Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DavidB (EPCO2)
As a Domestic Energy Assessor (DEA) providing Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) to estate agents, solicitors, private sellers and landlords, this is my 'bible'. I used it during my training and keep it as a handy reference. It is well written, by chartered surveyors and is clear and concise, without being too technical. I thoroughly recommend it to any DEA, whether...
Published on 31 Dec. 2010 by DavidB

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, but needs more work
I enjoyed reading this book, but with the Red 'New Edition' flash across the bottom corner of the cover, I expected it to be about 12 months old. I was wrong. I am interested in micro generation wind power.
Under Renewable Energy on p128 it mentions Windsave. It says that it is a recent development which makes wind energy much more accessible for most people.' That's...
Published 19 months ago by cthomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DavidB (EPCO2), 31 Dec. 2010
As a Domestic Energy Assessor (DEA) providing Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) to estate agents, solicitors, private sellers and landlords, this is my 'bible'. I used it during my training and keep it as a handy reference. It is well written, by chartered surveyors and is clear and concise, without being too technical. I thoroughly recommend it to any DEA, whether already working or studying for the exam. The only DEA book you will need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, but needs more work, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Energy Efficient Home: A Complete Guide (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book, but with the Red 'New Edition' flash across the bottom corner of the cover, I expected it to be about 12 months old. I was wrong. I am interested in micro generation wind power.
Under Renewable Energy on p128 it mentions Windsave. It says that it is a recent development which makes wind energy much more accessible for most people.' That's great but when I research a bit more into the product/company, I find that Windsave went into administration in 2009. It's 2013 now so it's hardly 'New Edition'.
That aside, the book is a good read, but not bang up to date with technologies that may need to be added in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read and Understand, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
grannyfiona (Tayside, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Energy Efficient Home: A Complete Guide (Paperback)
For someone who has little understanding of technical data this book does attempt to explain things in a straightforward manner. The book can be read from cover to cover or by dipping into different chapters in any order. Well worth the money and some really useful pointers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction for UK builders or renovators, 12 April 2010
This is a good book, well researched and clearly explained. It is focused on the UK building regulations and practices, so a valuable resource for all those living in Britain, but not so useful if you are on the continent. The book is well illustrated, and offers a full introduction to most of the topics you need be concerned with, particularly for a new build, although much could be applied for renovating a house.
Clearly, as a small(ish) book, not everything can be covered in huge detail, but it does at least allow comparison of the relative merits of the different techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book., 15 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Mcshane "Joe McShane" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Energy Efficient Home: A Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book is very useful for people interested in home energy efficiency. It covers aspects such as orientation, wind, materials, solar gain etc. It is also very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part of an ongoing project to improve my home and ..., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part of an ongoing project to improve my home and make me free from the electricity and gas suppliers. Read what you will into that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Out of date now, but book was informative. The renewable Energy sector moves very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound information, 24 Jan. 2007
This is an excellent book. Read, enjoyed, and lent to others who have also appreciated its wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Energy Efficient Home: A Complete Guide
The Energy Efficient Home: A Complete Guide by Patrick Waterfield (Paperback - 16 May 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews