Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2008
Whether you are a designer in training, teaching or practising in the entertainment industry this is a must-have book - the ultimate companion for making models. Other books have looked at modelmaking for theatre, but not until now has a book so clearly demonstrated techniques, ideas and methods from practising designers' work. It is particularly useful if you are a student and your design course does not devote much time to modelmaking.
This "Bible" is all you need to get through any design brief with confidence. The size allows for detailed explanations and includes excellent photography by Astrid Barndal. It is broken down into chapters which cover each stage of the design making process, from constructing through to casting, working with metals, modelling, creating surfaces and painting. This book deals with any problems you might have when making models, for example, warping.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough, it is by far the best model making book on the market. There is a materials directory at the back of the book so you can refer to that to make notes of certain materials required to make a chair or stone wall, then you can refer to the materials supplier to see when you can buy the materials from - a huge timesaver when you have a design deadline looming!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
This is a fantastic book and as a theatre designer or model creator this book is invaluable. It is often difficult to determine what material would be most effective for making a particular object let alone how to actually make it; what's more, where are all those great shops to find interesting materials? Well it tells you everything right here in this model making book.

Admittedly I have been priveleged to be taught by David Neat over the past three years during my degree... and you may therefore believe that I am a little bias. Perhaps I am, but I am also writing based on experience because David has such ingenuity with such attention to detail. What I have been taught by him, I see in this book and more. The book simply provides you with his great expertise while alowing you to develop your own skills along the way.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
I have recently received this book and I am thrilled with it. I frequently make scale models of theatre sets and I needed a technical manual that would guide me through the process of how to make a particular texture or how to make a scale tree for instance, what materials I would need and where I could get them from.

This book does all of that and more. Instructions are detailed and easy to follow. The many photographs are very clear and well presented and show what effects can be achieved. There are several time saving techniques included, for instance casting (mould making) in order to quickly reproduce an item rather than making it from scratch each time, and etching metal foliage for trees.

Topics covered include: constructing, methods of casting, working with metals (including making scale figure armatures), modelling techniques, creating surfaces and painting. There is a useful directory of materials, a list of suppliers, and a bibliography.

David Neat's book is not only a practical manual but an indispensable reference book that I will refer to again and again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Great Book, I definitely recommend however I went to one of David Neat Model Making courses and he mentioned he gets very little royalty out of amazing. I know it helps to buy his book. But as he hardly makes any money out of this book that he has put all of time and effort in. Maybe make a donation towards the resources he provides online.

Lastly, you can have a look at his blog in the link below:
http://davidneat.wordpress.com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
As i am a model-maker in training, at uni, this book is fantastic, it has loads of processes and techniques, and is really helpful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Whilst not aimed at a modeller it is perfect guide for any form of military modelling or diorama making. I covers a wide range of techniques and materials that I have never seen before. It is covers the material slowly and clearly and I went away after reading the book with a lot of new ideas and the ability to tackle things that would have proved daunting before.
It's a very good buy, worth the money and worthy of careful study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
This book includes a wide range of materials and methods, as it says in the title! Loads of tips and tricks to make the most of unusual materials, and great for artists and designers. It has been great for researching ways I can create 3D models for projects at university, allowing you to conclude what would be cheapest to use, and most convenient. Would recommend, even if you are just interested in model-making for a hobby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
this is a nice book and shows some interesting methods for casting and creating paint effects. it wasn't quite what i was looking for though. i wanted something that was more focused on architectural modelmaking. this book touches on that and many of the materials used are the same but the style of models covered by the book is more suited to dolls houses, train sets, stage sets- Wallace and Gromit backdrop? Never the less, a nice book with good tips.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
David's clear and precise explanations are outstanding.
Very, very thorough and detailed tutorials, laid out in a manner that's easy to follow.
Even if you're already an experienced maker, the materials and suppliers lists at the back of the book are worth the purchase alone.
A great asset to have on hand during a project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
An absolutely inspirational book for advanced model-makers. Very clear instructions and information, and with a lovely range of photographs showing examples of techniques and materials. I have now leant some very useful short cuts! Also very useful references to websites and suppliers in the back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)