Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wood that pays is a wood that stays
An excellent book for students and landowners, it starts with a brief history of woodland in Britain, followed by a chapter on tree biology and sylvicultural systems which is comprehensive and written in refreshingly plain english. The native and commonly used non-native trees are then detailed followed by how to draw up a management plan, essential if you want grant aid...
Published on 30 Aug 2007 by Charles Holst

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy Kindle edition
The book contains many photographs and tables. In the Kindle edition the tables are almost illegible due to the small font, and the pictures come out in black and white and are tiny. I very much regret buying this edition. I won't buy a hard copy version, but I wish that's what I had.
Published 23 months ago by Jenny Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wood that pays is a wood that stays, 30 Aug 2007
An excellent book for students and landowners, it starts with a brief history of woodland in Britain, followed by a chapter on tree biology and sylvicultural systems which is comprehensive and written in refreshingly plain english. The native and commonly used non-native trees are then detailed followed by how to draw up a management plan, essential if you want grant aid. Then the nitty-gritty of planting, protecting, measurement and marketing.

This is a very practical book on managing woodlands as a whole, very sensitive to their wildlife and landscape value but stressing that woodlands that pay are more likely to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, easy to read, balanced guide, 9 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a landowner seriously considering woodland creation, I found this book easy to read, very informative and balanced. I'll be keeping it nearby as a useful reference to remind me about the key aspects of woodland creation and management. As with the best sources of knowledge, this book identifies the questions you need to ask yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 7 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent introduction to Forest Management. It starts from the beginning, with no assumption of prior knowledge.
Ideal for potential forestry students as well as those with an interest in woodland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the novice!, 19 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am part way through reading the book for a second time. Having acquired a small piece of land which has recently been clear felled and replanted I needed a quick introduction to woodland and how it should be managed and I certainly got this from the book. The only thing I wanted to know that I couldn't find is how best and when to move small self seeded saplings to an alternative location. Written in a fairly easy to follow way I would recommend this book to anybody who needs an introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Starr read!, 29 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I found this book to be an insightful and stimulating guide to managing woodlands. The authour's writing style holds your attention and the information supplied is highly relevant and will be of value to a wide range of readers. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone with a keen interest in purchasing or managing woodlands in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb 2010
By 
G. Wurr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a well written book, I can see why Ben Law advocates the reading. Lots of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An overview for the semi-pro, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodland Management: A Practical Guide (Hardcover)
This book sets out a level of ambition that is semi-pro > pro and covers a good range of the aspects that need to be addressed by the small businessman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for new woodland owners and students, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely one for your reference library. So good I've got two copies. Does not assume any prior knowledge. Combines theory and practice, eg first chapter on Woodlands Past Present and Future is followed by a chapter on Getting to know Trees and Woodlands. Plus there are lots of helpful lists such as different tasks for the seasonal cycle and a chapter on how to generate an income. As a new woodland owner this has been an invaluable book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reference book, 11 Dec 2013
By 
A. Robbins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivered on time and in good condition.
I needed a suitable reference book that could help improve my knowledge.
This book was easy to follow and had enough technical detail to be worthwhile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A practical, useful, well written guide for this subject that will be a constant reference source for now and the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodland Management: A Practical Guide
Woodland Management: A Practical Guide by Chris Starr (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews