Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game changing
I am a practising portrait artist and, after devouring this book from beginning to end, I find my technique has improved and softened and changed beyond measure. Anthony Connolly writes superbly. He's neither over simplistic nor patronising nor overly lofty. He writes like a great art teacher sharing his own techniques with a knowledgeable pupil. This book would be a...
Published on 22 Oct 2012 by fdsgfs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea
This book takes the artist through some of the basics of drawing a likeness and into the area of expressing their character in the final painting. Sadly, the printing is so poor that it looks as if it has been over washed with mid brown making all the photographs dull and lifeless,
Nice book badly printed - Shame
Published 12 months ago by Chris Hillman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game changing, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
I am a practising portrait artist and, after devouring this book from beginning to end, I find my technique has improved and softened and changed beyond measure. Anthony Connolly writes superbly. He's neither over simplistic nor patronising nor overly lofty. He writes like a great art teacher sharing his own techniques with a knowledgeable pupil. This book would be a wonderful guide for the novice or the consummate artist alike. The guidance is extremely well explained and I particularly loved the step by step pictures showing his paintings slowly emerging from the canvas and his humble approach to difficulties and setbacks. Wonderful information about glazing techniques. Absolutely lovely, and very incisive, glimpse into his personal exploration of some contemporary portrait artists.

No one can write a comprehensive guide to portraiture, but this is as close as you can get. A delightful and technique-changing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for reference, 13 Aug 2012
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
I was impressed with this book, although I think that the self portrait is by far the best painting in it, rather than the one featured on the cover. Portrait painting is really not easy, so a book like this can be a real help especially in showing you how to apply glazes and work up the image until a likeness emerges close to the end of the process. This can take a long time: nevertheless, the way to set about it is half the battle and this book shows you this rather well. You might criticise the pictures displayed or compare the likeness of the paintings to the sitter and find fault, but the art of portraiture is to bring expression and life to the subject in paint; again, this book shows how to do this enough to make you feel more confident about trying it yourself and for that it is worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. G. M. Buller "Graum the bookish" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
If you want to learn how to paint portraits in oil colour then this is the best book to buy!

Simple step by step examples of several portraits show exactly how this artist achieves his prestigious portraits.

His description of how he paints is the best you'll find in book form.

My only regret is that he hasn't covered any other subject matter (at least that I am aware if).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars step-by-step approach, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
The illustrations are very good for showing how the author goes about painting his portraits. He breaks the process down into stages so you can see how a portrait is built up. However he has a particular style which uses a limited palette, so if you would like your portraits to look like his, then follow these guidelines. He also shows examples of other artists' portraits in various styles, some of which are wonderful, but no detail on how they achieve their effects. However I do feel inspired to give his method a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, expressive and clear in his theory, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
Clear explanation and the photographs are useful for an understanding of the issues.I like it and recomended for beginner Students and also progressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good instruction, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
This book gives a good step by step guide to painting a portrait and is especially informative to any one just starting to paint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent book, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
Really pleased with this book. Author gave good advise through exellent illustrations and reminding that we all have our own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal portrait painting techniques explained, 23 Feb 2012
By 
A. Mckinlay "bikeboy" (Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
Well written with great examples of how works are completed from start to finish.. great selection of styles of painting from many wonderful artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portraits, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Portraits (Paperback)
Deserved full stars .The book is well written ,and very informative on painting portraits.
Would recommend to anyone interested in painting .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful book, 12 Feb 2014
Full of interest for portrait painter and portrait enthusiast alike
Well illustrated with drawings and paintings from first marks to completion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painting Portraits
Painting Portraits by Anthony Connolly (Paperback - 21 Oct 2011)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews