Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wood that pays is a wood that stays
An excellent book for students and landowners, it starts with a brief history of woodland in Britain, followed by a chapter on tree biology and sylvicultural systems which is comprehensive and written in refreshingly plain english. The native and commonly used non-native trees are then detailed followed by how to draw up a management plan, essential if you want grant aid...
Published on 30 Aug. 2007 by Charles Holst

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy Kindle edition
The book contains many photographs and tables. In the Kindle edition the tables are almost illegible due to the small font, and the pictures come out in black and white and are tiny. I very much regret buying this edition. I won't buy a hard copy version, but I wish that's what I had.
Published on 31 Oct. 2012 by Jenny Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wood that pays is a wood that stays, 30 Aug. 2007
An excellent book for students and landowners, it starts with a brief history of woodland in Britain, followed by a chapter on tree biology and sylvicultural systems which is comprehensive and written in refreshingly plain english. The native and commonly used non-native trees are then detailed followed by how to draw up a management plan, essential if you want grant aid. Then the nitty-gritty of planting, protecting, measurement and marketing.

This is a very practical book on managing woodlands as a whole, very sensitive to their wildlife and landscape value but stressing that woodlands that pay are more likely to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, easy to read, balanced guide, 9 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a landowner seriously considering woodland creation, I found this book easy to read, very informative and balanced. I'll be keeping it nearby as a useful reference to remind me about the key aspects of woodland creation and management. As with the best sources of knowledge, this book identifies the questions you need to ask yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the novice!, 19 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am part way through reading the book for a second time. Having acquired a small piece of land which has recently been clear felled and replanted I needed a quick introduction to woodland and how it should be managed and I certainly got this from the book. The only thing I wanted to know that I couldn't find is how best and when to move small self seeded saplings to an alternative location. Written in a fairly easy to follow way I would recommend this book to anybody who needs an introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 7 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent introduction to Forest Management. It starts from the beginning, with no assumption of prior knowledge.
Ideal for potential forestry students as well as those with an interest in woodland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for new woodland owners and students, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely one for your reference library. So good I've got two copies. Does not assume any prior knowledge. Combines theory and practice, eg first chapter on Woodlands Past Present and Future is followed by a chapter on Getting to know Trees and Woodlands. Plus there are lots of helpful lists such as different tasks for the seasonal cycle and a chapter on how to generate an income. As a new woodland owner this has been an invaluable book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Starr read!, 29 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
I found this book to be an insightful and stimulating guide to managing woodlands. The authour's writing style holds your attention and the information supplied is highly relevant and will be of value to a wide range of readers. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone with a keen interest in purchasing or managing woodlands in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the new woodland owner, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Richard S. Streater "Dickie mint" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent book, which has helped this new woodland owner greatly. Had a visit, after a year's work from the local Capel Manor agricultural College..told them I had followed all in the book...got a pat on the back, which can't be bad for a 'Townie'..you have to be careful, when you are cutting down trees to thin out...that's 50 years + gone, if you make a mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
G. Wurr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a well written book, I can see why Ben Law advocates the reading. Lots of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for woodland management, 24 Nov. 2011
This book crams so much information into it, it's unreal.
A brilliant book to keep in work, car or even in your work bag for quick reference.
A very well thought out book, written for ease of reading an gets points across in an easy to understand format.
Ideal for the newbie to woodland management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, yes, gripping, no, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just acquired 3 acres of woodland I thought this would be a worthwhile buy. It is, and I've read it from start to finish and am likely to return to it many times. It's quite dry however and though you may think this down to the topic itself, I disagree. Take for example Tony York's book on pig keeping, similar "dryness" of subject but delivered with humour. I don't want to detract from the worth of the book though. It is comprehensive, organised and I'm sure accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodland Management: A Practical Guide
Woodland Management: A Practical Guide by Chris Starr (Hardcover - 16 Oct. 2013)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews