Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Nonsense approach to Great Food.
OK, when it comes to food I'm a simple guy, I like good quality produce, cooked to perfection with ingredients to enhance the experience that don't overpower the meal's main "star." Too many chefs believe that people want Nouvelle Cuisine style food that requires GPS to locate it and over complicate things through the use cheffy terms that confuse the reader as well as...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
7 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decadent
I liked this book at first - its attractive and quirky with some interesting fare - but now I've tried a selection of recipes I've found they are mostly heavy on salt & sugar and carbs. Good tips on cooking steak - but otherwise recipes mostly too stodgy, calorific and over-flavoured. Back of the cupboard book.
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by L. A. Ellett Iolite


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for all meat lovers, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
This was a birthday present for my other half. We've tried several of the recipes so far and they are all amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook Books, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Got lots of other books about meat, fish, slow cooking etc. But this also has excellent breakfast and vegetable ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed the way I eat and cook, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
This book has taught me so much about meat and sourcing good meat. It's changed the way I look at it and taught me that it's worth eating less but eating better quality. I've steadily been trying loads of the recipes including salads, burgers, cocktails, puddings. Nothing has disappointed never thought I'd use the book so often. Highly recommend it, and praying for a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My type of cook book..., 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Loved everything about this cook book but also the ethics behind the food husbandry in general.

I haven't tried any of the recipes yet (so probably you are wondering why I'm bothering to review) but having read the book, the ingredients, cooking times etc they are plenty of things I'm raring to go on. Christmas this year will be a goose stuffed with Stollen.

I am buying this as my secret santa for a mate whose also a big foodie and also like me a carnivore. A couple of other friends who have seen my copy of the book are also now planning on a purchase. It's that kind of book, recipes and food concepts you just buy into.

Whilst to me Jamie Oliver is just Nigella at her most boring on a diet, this is Hugh F-W on pharmaceutically approved low dose steroids and this I can buy into. Whilst I wouldn't eat like this every day it is my sort of food, steaks, meat, seafood & great desserts with a very strongly British grounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawksmoor "Brilliant!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Brought the book prior to visiting the Covent Garden restaurant, book is excellent
very interesting to learn about the history as well as cooking methods, cuts of meat etc.
Would recommend the restaurant as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book!, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
It was for a present and the person loved it! I liked this book more than I expected. This book truly is a must-read for anyone who loves cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could eat this book!, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Ossnob (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Never heard of this team or restaurant but was intrigued by other reviews. Glad I spent my christmas voucher so wisely.

I was hooked as soon as I opened it - even took it to read in bed - it's not just about 'recipes' or 'how to cook....'it's the complete deal.
The historical references,anecdotes,drawings and pictures, the animal husbandry, I have no fault with the book, I just loved it's highly readable from start to finish.
Just in case I haven't made my point already, I've raved about it to fellow cookery book addicts as one of my top books. (Oh, and that I'd been cooking my steaks the same way these guys recommend - made me feel just a little smug too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Every time I open this book my mouth waters. The recipes are excellent, the photos really do them justice & they use normal everyday ingredients.
A must have for all food lovers - especially carnivores!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
great book filled with loads of exciting recipes, interesting descriptions and vivid and detailed pictures. A brilliant buy. Want to go to restaurant now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Really lovely book, great for a present. Great for the foodies in your family / friednship circle, and a great looking book for a coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews