 2012
By 
I came across this book whilst visiting a colleague in Italy who thought very highly of it. I thought it might be of value to our students so I had a look through and saw that whilst it had much to recommend it, it also had some fundamental errors that I could not condone:
- the use of the term 'Methodology' for Methods. Methodology is the study of methods and in most contexts is not directly substitutable for the word Methods.
- It recommends putting discussion in the Results. My colleague in Italy had followed its recommendations and submitted a paper, and received feedback from the journal that there was Discussion in the Results.

I don't have the book to hand so cannot go through it with a fine-tooth comb but I was sufficiently concerned given these mistakes that I felt I had to flag them up here. On the plus side, the book appears to provide lots of examples of the way English is used. I hope a 2nd edition comes out that addresses the weaknesses since this book has the potential to be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, 31 July 2014
By 
Bianconi Francesco (Perugia, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful; most probably the best of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Research Writing: A Guide for Non-Native Speakers of English
Science Research Writing: A Guide for Non-Native Speakers of English by Glasman-Deal Hilary (Hardcover - 18 Feb 2010)
42.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews