Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great aesthetic survey
I found DRAWING AND PAINTING INSECTS a very professional approach to a broad exciting venture of visual awareness, natural structure, and beautiful documentations of insects. There is a spirit and heart that spills across the pages. The text and illustrations make for intriguing content combined with a great flow of information and images. The "why" is as...
Published 8 months ago by William A. Walter

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH
What an expensive and dsissapointing book of rubbish. I waited nearly 3 months to acquire this book and was totally frustrated when I finally got to open it's pages. If you are a serious student of natural history, hoping as I was, to build on the knowlege I already had on how to 'Draw and Paint Insects', and also hoping for material with technical accuracy of the...
Published 9 months ago by Derek Pickup


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great aesthetic survey, 16 Mar 2014
By 
William A. Walter (FLORIDA AND ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
I found DRAWING AND PAINTING INSECTS a very professional approach to a broad exciting venture of visual awareness, natural structure, and beautiful documentations of insects. There is a spirit and heart that spills across the pages. The text and illustrations make for intriguing content combined with a great flow of information and images. The "why" is as important as the "how." The use of the aesthetic treatment of subject matter and the quality of real images is really high especially when linked with the progression of image development. This is a great book for anyone interested in insects and how to document them in a variety of media and image states. As an artist educator I find Andrew Tyzack a great resource for structural investigation, visual accuracy, natural description with the added bonus of the artist's eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for the Aspiring Insect Artist, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
Artists work included in this book are: John Busby
Robert Gillmor
Bruce Pearson
Carry Akroyd
Katrina Van Grouw
Harriet Mead
Dan Powell
David Measures
Dafila Scott
David Koster
Kim Atkinson
David Measures
Andy English
Val Littlewood
Ronald Pennell
Jim Westergard
John Norris Wood
Tim Freed
Juan Varela
Ron Francis
Kim Taylor
Mark Rowney
Carim Nahaboo
Clive Hedger

Drawing and Painting Insects is a beautiful and inspiring guide. Whatever your experience, whether new to the subject or a seasoned entomologist, Drawing and Painting Insects will help you capture the beauty of insects by helping you understand their structure and appreciate their behaviour, movement, colour and habitat.

Topics covered include:
- Advice on finding insects to draw and paint, including how to raise your own insect models
- Guide to the anatomy and life cycles of the insect for the artist
- Step-by-step demonstrations of drawings, looking at perspective, tonal values and mark-making techniques
- Examples of watercolour and oil paintings representing insects in precise, scientific renditions through to more creative interpretations
- Introduction to other uses of insect illustration, including printmaking, sculpture, leather and glass
- Illustrated with examples and insights from leading artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
this book shows insects as if a real one was standing on your artists palate, it has helped me tremendously in my efforts to draw wasps. mr tyzack is a natural artist, which shows through on all the pages of his book. If you want to learn how to draw creepy crawlies then this is the book for you. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked the book but it was a little disappointed, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
Yes I was some what impressed by the illustrations but something just left me a little flat. What it is I just do not know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I have been waiting for - a most wonderful book!, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
I am absolutely thrilled with this unique and incisive book. For a long time, I have been waiting for a book that would help me draw the structure of insects in an informed and accurate manor, but would also guide me into working in a more expressive and creative manner. This book hits that bill. I tire of some of the ‘scientific illustration’ aesthetics found not only in guide books but also ‘How to Do’ books and have been enthused by the extent of traditional artists, printmaker and craftsmen’s work presented in this glorious book. The artist’s work that is included shows experimentation with not only materials but also the physical manifestation of insects as the subject of art. This is a very special book and the author, Andrew Tyzack should be applauded for producing a book loaded with work by many established and renowned artists. He shares so much knowledge of the zoology and breeding of insects, as well as quality guidance of drawing insects forms from start to finish. A must for any artist and naturalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
A broad and indepth starting point for entomological illustration, showing a variety of styles and effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
Looking forward to starting some insects soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book., 25 Sep 2014
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
bought for a course, good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Insects (Paperback)
What an expensive and dsissapointing book of rubbish. I waited nearly 3 months to acquire this book and was totally frustrated when I finally got to open it's pages. If you are a serious student of natural history, hoping as I was, to build on the knowlege I already had on how to 'Draw and Paint Insects', and also hoping for material with technical accuracy of the subject, don't waste your money on this book!!!!!! If I wanted to see pages of very amatuer work I could have gone to the local primary school. The book cover is totally decieving as I expected to be studying a book that would increase my technical side of the subject and which would be artistically informative in detail and demonstrations. This is definately not a book for the serious natural history artist.
Perhaps the author should take time to look at the work of Gordon Benningfield and Beatrix Potter, who as they are sadly no longer with us cannot explain their technuques, but they knew how to study and depict their subject with accuracy, detail and finese.
The only part of the book which is mildly interesting from an accurate natural history point of view, is that of Val Littlewood, but sadly the correspinding text by the author is irritating and dissapointing. Sheila.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing and Painting Insects
Drawing and Painting Insects by Andrew Tyzack (Paperback - 31 Jan 2014)
£15.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews