Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and Comprehensive Guide
As the title suggests this is a fabulous and nostalgic view of a car that is largely ridiculed (square steering wheel anyone?) however it is written in a friendly and informative way with interesting facts. I particularly liked the sectioned layout, which takes you from the early origins all the way through to buying one in the present day. Ideal for casual interest or...
Published 9 months ago by Smurfette

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
some caption errors spoilt it for me
Published 2 months ago by Mountain Rover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and Comprehensive Guide, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
As the title suggests this is a fabulous and nostalgic view of a car that is largely ridiculed (square steering wheel anyone?) however it is written in a friendly and informative way with interesting facts. I particularly liked the sectioned layout, which takes you from the early origins all the way through to buying one in the present day. Ideal for casual interest or more serious perusers, there's a wealth of pictures and thoroughly researched information including technical specifications. Would make a great gift, overall I'm thrilled with my copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not All-Aggro! A Great book., 25 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. D. A. Rothery "David R" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
Having owned an Allegro early in my driving experience I find this book a fun read because no matter what people say about these cars and no matter what quirks mine had they are a great starter classic and deserve to be restored or kept on the road. Lots of new facts to learn and many I already knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
This is an interesting book with plenty of research and detail, about a car which suffered at the hands of the press. It really was nowhere near as bad as it was portrayed, and is still loved by a lot of people. There is a thriving Facebook page (Austin Allegro Appreciation Society) for owners and lovers of the car, with plenty of technical experts on hand to answer specific questions, but buy this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good if lightweight read., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
A lightweight if resolutely upbeat book on a car long-since relegated to the land of old-fashioned humour. The BMIHT archives have been heavily plundered for illustrations so there is very little fresh in the line of photos but the writers enthusiasm shines through. An excellent read of a neglected subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very informative read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
I found this book very interesting I recommend this book to anyone with any nostalgic interest or who may wish to buy an Allegro to read this book first it tells you everything !!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Allegorical tale..., 27 April 2014
By 
S. F. Knowles "David Knowles" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
The poor maligned All-aggro has been the subject of derision or apathy almost from the day it burst on the scene in May 1973. The much-loved Austin/Morris ADO16 range was always going to be hard act to follow and the new Austin - British Leyland's second major attempt to corner the light saloon market after the ADO28 Morris Marina of two years beforehand - had been so compromised during its gestation that it was fatally flawed from the outset. In other words, it was a classic British underdog disaster story. A book on the Allegro is arguably long overdue and so I was delighted to see Ben Wanklyn's slim but fascinating volume. If anything he has been too kind to the car and it's creators. But it is great to be able read all about it one place at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Allegro, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
detailed and interesting especially if you are older enough to remember then when they came out. quite nostalgic. i brock quit a few up in the day to get spare parts and use the back sub frame into a base for a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
some caption errors spoilt it for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide (Paperback)
Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide
Austin Allegro: An Enthusiast's Guide by Ben Wanklyn (Paperback - 4 Feb 2014)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews