Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I read this book slowly...... a bit like travelling on a bus, really. Little episodes of each journey. And I'd been to loads of the places as well so it was a nice bit of memory - but with some interesting history thrown in, or the author's very witty comments. I especially liked the funny footnotes. The author has a light, engaging style. The book is completely...
Published 11 months ago by S J Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped
Not as good as I had hoped. Clearly a knowledgable author, but his style sometimes let him down. I was uncertain how serious the book was trying to be.
Published 7 months ago by MR M A WILSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 Aug 2013
By 
S J Martin (Glastonbury, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Move Along, Please (Paperback)
I read this book slowly...... a bit like travelling on a bus, really. Little episodes of each journey. And I'd been to loads of the places as well so it was a nice bit of memory - but with some interesting history thrown in, or the author's very witty comments. I especially liked the funny footnotes. The author has a light, engaging style. The book is completely charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable read this year, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Move Along, Please (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. Mark Mason, for reasons best known to himself, decides to do the journey from Land's End to John o' Groats (Lejog, to the initiated) by local bus and to discover what he can about Britain and Britishness. On the way he interviews pub guru Pete Brown, place names author Caroline Taggart and others for their take on the subject, but the real interest lies in his eavesdroppings and his own observations. A pink-coated woman on one bus combines a zebra-print iPhone with a leopard-print handbag. Cromwell's troops, we learn, used Wells Cathedral as target practice during the Civil War and, as Mark comments, 'You have to question the usefulness of this practice. If you can't hit a cathedral...'

Perhaps my favourite bit is an observation on football, taken from one of the many books Mark is carrying in his 'library': `Nearly everything possible has been done to spoil this game. The heavy financial interests; the absurd transfer and player-selling systems; the lack of any birth or residential qualifications for the players; the betting... the absurd publicity given to every feature of it by the press.' Nothing unusual there, perhaps - except that it was written by J B Priestley in 1933.

Dip in and out and you'll find a gem on every page; read it all the way through and you'll laugh so much they'll through you off the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
No doubt inspired by Bill Bryson, a few years ago there seemed to be an endless number of travel books being published in which the writer humorously described a journey they had made. Some were poor but there were also a few gems amongst the dross and, as I particularly enjoy this sort of book, I've probably read most of them. There aren't quite so many of these travel books written now and regrettably, Bill Bryson now seems to have moved onto other things leaving just a handful of writers, like Tim Moore and Tom Chesshyre, to satisfy my appetite. To this roster I can now add another name, Mark Mason.

Mason's previous book, Walk the Lines, was a fact filled journey around all the stations on the London Underground. It was a simple idea that Mason executed extremely well, producing a book that was not only informative but was fun to read. This has now been proved to be not a just a one off though, because in Move Along Please he has written a book which is every bit as good, if not better. For this book Mason has come up with another simple idea, travelling from Lands End to John O'Groats using local buses only. This is not the story of an epic journey across continents but instead it is journey that could be taken by almost anybody. Perhaps the reason the book works so well is because Mason is clearly not a hardened travel writer in the Paul Theroux mode - would a hardened travel writer keep all their bus tickets and plan to mount them in a book as a remembrance of the journey like Mason planned to do? Instead he is an ordinary man telling us what happened during his out of the ordinary journey.

I loved this book, learning a lot about Britain and enjoying Mason's observations about the people he met along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great trip, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Along, Please (Paperback)
Brilliant.Informative,Witty.Funny.Alan Bennett,ish observations. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey and it was well worth the fare!. Going to read it again to see if I missed anything.Easily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars he enjoyed being on the buses., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read,marks walk the lines book and quite enjoyed it,but enjoyed this even more,probably because its not London based,all human life is on the buses,and the snippets of overheard conversation are always intriguing.a gentle read,not laugh out loud funny,but gentle humour,well written and observed,worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It reads like a trip I may have done myself when I was younger. It might have been improved by the addition of some pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read in 2 days. Travel books my favourite anyway but this is in my top 5.
Funny, interesting and look forward to authors next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is an interesting and witty book, full of gobbets of useful and gloriously useless information. I am recommending it to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Along, Please (Paperback)
Not as good as I had hoped. Clearly a knowledgable author, but his style sometimes let him down. I was uncertain how serious the book was trying to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Move Along, Please (Paperback)
Not the greatest book I've read but it does have a few interesting little facts in. The writer likes his immature innuendos. Takes a while to plough through the first six of nine chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Move Along, Please
Move Along, Please by Mark Mason (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews