Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Wakeman
I read this one cover to cover and laughed all the way through.
Wakeman is a great story teller.This is a man who could keep you
entertained not only by his maestro musical status but his sheer talent
in writing entertaining books.
The book shows a side of Wakeman most people don't know.
He often appears unapproachable when performing behind his...
Published on 30 Sept. 2009 by J. P. de Fleuriot

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny? Not really...
I have to be honest and say that I'm not really a prog rock fan, nor do I own any of Wakemans records, but there is no question that he is a superb musician and I've always found Wakeman entertaining when he appears on TV or when he is on the radio.

The book is basically some stories of the things that have happend to him during his career. Some other reviewers...
Published on 2 Jan. 2013 by D. Calvert


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Wakeman, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
I read this one cover to cover and laughed all the way through.
Wakeman is a great story teller.This is a man who could keep you
entertained not only by his maestro musical status but his sheer talent
in writing entertaining books.
The book shows a side of Wakeman most people don't know.
He often appears unapproachable when performing behind his banks of keyboards,
He appears to be a down to earth person who would light up a room whith his
fun loving and charming personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories from a master teller of tales, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Whenever they were discussing someone who was good at telling stories my parents used to say `they couldn't half tell the tale'. Anybody who has seen Rick Wakeman on TV would surely agree that he can't half tell the tale. The long blonde haired, bizarrely attired keyboard player from prog-rock group Yes has transformed himself into TV personality partly because of his pleasant easy-going nature but mainly because he is a brilliantly entertaining story teller, and after years on the road as a rock musician he has a great many stories he can tell.

This book is Rick Wakemans first collection of his stories and if any book sounds like it will be a sure fire winner, this is it - and it doesn't disappoint. Chapter after chapter Wakeman tells us of his misadventures, both as a struggling musician performing in pubs and clubs for a few pounds and then as a rock superstar playing in large arenas all around the world. Many of the stories are outrageous and some are a bit naughty but nearly all are very funny.

Although not particularly intended to be autobiographical (he only briefly touches upon his off-stage life) we also learn about his legendary drinking exploits - he admits his drinking capacity was championship level - which finally led to him being told that he wouldn't last six months if he didn't pack it in, which he was able to do with no withdrawal problems whatsoever.

This is a very good read then. It put me in mind of an extremely long after dinner speech; only the best, most entertaining after dinner speech anyone is ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
Mossleymike (manchester england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
From the first chapter about the "Russian Dolls", its just a rollercoaster of laugh out loud yarns. Loved it, and like the previous reviewer, I cant wait for the next book to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Rock n' Roll and (more often than not) flatulence, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
jcmacc (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Wakeman is a brilliant story teller and, with decades of the rock n roll life under his belt, plenty of hilarious stories to tell. From the flatulence and "trouser incidents" inherent from the poor diet of the gigging muso, to the scrapes with authority touring the old Eastern Europe to accidentally showing a porn version of Snow White in a German family restaurant, all of the perils and pitfalls of rock n' roll are here, plus some new ones he invented.

Although "grumpy" in the title, the book is anything but (it's just a cash-in title to link with Wakeman's Grumpy Old Men apperances). Frankly Wakeman was always slightly too fun to fit totally into Yes and the rest of the uber-serious Prog Rock movement, which is why he ended up accidentally ordering a take-out curry during a gig which he ate in one of the "dull bits"!

Hilarious, with plenty of genuinely laugh out loud bits. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories, 9 Aug. 2009
By 
c (norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
just like to say it was a really good read and i cant wait for the next book.thanks Rick it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rockstar's rollicking ribald romp, 1 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
I have liked Rick Wakeman's music since I was about 16, so it was interesting to see what this brilliantly gifted musician had got up to over the years. Basically he seems to have indulged in drunken and uncouth misbehaving, with the occasional bit of drunken and uncouth well intentioned behaviour that did not turn out as intended. In this his first volume of tales from his life he has touched upon some extremely funny incidents and with the help of his ghost writer has told them in a very funny way. I loved the tales, even whilst tut-tutting at some of the more borderline criminal activities he and his mates engaged in. I must be getting old and fuddy duddy because I can maybe understand why the wives weren't always that impressed with his "work hard, play hard" rock 'n' roll approach to life, but I suspect that it goes with the territory and the kids seem to have turned out OK, unless anyone knows any different? I loved the second volume too, so now I'm eagerly awaiting the third one and who knows, maybe I'll buy it in hardback at a book signing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 14 May 2010
By 
Jeremy Brett (Soham Cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
This has to be one of the funniest books I've read in a long time.
Some of the stories that Rick mentions defy belief. There were some moments in the book where I was crying with laughter. He definitely has a way with words.
Needless to say, I have bought the next book (Further Adventures of a Grumpy Old Rock Star) and that doesn't let up either. Do yourself a favour, if you're in need of a good laugh, buy both - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as great is., 14 May 2010
By 
C. van Schuerbeck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Rick Wakeman is a musician who can bring you in another dimension just by telling a story or even just an anecdote.. I guess people looked at me weird on the tube when I suddenly laughed on my own while reading the book. I enjoyed this book more than I have enjoying reading in a long time. Getting the following book soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy Old Genius, 7 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
Good ol Rick! Just as funny as he is in the Grumpy TV series. 'All hoodies should be shot on sight he recently proclaimed' Easy to read, gallops along. I was at the Palace gig where he performed 'Journey' - you'd never have known he was about to flake out! Great stuff from a bygone age of the real rock bands. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories (Paperback)
I very much enjoyed this and went through it in one sitting. Be warned, it is a very short book (200 pages in the hardback I read) so the content is great but you may have to question the value for money aspect.

These are tales from Rick's many adventures and tours when he and various bands tourded the world and got up to all sorts of drink related nonsense, grown up kids really, but very entertaining.

Rick was a heavy drinker and not one for listening to authority but in the 70's he was a big star and had some fantastic opportunities and experiences he shares with us here, no autobiography, more the sort of tales you would tell over a pint or two "go, on tell them about the time we...." kind of thing. He comes over as a very nice guy, not in the least self obsessed and he really has had some very entertaining experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories
Grumpy Old Rock Star: and Other Wondrous Stories by Rick Wakeman (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews