Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restoration Guide
This book is excellent and concisely advises not only on what to look for but ideas on how to go about putting things right. With our project we were very concious that the remedies put in place over the years to address the damp and other problems were not working and were actually making things worse. This book describes accurately our situation and has been...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by Mrs. Julie Selby

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Country Cottage Conservation
A very general book with useful information. Would be a great book if you were thinking of buying an old cottage. Excellent photos throughout.
There are some great diagrams especially the one about lime. Covers all aspects of cottages walls, floors, roof, windows, door, plaster, chimneys, paint finishes, woodworm and our friend damp. Discusses cottages in the future...
Published 24 months ago by Phillippa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Country Cottage Conservation, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
A very general book with useful information. Would be a great book if you were thinking of buying an old cottage. Excellent photos throughout.
There are some great diagrams especially the one about lime. Covers all aspects of cottages walls, floors, roof, windows, door, plaster, chimneys, paint finishes, woodworm and our friend damp. Discusses cottages in the future. The book recognises most cottages will have had some modernisation which may not have been appropriate and what to do about it. It does often recommend getting expert advice. Unfortunately it did not include enough information about the construction of roofing timbers for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restoration Guide, 17 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
This book is excellent and concisely advises not only on what to look for but ideas on how to go about putting things right. With our project we were very concious that the remedies put in place over the years to address the damp and other problems were not working and were actually making things worse. This book describes accurately our situation and has been invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Cottage Renovation, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
This book deals very sensitively with all of the issues involved in renovating an old cottage, whilst taking into account modern improvements in materials and their suitability for such a project.
There is a real feel for the fabric of the old building.Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
The book is very good and informative, not just a picture book with nice pictures of cottages, there is some very interesting facts and info that we found very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Counry Cottage Conservation, 11 Mar 2014
By 
sibs55 "sibs55" (Cheesy Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
I am so happy to have found this book and for me, just in the nick of time as I had just arranged for a tradesman to "cure" the damp in my old property - this was hastily undone. I learnt such a lot and had a lot confirmed I thought would be right, but just was not sure about. Extremely valuable and if you are buying an older property, this is a "Must Have"-book. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Country Cottage Conservation Guide, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant! Would recommend this helpful book for anyone purchasing an old cottage for the first time. Contains excellent advice, information and links to conservational organisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but no real detail, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
Easy to read with good pictures and a few good diagrams. Nothing is covered in any detail and you sometimes get the impression the author would be happier living in a draughty old cottage in preference to a warm one just to maintain "how things used to be done". I'd prefer to learn more about how to make an old building more liveable, and I'd like to have seen things in more detail throughout. Like a couple of these books I've read now they are a bit to "lifestyle" and a bit light on real detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice., 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I was about to undertake a full renovation of an ancient house and I had very little building knowledge.
Mr Claxton has wrote a book that is easy to understand for laymen like me and gives good advice on how to tackle building renovation projects on old houses. He dispels some of the myths and horrors surrounding problems with ancient houses, woodworm, dry/wet rot etc. and he has a good sense of humour he inputs into his writing that makes reading his book more enjoyable, given the subject matter.
Excellent book, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair
Country Cottage Conservation: A Guide to Maintenance and Repair by Bevis Claxton (Hardcover - 22 Jun 2010)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews