Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting 'Little' Read
From the author of Derelict London (the book and its popular website) comes Paul Talling's second foray into publishing-London's Lost Rivers. Like its predecessor it's rather small in demension but large in information which details the histories of London's former riverscape. The text is concise but interesting and laiden with plentiful colour photographs. An excellent...
Published on 23 May 2011 by DDWales

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant little book and therein lies the problem
Paul Talling has done much to explore and introduce us to our capital city through his Derelict London website and book. Now he takes on a journey to discover London's Lost Rivers. As ever the book has loads of photographs but,like some of the other reviewers have mentioned, there are problems with the size of the print, the size of the book and the maps. The print is...
Published on 21 July 2012 by C. R. Cheesman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice photographic book, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
A. Broadhead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
This book is very nicely presented, with great photographs throughout. It is quite small, though, like a pocketbook, and so you often wish the pictures were bigger. It has a good level of written detail to introduce people to the topic - but there are better books out there if you really want a more imaginative treatment of lost rivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcoming a second edition, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
Compact book with lots of references to London rivers. Well illustrated with maps and local photos. I've found the white print on black background made a visual challenge, if there's a second edition due I hope Paul Talling makes the print black on white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!, 17 Nov. 2011
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
I bought this after enjoying Paul Talling's previous book Derelict London. I didn't think it could match my enjoyment but it is fantastic!! Being nosey I've looked at some of the other reviews of this book and I am overjoyed that so many other people have enjoyed this book as much as I have. I'm intregued about the tours Mr Talling has done in connection with this book and will be awaiting eagerly to attend a tour, with this treasure in my pocket, if he does more. This book has so much information and the fantastic pictures bring everything spectacularly to life, and unlike one of the reveiws I had no problem reading the text at all, day or night. This book will be appearing in quite a few of my friends xmas stockings this year!! I definately recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost & Found, 2 Oct. 2011
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
This is a great little book, filling my head with waterways I never knew were there and my heart with the desire to go out and find them. This can look good on a coffee table, but even better in a pocket or bag out on the trail. Happy hunting :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars londons lost rivers., 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
A real specific book anyone who is interested in just what rivers flow through the capital, it's not just the Thames its also about the history of the other rivers and also the geographical location of the river s.
Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on London's Lost Rivers, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
I had read this book (borrowed from library) and found it so interesting that I bought it. Full of lovely photos, and packed with info about london's lost rivers. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
I have a couple of Paul Talling's books and keep telling myself I must go on one of his London tours, great book, who would have known about a lot of this stuff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic pictorial book of hidden London, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
I bought this book because I'm fascinated with the hidden corners of London and I was not disappointed! Excellent photos and text tell the stories of the lost waterways of London. You can use this book to trace the routes of rivers that are now underground or have simply ceased to exist. It also shows you the clues to look out for to help you spot where the lost rivers are. Much recommended if you're interested in London's history and geography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stories and pictures!, 29 Sept. 2011
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book with fascinating insights into ex-watery bits of London that you would scarcely know were once in full (or at least partial) flow. Lots of interesting facts about former waterways and disused canal segments, complemented by excellent photographs throughout which really help to tell the stories. Apart from being a good read, the book is a great encouragement to get out there and see them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars abundantly illustrated with good photographs and maps, 15 April 2015
By 
B. Harding (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Rivers (Paperback)
I bought it as a companion to London's Lost Rivers; it features rivers which do not appear in the other book, but in less detail. This is effectively a small picture book, abundantly illustrated with good photographs and maps. The printing is eccentric - pale blue text on black background - which can be annoying at times, but not to the extent suggested in other reviews. Enjoy this book in a well-lit space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London's Lost Rivers
London's Lost Rivers by Paul Talling (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews