Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars34
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2015
A thoroughly tense and gripping thriller. I was hooked straight from the start.

The seemingly tranquil village makes for an intriguing and novel setting for such a dark and violent sequence of events.

Highly recommended to all fans of crime thrillers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Now, I'm aware this is possibly unfair to the author, but I read the ebook version of this and was increasingly frustrated by the layout. Paragraphs were not broken so when the scene shifted it took a couple of sentences to work out what had happened. E.g. Julia and Alice have a conversation in Alice's house, but on the very next line, Vanessa and George are conversing in their living room. As a result, I couldn't possibly enjoy the story.

Not that I could enjoy the story anyway with paper thin characters, needlessly over-described. We are told, right from the outset, which character(s) to like or loathe - it leaves nothing to the imagination to be told that (one of) the main villains of the piece is described as such in his introduction!

Sorry - not one for me
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tom Bale bursts onto the crime scene with quite a good novel. If you are affected by the recent events in Cumbria I should warn you not to read this book. Our story starts when Julia Trent is going to clean out her dead parents' house in a sleepy Sussex village. First of all she thinks that she is seeing things when what looks like the postman laying next to his van. Julia soon finds however that she has driven into a massacre, with the killer still on the prowl. With the killer chasing her Julia tries to escape death but a the same time she sees that there is another person involved with the killings. When the emergency services finaly arrive on the scene the person who was chasing her is dead and the police ignore her warnings of a second killer, believing that it is just shock. Believing that the killer has finished his spree, and then taken his own life, the case looks rather open and shut.

But when Craig Walker, a freelance journalist comes across Julia and her report he seeks her out. Craig lost his father in the shootings and is pretty sure that Julia is telling the truth. Together they set out to pin together all that happened on the fateful morning of the killings, but could they be heading for danger themselves?

With a story full of secrets, and people wanting to buy the land around the village for re-development, lots of money is at stake and someone doesn't want to lose out. You will have to read this book to find out who is ultimately pulling whose strings, and who wins and loses.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
This book holds your interest from the first page to the last. It is a fast moving story, and very intriguing, with numerous twists and turns - certainly edge of the seat material at times!

This book is well written and very descriptive. Set in a idealic Sussex village, you could quite vividly imagine the rooms in the old farmhouse and the Manor House etc. The characters were great, and you lived the story with them.

This is the first novel I have read by this author, but it wont be the last. A great read, and I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone who likes a fast moving thriller. Well done Tom.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
The story line is fast passed in the early chapters, but also a little far fetched in places. A mass killing in a village, and the police seem unable or unwilling to investigate the crime fully.
The main characters Julia and Craig are left to lead us to the conclusion that everyone else is either a mass murderer or a bent copper.

Saying all that, this book still managed to hold my interest in the main, a couple of times the prose and descriptions were lengthy to the point of boring.

Good story-line, just needed a bit more depth..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Well written and enjoyable read. Slightly far fetched story but easy to imagine with good description. Slightly predictable ending but this did not spoil my experience. Well worth a try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Hit's the ground running from the first page which is a great way to start a book & i don't know why more author's don't do it ... good characters & plot line's but it does rather lose it's thread in the middle & i found myself skimming pages until the good stuff started again ..which it soon does. Also, despite the title, there's not a tremendous amount of gore but i loved the double twist at the end and thought, on the whole, it was a well visualised read with pacey plot line's, strong character's and enough tension's & twist's to keep you interested until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
I was recommended Tom Bale when I met his sister in law at a job centre, she was giving me a back to work interview but due to the fact I was starting dialysis that week, back to work isn't an option for a while. We got talking about books ,im an avid reader and love the crime genre. I am now a huge fan,love the style of writing,the book flows well and gets you wanting more with every page,will download the rest of his work and have ordered the hardbacks to keep,would love them signed if you ever read these reviews Mr Bale. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
The premise was intriguing and then we got into the meat of the book and it became tiresome. The characters were all stereotypes, engendering very little sympathy from the reader and the descriptions of some of the action sequences were bordering on tedious. At one point there is text describing a character moving across the kitchen floor to reach a toaster during a fight. It is not intense and exciting, or tortuous as you endure the struggle alongside them, it is just tortuous.

There are better thrillers with simpler plots and more enthralling characters, read them instead.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
First book that I have read by this author and look forward to the second book that I have already bought. This was really good. I liked the characters and it was quick to get into. As a fan of the band James I liked the insert at the start with the lyrics from Sound. Guess Tom Bale is a fan as well!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.