Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is so much more to this book than Hannibal
When the Romans kicked Carthage in the teeth by stealing Sicily off them in the First Punic War, it was only a matter of time before the Carthaginians struck back with a vengeance. That vengeance took the formidable shape of General Hannibal Barca, a bunch of elephants and a mass of infantry and cavalry gathered from across the Carthaginian Mediterranean empire...
Published on 24 Sept. 2011 by Kate

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, with some problems....
It's not often I bother to finish a book that I would rate as merely ok, as there are too many great authors to read, but something kept me at this one. The far fetched plot about the son of a Carthaginian noble sold into Roman slavery had me smiling at times- lots of convenient coincidences keep the plot afloat, such as when the slavers responsible just happen to stop by...
Published on 20 Mar. 2013 by Harr75


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little insight!, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After completing the forgotten legions a while ago i thought it
time to try another of ben kanes books, well impressed with
the aforementioned. Although the title of the novel is
Hannibal, he doesn't actually come into the story un,till about a third of the way through, and then the character Hanno is the main focus. The story is good although a little slow at times it does pick up at the last quarter, i did find Hannibal enemy of Rome an interesting read, just not quite in the same league as the forgotten legion trilogy! '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Editor needed for surplus adjectives!, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1) (Paperback)
I was interested to read this book because Hannibal's wars with Rome in popular fiction have been neglected. However, my enjoyment of what should have been an exciting read was marred by the author's prolific use of surplus adjectives, especially in dialogue. A decent editor would have pruned the text by cutting redundant and often irritating surplus adjectives describing what and how something is being said. The author could learn from Bernard Cornwell or Con Iggulden about how this should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal Enemy of Rome, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1) (Paperback)
I have read this book first of the series. It approximately takes about 2 weeks to read as only have 2 hours every night to do so. I absolutely recommended this trilogy
Exciting gripping and knowledge about our past history
Another lot of 4 books I recommend is Conn Igguldens books of the Roman Empire. So Hannibal is the other side of history against the Romans. I am halfway through the second book
Fields of Blood
Equally interesting, gripping, and exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining perspective of the Punic Wars, 3 July 2012
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1) (Paperback)
Set during the second of the Punic wars this book sits between Ben Kane's Forgotten Legion series and his new Spartacus series. Hard to tell if it is a stand-alone or if Mr Kane will return to the characters here. But this is the story of the rise of Hannibal, and his attack towards Rome via the Alps, told from the perspective of a group of participants on the Roman side and the Carthaginians side. Often in these books by weight of the central character you form a view of the good guys and the bad guys, but not here, as the author cleverly balances the perspectives and views of both sides. In essence it is the tale of two families, one Roman and one Carthaginian and a slave that links the two. So, using the background of Hannibal, we are given a tale of perspectives, loyalty, honour, family and, of course, action and thrills.

For me this was a bit of a diversion for the author, a more rounded and complex story than his other works and I have seen some reviews that were not fond of some of the pace or detail, but it worked for me. Ben Kane builds both character and perspective so as a reader you see events and history through their eyes. I have read all of his books (except Spartacus 2) and enjoyed them all (obviously!) but I think this is his deepest and most accomplished work yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal: Enemy of Rome!, 15 Jun. 2011
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, this is not a standalone book as I previously assumed it was it's the first in a series about the legendary Carthaginian General, Hannibal Barca of Carthage and the second Punic War against Rome during which he led his army of over a hundred thousand, including elephants over the Alps in order to take, the battle to Rome on their own soil, which lasted an incredible sixteen years.

If like me you are/were a fan of Ben Kane's Forgotten Legion Chronicles, then I am certain that you will enjoy this story as well. It's a book you will not want to put down until you find out what happens to his principle characters. Oddly Hannibal is not one of them initially, as he does not appear until page 143 (I believe) but don't let put you off.

Ben Kane has a writing style that's not only pleasing to the eye but he writes like a normal person. By that I mean he does not use fanciful words to flower up the story and try to look clever as some authors try to do. He is also very enthusiastic about the subjects he writes about, for example he had a sword and shield made that were used by some of Hannibal's troops and he recently attended the, `This is Deva Festival' at Chester along with another excellent Roman author Ruth Downie.

Coincidentally whilst reading this book I was also listening to the Ghosts of Cannae when driving into and out of work on CD. I did not intend to but the CD demonstrates that Ben Kane did not begin this book on a whim, he has studied the subject matter and has written a historically accurate version of events, in which he has created a realistic world where it's not difficult to imagine the reader is there, with Hannibal or the Legions.

The story begins in Carthage where one of the main characters, Hanno a young man and his best friend fall into the hands of pirates after being swept out to sea during a fishing trip. They are subsequently sold into slavery in Italy, Hanno into the family of a minor equestrian farm household and his friend into a Gladiator school. The former is bought by Quintus a young Roman who is hoping to join the army. What follows is how their relationship develops along with Quintus' sister Aurelia.

At the same time the family of Hanno, his father and brothers who believe him to be dead, join Hannibal's army as they begin their march towards Italy during which many thousands die, or desert or face hostile tribes along the way. Once over the Alps, the mayhem of skirmishes and large scale battles begin, which are described fully and viscerally and without reservation as they should be.

The author writes in such a way, his stories draw you in and make you either like and care about his characters or hate them because they are vile individuals. Overall, Hannibal: Enemy of Rome is another fantastic book and one that I am certain will be another smash hit by Ben Kane. It's a great story, fantastic detail, with endearing characters, historically accurate and just the beginning for Hannibal. It will be a long wait for book two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good realistic action story., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story comes across as very believable and shows how much research the author has put in. The characters involved are built up steadily through the story, gaining sympathy from the reader. This develops without the 'goody' and 'Baddy' scenario and leaves you wondering who to shout for in the main battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Kane excels with this book, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great characterisation. Clearly very well researched. I kept switching allegiance between Carthage & Rome all through the book! I can't wait to read part 2. I think this is Ben Kane's best book yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars total war in antiquity, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Bryan Odriscoll "brian boru" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kane writes well enough for me to continue to want to read his novels. I have enjoyed his three books which relate the adventures of Romulus and his companions during the period at the end of the Roman Republic. This tale, does not specifically deal with Hannibal but, rather, with the experiences of a Carthaginian family and a Roman family whose fates become entwined during the extended and desperate conflict. The tale is absorbing and Kane knows his history and what life was like for the average person of the time. This book is clearly intended to have a follow up work to continue or complete the tale. I will be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD YARN, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1) (Paperback)
Really enjoying this series and the second novel does not miss a beat but if you expect this to be about Hannibal then choose another author. I read Ben Kane's Spartacus and thoroughly enjoyed it although the original novel I read many years ago was better.

'Hannibal, Enemy of Rome' only just manages to catch glimpses of the Hannibal character and that's all you will get is a few glimpses!

Still recommended though for the entertainment value if not the historical factor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A look at wars past, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the first installment which had enough interest to include the development of the roman and carthaginian charachters, the possible involvement of the slave/master love aspect between Hanno and Auriela and of course the battles between Hannibal and the Romans.
Looking forward to reading Book 2 of this trilogy and seeing how it pans out. The historical accuracy of the wars to include everything from types of soldiers, weaponry and tactics etc is very interesting also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1)
Hannibal: Enemy of Rome (Hannibal 1) by Ben Kane (Paperback - 19 Jan. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews