Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapestry Weaving, The Way Forward
I have found this book, inspirational, a brilliant reference guide and the layout of the book is excellent. As an Arts and Crafts tutor, I would recommend this book for students of all levels, learning tapestry weaving. Today many students are introduced to tapestry weaving by day workshops and may come from a textile related background of say knitting or fashion design...
Published on 25 May 2012 by Aurele art textiles

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tapestry techniques
not what I expected for a beginner. don't think it'll be much use as I don't understand it so dont think granddaughter will either as she's only 10 but otherwise it is an interedting book
Published on 14 Dec. 2012 by junnibabes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapestry Weaving, The Way Forward, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
I have found this book, inspirational, a brilliant reference guide and the layout of the book is excellent. As an Arts and Crafts tutor, I would recommend this book for students of all levels, learning tapestry weaving. Today many students are introduced to tapestry weaving by day workshops and may come from a textile related background of say knitting or fashion design. They aim to learn the rudaments in a short time, so it's vital they have good related texts they can refere to.
The author has chosen to show a diverse range of textile artists. Well known designer Kaffe Fassett was featured, the students were familiar with his wonderfull use of colour in his knitting design, so they could easily relate to his work and were facinated by his woven design.
This book enriches the student's learning experience. Although sadly, we have lost some of the traditional tapestry courses. I feel that when we have authors who can compile books with such sensitivity and depth of knowledge, tapestry weaving will still evolve and people will still want to explore this skill and art form.
I have a copy of this book to show my students when I run workshops, it's also on my suggested reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
Got my copy of Tapestry Weaving today. Brilliant book! Very simple and easy to understand. Great overview and selection of practitioners today. It has definately filled the void of what has been missing as far as tapestry books go. Some are so long-winded when describing techniques, and frankly quite boring, when explaining methods and the choice of work illustrated. Will definately be using it for reference when teaching, and will be reccommending it to all my students. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book, and incredibly informative, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
With out this book I would have been able to do the weaving that I am doing at the moment..msny ths ks to the Author and Jane Brunning who eith out this book I would still be doing nothing....... it is a wonderful experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend it., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
Joanne Soroka has an excellent background in tapestry weaving so the book contains relevant and interesting source material.
Very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Technique and Inspiration, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
A lovely book to use and browse. I ordered it after seeing it and borrowing it from a friend. As I am new to weaving it gave some easy to understand instructions on 'how to do ...' and the photographs are inspirational. A good book for both beginner and more advanced tapestry weaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good on design, sparse on technique, not for the beginner, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
The book is well-produced and illustrated. The approach to design is systematic, sound and accompanied by inspiring images. If the section on technique had been as good I would have given 5 stars. However, technique is dealt with in a few words, with very little in the way of diagrams or illustrations. I feel the author is such an accomplished weaver that she has forgotten or perhaps never knew the difficulties that beginners face in mastering the necessary techniques. For the tapestry weaver who has a good grasp of technique and is looking for help with developing design abilities this is a good book. I would not recommend it for beginners or for anyone looking for help with technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My wife the weaver, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
I got this as a pressie for my wife who weaves. You need to be aware its a broadly based book including as its title says Tapestry. So check it first. The designs in it however are useful for inspiration and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tapestry techniques, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
not what I expected for a beginner. don't think it'll be much use as I don't understand it so dont think granddaughter will either as she's only 10 but otherwise it is an interedting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
Perfect for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique (Hardcover)
E xcellant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique
Tapestry Weaving: Design and Technique by Joanne Soroka (Hardcover - 4 Aug. 2011)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews