Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about fish...ever!
I have tried to find an inspirational book about fish cookery for some time. This is most definitely the one! However, it is also so much more than a book about fish, reflecting the menu at J. Sheekey. There are chapters on starters, salads, puddings and drinks as well as fish mains and shellfish. I have never been to J. Sheekey before but most definitely want to go...
Published on 4 Nov. 2012 by theimperfectcook

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars J Sheekys
I've tried the fish pie and the monkfish curry but totally not impressed. They are definitely not the same as the food cooked in the restaurant. The Monkfish Curry was so watery there was easily 1 litre too much stock! The flavours were weak too. What a disappointment. They are clearly not giving away any of their secrets!
Published 16 months ago by Unknown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about fish...ever!, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
I have tried to find an inspirational book about fish cookery for some time. This is most definitely the one! However, it is also so much more than a book about fish, reflecting the menu at J. Sheekey. There are chapters on starters, salads, puddings and drinks as well as fish mains and shellfish. I have never been to J. Sheekey before but most definitely want to go now!
First, the fish recipes. I have made the Fish Pie which is comfort food to wallow in, so much better than my previous version. The Cornish Mackerel Fillet with Pickled vegetables is a great combination as well as being economical and quick. I have also tried the Smoked Haddock with Colcannon, Poached Egg and Wholegrain Mustard Sauce, melting textures and so pretty on the plate. I love the idea of a Shrimp and Scallop Burger with Chilli Mayonnaise and also am inspired by Samphire and Vegetable Fritters, as a side.
The puddings look particularly dreamy. Twinkle Jelly, glittering with gold leaf, served with Amalfi Lemon Ice Cream, looks amazing. Check out Blackberry Possett with Vanilla Shortbread and a Chocolate Pot with a Blood Orange Compote - what's not to like?
There are some ingredients which will be difficult to source. However, I have managed to locate Cod Cheeks on the website of The Fish Society.
The layout of the book is superb with almost every recipe having a full page illustration. The photography deserves a mention as every plate looks tempting.
Find a good fishmonger and start cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Sort Out, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
Slight hiccup as book arrived damaged due to packing issues so contacted Amazon then posted book back, the replacement appeared at the speed of light!
Once I had a chance to really browse through this book I find it is a super thing packed full of tempting ideas to certain to turn the most modest cook into a kitchen tyro.
Or at least one willing to give it a jolly good go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J.Sheeky Fish, 2 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
I've given my other fish Cookery book to the charity shop! This one is fantastic! Recipes clear and really "do able". I can't wait to show off my "skills"! I've ordered three for Christmas presents!
Angela More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars J Sheekey Fish, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
The printing of ingredients and quantities in smoked mackerel recipe did not line up - such a shame in an otherwise beautifully designed book for a the best fish restaurant in Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
Next to Hugh Fearnly Whittingstalls River Cottage Fish, this is up there as one of the most definitive guides to fish cookery, along with side dishes and deserts. Yes it is based on the restaurant menu, but most recipies and ingredients are well with the capabilities of most people.
I now want to visit the restaurant myself to try its goodies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very fishy, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
I love the restaurant and this book gives their recipes,brillient.It would suit a pro or accomplished home cook best.The trend to local sourced simply cooked food is well represented here.When I say simple I don,t mean easy.Simple food is very easy to mess up and then you cannot hide it with some thick sauce.
Very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fish book i've bought in a while, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
really nice read and photos, lovely achievable dishes. Desserts in this book are lovely also which was not expected! Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
This book is a must for all seafood fans. Easy to follow and wonderful photos makes this book a delight to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Lendrak (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
I noticed a couple of recipes from this book in the Times and was so taken with the simplicity and content that I got the book; it really is excellant, well laid out, fantastic photography (it makes such a difference when you are doing a new recipe to be able to see the end result before starting) and its not just fish, it features interesting veg and beautiful sweets, and nothing is too complicated..just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes that are easy to follow, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J Sheekey FISH (Hardcover)
Every dish that I have tried in this book has been fantastic. Although some of the recipes include a lot of ingredients (more than 30 for the delicious Monkfish and Prawn Curry) they are easy to follow and worth the effort. I particularly love the Smoked Haddock with Colcannon, Poached Egg and Wholegrain Mustard Sauce and it also has classics that I still need to do. A fantastic fish cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

J Sheekey FISH
J Sheekey FISH by Tim Hughes (Hardcover - 18 Oct. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews