Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The secret to getting your children to tidy their bedroom and so much more besides
If you only ever read one book about negotiation, make sure that it's Getting to Yes. I bought a copy of this bestselling book in the early 1990s and the revised edition is even better. By the way, to the person who borrowed my original copy and didn't ever return it, I'd still like it back! This book will help you to be successful at work and in every other aspect of...
Published 18 months ago by Mr Andrew Paul Sage

versus
1 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting to yes
How can I review a book I have not read! Don't know what's going on, just want to read the book
Published 18 months ago by KayJay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The secret to getting your children to tidy their bedroom and so much more besides, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
If you only ever read one book about negotiation, make sure that it's Getting to Yes. I bought a copy of this bestselling book in the early 1990s and the revised edition is even better. By the way, to the person who borrowed my original copy and didn't ever return it, I'd still like it back! This book will help you to be successful at work and in every other aspect of your life. Try it on getting your teenage children to do the washing up or tidy their bedroom ... it works, no really, it does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well structured and insightful, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would highly recommend this book. The strong credentials of the authors are evident in the content, which is insightful, well structured and includes helpful examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive book, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Robin Hilton (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
I'm astounded that THE definitive book on negotiation has so few reviews.

This is my second copy. I let someone borrow my first copy, and it never returned. But that's OK. The world would be a better place if everyone learned how to negotiate like this.

If you're going to a turkish bazaar, this is not going to help guarantee you get the right price for the rug you really want. But if you live in the real world, and especially if you're in business, this will help you understand how to negotiate successfully. And it makes you think differently about how you approach different situations.

Roger Fisher died recently, and I liked the obituary in the Economist. It described how there was a bitter confrontational argument in central america, with one of the parties being Ecuador I believe. Roger Fisher was asked to help in the dispute. Things improved dramatically when he asked the two presidents, who were arguing vehemently and bitterly about the border, to sit down with a map and look at the border. All the posturing disappeared as the parties understood each others concerns. As the obituary concluded, it helped that the Ecuador president had been a university student of Professor Fisher. It shows this is not academic mumbo jumbo. It has real life application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wise book, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It offers practical advice and is very down to earth. A great study aid and a book to dip into when facing a time in your life when communication with others is a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice for the negotiator, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have learned about two thirds of what the book advises through years of experience, but the systematic way it is presented is excellent. The other third were things I felt I ought to have worked out but didn't. The authors give excellent advice, outlining the value of principled negotiation over bargaining and taking positions, emphasising the importance of focusing on the issue, not the individuals involved. The rationale for this is explained thoroughly and ample examples are given to illustrate the points. I found myself casting the principles into my own context (education) which you may do if you come to this book in frustration from your own experiences which is, I think, a good way of taking this book from theory to practice. The authors have clearly developed their insights from reality, and the chapters at the end, which are a sort of FAQ of what they have expounded in the body of the volume, are again a good way of moving the principles to reality in the readers' minds. A very good read, and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent foundation to negotiation, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
I had known about this book for years but was still really impressed by the quality and variety of the examples. Full of useful and practical tips even if you think you are already a good negotiator. So glad that I finally took the time to read this and it is interesting that talking to colleagues, I found at least two who had this book on their shelf but had never quite got round to reading it. You really should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
It's a useful book to learn some techniques to achieving a 'win-win' without it being a combative scenario. Recommended seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic book on negotiation, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
When first written, this brilliant book on principled negotiation in preference to positional bargaining broke new ground. It is now a classic and remains as relevant today as ever. So many people are indebted to Roger Fisher for his work in establishing the concept of win-win strategies that expand the pie and allow the greatest number to have a larger slice rather than simply arguing over who gets what from a smaller pie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
Essential reading for those who negotiate professionally or have a challenging situation that requires delicate handling.
I have recommended this book to my work colleagues and the change in their approach to negotiations is evident already and the results have improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 7 Feb 2014
By 
John Rowan (London England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those classics which never seems to date - just as useful now as it was when it first came out. There are now many competitors, but none which really surpasses this original. A real humanistic vision, as indeed are nearly all the good books on management theory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in
Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in by William Ury (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews