Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Nonsense approach to Great Food.
OK, when it comes to food I'm a simple guy, I like good quality produce, cooked to perfection with ingredients to enhance the experience that don't overpower the meal's main "star." Too many chefs believe that people want Nouvelle Cuisine style food that requires GPS to locate it and over complicate things through the use cheffy terms that confuse the reader as well as...
Published on 26 Oct. 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
7 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decadent
I liked this book at first - its attractive and quirky with some interesting fare - but now I've tried a selection of recipes I've found they are mostly heavy on salt & sugar and carbs. Good tips on cooking steak - but otherwise recipes mostly too stodgy, calorific and over-flavoured. Back of the cupboard book.
Published on 5 Feb. 2012 by L. A. Ellett Iolite


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas present, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Recommend to me by a friend and a given as a gift at Christmas. Perfect for the Connoisseur who has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Gift, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
S. Page "SJP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a meat lover! Really lovely layout and easy to use. Perfect gift for any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipies, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Amazing recipes and a detailed book on how to choose your beef. Gives an introduction into the world of steak and an insight into different cuts, breeds and tastes.

Gives the history behind Hawksmoor which was a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give this 10 stars, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Hawksmoor is by far my favourite restaurant to eat at. Second to absolutely nothing. Give me a porthouse and a Shipwreck Sour any day of the week.

The book takes that Hawksmoor feel and lets you have it at home. I've used the book a few times and had good results from it every time. It gives you introduction not just on cookery, but is almost like an entire butchery course in one. Covers the cuts of meats, where on the animal and what to look out for.

The Mac 'n' Cheese is epic (despite me being lactose intolerant).

I tend to reserve this book for when I'm really in the mood to indulge and cook. This is not a book to use for when you get home at 6pm and want something quick.

Not for vegetablists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book. Lots of good information and well written ..., 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
This is a great book. Lots of good information and well written recipes. Written without being condescending and once you have read this you will want to visit one of the Hawksmoor restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Given as a Xmas present, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Moore "phil" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a present the recipient was very happy with it.The illustrations looked pretty good to me...especially if your a carnivore!
Looking forward to a meal cooked from this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food from the best Steak house in London, 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
The critics have hailed Hawksmoor as one of the great restaurant openings of recent years.
And having enjoyed some great food in their fantastic restaurants would have to agree.
Many "foodies" wax lyrical about French culinary flair, vibrant Italian dishes, and Spanish tapas have never been more popular; but, in typical British fashion, we ignore our own heritage of quality ingredients cooked with care. We were the inventors of the steakhouse but we imagine that it's the sole preserve of our cousins from across the pond. Hawksmoor continues to carry the British carnivore torch with great style, in their steakhouses and now with this eponymous book.
Their credo is simple: the best ingredients - dictionary-thick steaks from Longhorn cattle traditionally reared in North Yorkshire by multi-award-winners The Ginger Pig, dry-aged for at least thirty-five days, simply cooked on a real charcoal grill. Their cocktails, wines and desserts too have been applauded to the echo.
Hawksmoor at Home is a practical cookbook which shows you how to buy and cook great steak and seafood and indeed much else (including how to cook the both the 'best burger in Britain' and the 'best roast beef in Britain'); how to mix terrific cocktails and choose wine to accompany your meal. Above all Hawksmoor at Home entertains and informs in the inimitable 'Hawksmoor' way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dribble!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
This book can only be described with one word: DELICIOUS!
Clear instructions and great photography plus detail about the source of meat. Bought as a gift but want my own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My boyfriend loved this as a gift, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
My boyfriend loved this as a gift. Recipes are relatively easy to make at home, and it's great for all of you meat-lovers out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meat, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails (Hardcover)
A fine book if you are a fan of Steak. It includes the famous in house cocktail recipes and the illustrations are most inviting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawksmoor at Home: Meat - Seafood - Sides - Breakfasts - Puddings - Cocktails
£20.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews