Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 July 2010
This review is from: The Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
A beautiful book. Very informative, and inspiring covering a wide range of artists. The language very easy to read, not exclusionary "artspeak". It even got my partner interested in modern art. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairly comprehensive, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
This book is a good size, works featured can be seen well and the quality of reproduction is good. The artists are arranged A - Z and the timeframe is for artists born from early 20th century until its last quarter, the oldest is Francis Bacon. There is much of interest in this volume, with information about each piece shown and others associated with it and a short biography of the artist; all of this is very good. Being a book of contemporary art, as much as there is of interest, there are also some works that are of little or no interest, but to be honest, each person will have a different opinion about that and the book is varied with both historically important works as well as those which are less well known and interesting to discover. There are no works that are contentious and one or two artists you might expect to see not represented, but most of the ones you have heard of are with quite a few you probably haven't, which is no bad thing. Overall, I thought that this book is interesting and able to inform practice, or stimulate ideas about art in general. At the asking price, it represents good value and will probably remove rather than reinforce many of prejudices one might have about contemporary art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, great buy, 26 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
This book was a great buy. Being new to the world of Contemporary Art, this book has helped to educate and inform. Just enough key information is provided for each artist and the glossy photos really bring each artist to life. The short biography per person is also a welcome inclusion. Overall a fantastic buy and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Contemporary Art Book, 13 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
An inspiring,illustrative and informative guide to Modern Art. This book is beautifully presented and makes an ideal coffee table book or a fabulous gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good overview of the contemporary art scene's players, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
Featuring one or two photographs of an artist's work and then a description of their ouevre, this is a good look into who features in the contemporary art scene, in an A to Z format. I suppose it surprises by showing just how wide the current art scene actually is and the variety of approaches used - some of the artworks are actually beautiful too. Another feature is that it also contains artists who are dead like Andy Warhol but whom perhaps the author or the art scene believe fit the term "contemporary". very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars overview, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
This book provides a good overview of quite a lot of contemporary artists. Each artist is represented by an informational text (about 200 words) and by one or more pictorial examples. At the end of a text you mostly find cross reference to other pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quenches my thirst by supplying endless art works introducing me ..., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
Quenches my thirst by supplying endless art works introducing me to new works principles and humanitarian work that challenges me to query my own thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sumary of the contemporary Art Scene, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art Book (Hardcover)
This should be required reading for all art sudents. An world class refernece book, thoroughly recommended. I think this will we around for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Contemporary Art Book
The Contemporary Art Book by David Hodge (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2009)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews