Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, well illustrated and interesting!
Having first discovered (just over 4 years ago) that my village pool in Lazonby, Cumbria is heated using a river-source heat pump I have always wanted to learn more about these intriguing devices. How can you use a river at 12 degrees Celsius to heat a pool up to 27 degrees Celsius, people often wonder. Well, if you are curious about this, or any other aspect of the use...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by Mr. S. A. St John

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is well illustrated and easy to read but far too basic to be useful
This book is well illustrated and easy to read but far too basic to be useful: whilst your mother would understand everything written she still wouldn't be able to specify a heat pump for her home or know what to ask potential installers.

The book is strongly biased against air source heat pumps from the outset. This is unfortunate: small air to air units to...
Published 1 month ago by Marko Cosic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, well illustrated and interesting!, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
Having first discovered (just over 4 years ago) that my village pool in Lazonby, Cumbria is heated using a river-source heat pump I have always wanted to learn more about these intriguing devices. How can you use a river at 12 degrees Celsius to heat a pool up to 27 degrees Celsius, people often wonder. Well, if you are curious about this, or any other aspect of the use of heat pumps (air, ground or water source) then I can heartily recommend this book. It is clearly written and pitched in such a way that an interested person with only GCSE-level Science can get their head around the concepts involved. There are photos and diagrams throughout that often serve to illustrate some of the more difficult ideas.

Although the author is something of a champion for heat pump technology, he takes a balanced view of its drawbacks as well as its benefits and does not shrink back from addressing the concerns that people face (e.g. "If my neighbours and I all have ground-source heat pumps will we collectively end up freezing the ground between our houses?", "What happens if we have another winter in Britain like the one in 2011?", etc.) What becomes clear, however, is that with the right advice and the appropriate technology many domestic heating bills could be significantly reduced, leading to lower use of fossil fuels and therefore a decrease in carbon dioxide emissions - a win-win situation!

If you are interested in heating your house using heat pump technology or simply want to know more about how heat pumps work then I can thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview about heat pumps and how they work, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Francis F. Jackson "Frankjack1" (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
I found this book a very good read. It covered how heat pumps work well, and compared them with other sources of heat generation. The CO2 comparisons were also useful. I would give the book 5/5 but I found that there were not enough examples of practical installations. For someone looking at the many and varied ways of installing heat pumps, I found that the actual practical side of how one goes about carrying such an installation was lacking.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book on heat pumps and heating, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. K. E. Varney "kev675" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
This is a very informative book for anyone thinking about getting a heat pump for their home, but also anyone who is interested in them. There do not seem to be many books about heat pumps; this is the best of those I have read. It is written so the layman can understand it, although it would not hurt to be technically minded. It explains the theory, but is not just theoretical. It also describes a lot of the heating engineering type issues involved with the installion of effective heating systems. It discusses just about every type of ground loop, domestic heat pump, and heating system relevant to the UK domestic sector. I thought the best chapters were those on extracting the heat and utilising the heat. You can tell the author has a lot of experience these things. It is well illustrated throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heat Pumps for the Home; Cantor, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
A very clear and easily read text, the book provides a good introduction to heat pump technologies and easily reaches a DIY, enthusiast and engineering readership. Rich use of photos and diagrams contributes to an informative and approachable book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is well illustrated and easy to read but far too basic to be useful, 14 Oct 2014
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
This book is well illustrated and easy to read but far too basic to be useful: whilst your mother would understand everything written she still wouldn't be able to specify a heat pump for her home or know what to ask potential installers.

The book is strongly biased against air source heat pumps from the outset. This is unfortunate: small air to air units to assist rather than completely replace LPG or Oil fired boilers represent about the best value for money available on the current UK market. (£750 + £250 installation reduce space heat bills by £500 per year)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book on all matters Heat Pump, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
The actual content of the book is excellent, everything anyone interested in this technology could need. One problem I have is the fact that some clown in the despatch dept of the seller has stuck the despatch label to the back cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Pumps for the Home (Hardcover)
excellent product, and supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heat Pumps for the Home
Heat Pumps for the Home by Gavin Harper (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews