Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Wakeman
I read this one cover to cover and laughed all the way through.
Wakeman is a great story teller.This is a man who could keep you
entertained not only by his maestro musical status but his sheer talent
in writing entertaining books.
The book shows a side of Wakeman most people don't know.
He often appears unapproachable when performing behind his...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by J. P. de Fleuriot

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Devoid of wit style or grace this is a dull book written by a yawn inducing millionaire trying and ...
Devoid of wit style or grace this is a dull book written by a yawn inducing millionaire trying and failing miserably to be zany and funny.
Attrocious. Avoid.
Published 10 days ago by Jeffrey Von Realist.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Wakeman, 30 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
I read this one cover to cover and laughed all the way through.
Wakeman is a great story teller.This is a man who could keep you
entertained not only by his maestro musical status but his sheer talent
in writing entertaining books.
The book shows a side of Wakeman most people don't know.
He often appears unapproachable when performing behind his banks of keyboards,
He appears to be a down to earth person who would light up a room whith his
fun loving and charming personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories from a master teller of tales, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Whenever they were discussing someone who was good at telling stories my parents used to say `they couldn't half tell the tale'. Anybody who has seen Rick Wakeman on TV would surely agree that he can't half tell the tale. The long blonde haired, bizarrely attired keyboard player from prog-rock group Yes has transformed himself into TV personality partly because of his pleasant easy-going nature but mainly because he is a brilliantly entertaining story teller, and after years on the road as a rock musician he has a great many stories he can tell.

This book is Rick Wakemans first collection of his stories and if any book sounds like it will be a sure fire winner, this is it - and it doesn't disappoint. Chapter after chapter Wakeman tells us of his misadventures, both as a struggling musician performing in pubs and clubs for a few pounds and then as a rock superstar playing in large arenas all around the world. Many of the stories are outrageous and some are a bit naughty but nearly all are very funny.

Although not particularly intended to be autobiographical (he only briefly touches upon his off-stage life) we also learn about his legendary drinking exploits - he admits his drinking capacity was championship level - which finally led to him being told that he wouldn't last six months if he didn't pack it in, which he was able to do with no withdrawal problems whatsoever.

This is a very good read then. It put me in mind of an extremely long after dinner speech; only the best, most entertaining after dinner speech anyone is ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny, 12 Aug 2009
By 
M. Hussey (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
From the first chapter about the "Russian Dolls", its just a rollercoaster of laugh out loud yarns. Loved it, and like the previous reviewer, I cant wait for the next book to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories, 9 Aug 2009
By 
c (norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
just like to say it was a really good read and i cant wait for the next book.thanks Rick it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Rock n' Roll and (more often than not) flatulence, 11 Aug 2010
By 
jcmacc (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Wakeman is a brilliant story teller and, with decades of the rock n roll life under his belt, plenty of hilarious stories to tell. From the flatulence and "trouser incidents" inherent from the poor diet of the gigging muso, to the scrapes with authority touring the old Eastern Europe to accidentally showing a porn version of Snow White in a German family restaurant, all of the perils and pitfalls of rock n' roll are here, plus some new ones he invented.

Although "grumpy" in the title, the book is anything but (it's just a cash-in title to link with Wakeman's Grumpy Old Men apperances). Frankly Wakeman was always slightly too fun to fit totally into Yes and the rest of the uber-serious Prog Rock movement, which is why he ended up accidentally ordering a take-out curry during a gig which he ate in one of the "dull bits"!

Hilarious, with plenty of genuinely laugh out loud bits. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny read, 1 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
This is an excellent written book .It is funny and informative so you will never get bored with Rick's adventures.I only wish there would be more in it about his musical encounters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Having purchased Rick's second book first I coudn't wait to get this one and it has proved to be even funnier than his second book.All the humour and pathos is there in abundance.I hope he does a third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy Old Genius, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Good ol Rick! Just as funny as he is in the Grumpy TV series. 'All hoodies should be shot on sight he recently proclaimed' Easy to read, gallops along. I was at the Palace gig where he performed 'Journey' - you'd never have known he was about to flake out! Great stuff from a bygone age of the real rock bands. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as great is., 14 May 2010
By 
C. van Schuerbeck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Rick Wakeman is a musician who can bring you in another dimension just by telling a story or even just an anecdote.. I guess people looked at me weird on the tube when I suddenly laughed on my own while reading the book. I enjoyed this book more than I have enjoying reading in a long time. Getting the following book soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 14 May 2010
By 
Jeremy Brett (Soham Cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
This has to be one of the funniest books I've read in a long time.
Some of the stories that Rick mentions defy belief. There were some moments in the book where I was crying with laughter. He definitely has a way with words.
Needless to say, I have bought the next book (Further Adventures of a Grumpy Old Rock Star) and that doesn't let up either. Do yourself a favour, if you're in need of a good laugh, buy both - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories
Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories by Rick Wakeman (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews