Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2016
Topical book as EU in/out vote due in a few months. This explains in brief, easy to read, and no uncertain terms the simple facts behind the EU and why we need to be very, very OUT of it -

Do you like spending about €2500 per man woman and child in the UK to the EU per year and getting only a fraction back in highly publicised 'ain't we great' EU subsidies / grants.
The EU claims it only costs about €250 a year per person in the UK. It 'forgot' to add on the national governments price tag for enforcing the EUs rulings. Its red tape and admin etc, etc which multiply this figure drasticly - all listed for your pleasure.
The EU citizens elect the EU parliment - It has no real powers. It sits 3 HALF days a week and votes through 2000 plus laws rules and regulations per year - spending about a whole 30 seconds debate per law.
The above laws come from the secretive, unelected EU Commission who do as they please and have zero accountability. Its powers are limited only by its own decision to become involved in any area it deems worthy of involvement or not. The Commissioners even speak of a 'post democratic age' - were the public are to 'thick' to deal with the complexity of modern economic and political matters and thus voting is waste of time.
The EU court of Justice is an equally delightful, unelected and powerful institution which has unlimited powers to interfer and meddle where it pleases and acts as an even more aggressive EU Parliament with no interest in crime and justice or justice of any kind - its constitutional job is to expand the power of the EU against national (properly elected and democratic) governments.
The Commission and Court now have control of about 80% of all national governments law making processes - did you get to vote on any of these constitutional changes never mind all of them. No they were slipped and sneaked in. The few votes that were called in some nations were ' no thanks' - the EU respondonce - vote again and this time get it right.
The entire European governments pay and perks are left bare for all to see - it will make you very, very angry.

The book also points out that security and defence are compromised by the EU - we are in NATO and at current have lost control of our borders. EU hates NATO and wants to rival it and insists in free movement of people in the EU.
It also points out that the endlessly hyped threat to trade/jobs is not a myth but an utter lie. We pay in far more than we get out (Thus losing investment funds we could have made directly into the UK) Like Norway and others we are part of the free trade region of the EU and thus our economic position would remain identical weither in or out. (Under international law/treaties this situation is further cemented.)

The EU - FU - let's get out and good riddance.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2009
This is the third book I've read by David Craig. The others were Plundering the Public Sector, which revealed how much private consultants have dipped into our taxes under Labour, and Squandered, which took a broader look at Gordon Brown's overtaxing and overspending. Both books are well worth reading, especially in light of the current controversies over public-sector trough-snouting and Brown's economic skills.

This one is more vital. It is the most readable (300 pages in good, plain English) yet comprehensive guide available to what the EU is doing with our money and, more importantly, doing to democracy in Europe.

The EU is not popular in Britain, something which is too often put down to media scaremongering. Our media certainly does scaremonger very well but sometimes when there is smoke, there is fire. This book coolly and often wittily sets out the truth behind the bureaucracy, the over-regulation, the power-grabbing, the troughing and the often mad policies (the Common Fisheries Policy is mind-boggling!) with references so you can do your own research if you feel sceptical. And the scary thing is the truth is a fair bit worse than what the Sun or the Daily Mail print. In fact you may wonder why these papers waste print with stories about straight bananas while ignoring much more serious scandals like the Common Agricultural Policy and the Biofuels debacle.

In June we vote for our MEPs - their toothlessness is another topic covered - and in this election we get our only real say in how Europe is run. You will have the choice between supine Europhiles or people prepared to stand up and try and change things (like current YouTube celebrity Daniel Hannan). Read this and learn what is at stake before you vote.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
5 stars, definitely ! I write this on 26.5.2014 ; one day after the Eurolections in which UKIP had a landslide ! THe EU is a grand IDEA and as EFTA it worked but the Common MArket for which I campaigned in the 1970s has very little relationship to the bureaucratic nightmare that has morphed into the EU. The monstrous waste of money needs to be curbed ; Europe is in the depths of a recession and details such as the cost of moving Parliament from Strasbourg to Brussels to satisfy French sensibilities have become ridiculous. If the French want the EU in Strasbourg ... no problem ... let the French pay for it ... ! HOPEFULLY the parties that want to reform the EU so that it actually becomes democratic ... WIll succeed. Otherwise the outlook is grim indeed. A super book; informative and occasionally funny but the subject matter is no joke !
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
A detailed expose of the corrupt EU bureaucracy, Should not be read by Eurosceptics with high blood pressure. Supports a lot of what Nigel Farage has said about the EU.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Clearly written in simple everyday english, this book should be read by anyone interested in how Europe is an ever growing part of our lives...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
This book is a scathing analysis of the EU's corruption and power-grabbing, led by Britain's ruling class. The authors, David Craig, a management consultant and author, and Matthew Elliott, chief executive of the Taxpayers' Alliance, show how the EU strangles industry, destroys jobs, cuts personal freedoms, wrecks the environment and impoverishes developing countries.

The EU Commissioners get £1.7 million for their five-year term. MEPs get vast salaries, expenses and pensions - £2.1 million for five years. Britain's MEPs are to get a 32% pay rise this June and a new tax rate of 13-17%, halving their taxes.

Under the Common Agricultural Policy, Scotland's biggest landowners get £230,000 a year each. 85% of the CAP's annual £62 billion budget goes to the richest 18% of farms. The CAP also subsidises EU exports to the third world, and puts duties on their imports to us. For every pound of EU aid, the CAP takes away two.

Last year, the European Court of Justice ruled that the EU's freedom of movement laws entitled foreign workers to get Irish benefits even after they had returned home. The Court's remit is to promote EU integration; the only way to change any of its decisions is for all 27 member state governments to agree to do so.

After the French and Danish Noes to the EU Constitution, the EU's leaders, Blair included, absurdly claimed "the results do not call into question citizens' attachment to the constitution of Europe." Brown is still trying to sneak through the Constitution without a referendum, in the Lisbon Treaty. As a senior British civil servant said in 1971, "Of course this is the end of British democracy as we have known it, but if it is properly handled the people won't know what's happened until the end of the century. With any luck, old boy, by then I'll be dead."

The authors say the EU needs reform. They write, "countries like Britain should be permitted to declare their utilities like energy and water as strategic national resources." Should be permitted? By the same EU that wants to steal our resources?

After showing for nearly 300 pages how the EU seizes powers, they say it should shed those powers. After showing how it rides over democracy, they say it should promote democracy. They call on MEPs to vote themselves out of existence and on the Commission to stop issuing regulations. They say the EU should scrap the CAP, yet they have shown that the French would never vote for this.

They note that, "a useful question might be whether [the EU] can ever be reformed." Their book gives us the answer - No. The authors have proved that the EU is bad for Britain - so we need to demand a referendum on the Constitution, and we must leave this rubbish club.
5050 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A scary book, almost impossible to believe. 1984 is alive and living in Brussels. One single point -- If an organisation can continue with 'unaudited' books for the amount of time David Craig suggests, why does anyone doubt the validity of Europhobes. Let us get out. don't wait till 2017.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
This is a scary book, even for a euro-sceptic. The scale of the European kleptocracy, arrogance, waste, self-promotion and deceit is staggering, and involves controlling/contributing to media that are positively promoting the EU. How many people know that the BBC receives funding from the EU? The whole system is completely corrupt, but nobody dares fight against it!

It makes our expense-fraud MPs seem like paragons of honesty and integrity. Perhaps this is why they have been defrauding us on such a scale, they saw the humongous frauds perpetrated by MEPs and it was pure jealousy (apparently an MEP can become a millionaire in 5 years by playing the claim game, such is the laxity of the rules). Even worse, they cant even be prosecuted for crimes either whilst in office or after leaving office. Again this is perhaps our MPs are this week trying to find centuries-old laws under which to hide from prosecution. Grrr. If proved guilty - jail them.

Everyone needs to be aware of the facts within this book. More importantly our inept government (and scared opposition parties) needs to understand the contents and start looking after the REAL interests of the people and wise up. They should try negotiating rather than rolling over (although this wasnt one of the books recommendations!)

I have read a couple of the reviews here that are less than enthusiastic. However their comments make it apparent that they either havent read the book fully or they do not understand the mathematics of the hidden costs / labour costs of bureaucracy, or the fact that later in the book there is a section that outlines the good, the bad & the ugly of Europe, which seems well-balanced to me (but I may simply be biased). The unenthusiastic reviewers are probably MPs themselves.

What I particularly like about messrs Craig & Elliott is that they write a final chapter with their big-picture recommendations. However, how do we get self-interested & spineless MPs to take action?

Please read and get your friends to read. The message needs to get out there.
33 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
If you want to know just how much incompetence, waste, corruption, mass deception and downright skullduggery goes on in the cause of the so called European Union dream read this book. The writers apply the scalpel to the EU budget (plundered, badly managed and impossible to audit), MEPs (overpaid, politically impotent and useless), Commission over-regulation (illogical, oppressive and anti-democratic), the CAP (the most stupid idea since Stalin's collectivisation) and the Lisbon Treaty (a gigantic con trick pulled on the people of Europe by a bunch of elitist, arrogant, power grabbing bureaucrats accountable to no one but themselves). Even the most ardent Europhile must admit that the EU is in bad shape and no longer serving the people's interests as it was intended to do.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Confirmed my worse fears with regard to this monolithic, undemocratic, political monster.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)