Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The secret to getting your children to tidy their bedroom and so much more besides
If you only ever read one book about negotiation, make sure that it's Getting to Yes. I bought a copy of this bestselling book in the early 1990s and the revised edition is even better. By the way, to the person who borrowed my original copy and didn't ever return it, I'd still like it back! This book will help you to be successful at work and in every other aspect of...
Published on 11 Jan. 2013 by Mr Andrew Paul Sage

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, useful ideas but not a textbook
It's an interesting read, well written with some interesting anecdotes but it can get a little woolly at times. It's not a scientific paper on the psychology of negotiating; that would take a team of people and hours and hours of research and investment. It's somewhere between a motivational presentation and a seasoned professional's advice. The likelihood is, if you're...
Published 4 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The secret to getting your children to tidy their bedroom and so much more besides, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
If you only ever read one book about negotiation, make sure that it's Getting to Yes. I bought a copy of this bestselling book in the early 1990s and the revised edition is even better. By the way, to the person who borrowed my original copy and didn't ever return it, I'd still like it back! This book will help you to be successful at work and in every other aspect of your life. Try it on getting your teenage children to do the washing up or tidy their bedroom ... it works, no really, it does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rules on effective - principle based - negotiation, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book may not necessarily be called revolutionary in presenting a completely new way of negotiating but this is also not a weakness per se. What the authors have done is to collect a set of principles on how negotiation can be conducted successfully, without damaging the relationship to the other party.

The idea behind it - namely principle based negotiation - is that one should separate the personal from the factual and stick as much to the latter as possible. They neither advocate the old fashioned 'win-lose' approach of positional bargaining, nor the often unrealistically positive 'win-win', for which there is often no basis in the situation you are facing.

The recommendations are sound, even if not new, and presented in an easy to digest format, which is both concise enough to be read quickly, as well as organized enough so that you can find specific points (matching your particular situation) easily. The book does not provide an excessive number of practical examples to demonstrate the principles but the ones given are both apt enough and sufficient for someone who is not completely new to the subject.

Another advantage (for some readers) is that the book remains hands on throughout - it focuses on the negotiation situations and less on how to mathematically calculate theoretical payoffs from a combination of concessions. If a more thorough theoretical grounding is your thing, Raiffa's The Art and Science of Negotiation will be a useful complement to this book.

To summarize, I can only recommend the book as a sound basis for conducting negotiations, whether you are a novice or a relatively seasoned negotiator. While it will hardly teach the seasoned ones many new tricks, it may provide a new perspective on their success and it will certainly be a useful refresher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice for the negotiator, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have learned about two thirds of what the book advises through years of experience, but the systematic way it is presented is excellent. The other third were things I felt I ought to have worked out but didn't. The authors give excellent advice, outlining the value of principled negotiation over bargaining and taking positions, emphasising the importance of focusing on the issue, not the individuals involved. The rationale for this is explained thoroughly and ample examples are given to illustrate the points. I found myself casting the principles into my own context (education) which you may do if you come to this book in frustration from your own experiences which is, I think, a good way of taking this book from theory to practice. The authors have clearly developed their insights from reality, and the chapters at the end, which are a sort of FAQ of what they have expounded in the body of the volume, are again a good way of moving the principles to reality in the readers' minds. A very good read, and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive book, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Robin Hilton (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
I'm astounded that THE definitive book on negotiation has so few reviews.

This is my second copy. I let someone borrow my first copy, and it never returned. But that's OK. The world would be a better place if everyone learned how to negotiate like this.

If you're going to a turkish bazaar, this is not going to help guarantee you get the right price for the rug you really want. But if you live in the real world, and especially if you're in business, this will help you understand how to negotiate successfully. And it makes you think differently about how you approach different situations.

Roger Fisher died recently, and I liked the obituary in the Economist. It described how there was a bitter confrontational argument in central america, with one of the parties being Ecuador I believe. Roger Fisher was asked to help in the dispute. Things improved dramatically when he asked the two presidents, who were arguing vehemently and bitterly about the border, to sit down with a map and look at the border. All the posturing disappeared as the parties understood each others concerns. As the obituary concluded, it helped that the Ecuador president had been a university student of Professor Fisher. It shows this is not academic mumbo jumbo. It has real life application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, useful ideas but not a textbook, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an interesting read, well written with some interesting anecdotes but it can get a little woolly at times. It's not a scientific paper on the psychology of negotiating; that would take a team of people and hours and hours of research and investment. It's somewhere between a motivational presentation and a seasoned professional's advice. The likelihood is, if you're doing this for a job, the person you're talking to is going to have heard about all or most of these methods. It's a good starting point and an interesting reference but that's all; it's not a guide for your life or a guaranteed way to get the best outcome in every situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars friends or even loved ones. We negotiate all the time, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Guy Grobler (Israel & UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We all negotiate, whether it is with our employers, employees, partners, friends or even loved ones. We negotiate all the time.
This is why I think everyone should read this book, as it seeks to change negotiations from something that looks like a chess game between two opposing sides to a "lets-work-together" dialogue. Some of the issues raised in the book were very familiar to me and made perfect sense, others I think are a little bit easier said then done, but overall a good book on how to get the best out of any negotiating process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent foundation to negotiation, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
I had known about this book for years but was still really impressed by the quality and variety of the examples. Full of useful and practical tips even if you think you are already a good negotiator. So glad that I finally took the time to read this and it is interesting that talking to colleagues, I found at least two who had this book on their shelf but had never quite got round to reading it. You really should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another essential read, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Rob Helle (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
Negotiation is everywhere in life; with your partner, kids, parents, siblings, colleagues, neighbours, suppliers, customers, ... the list is endless. In my view, Roger Fisher has written the definitive work about negotiation. The logic / psychology behind his ideas are sound; the framework he presents to implement those ideas is thorough.

Adopting his strategy means fewer escalating conflicts, a better understanding of what makes the other person 'tick', few concessions and generally better outcomes for both parties. What helps as well that it's a small and easily readable book; it's not padded out to create a mighty tome. One of my top-10 business books; wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
It's a useful book to learn some techniques to achieving a 'win-win' without it being a combative scenario. Recommended seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic book on negotiation, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in (Paperback)
When first written, this brilliant book on principled negotiation in preference to positional bargaining broke new ground. It is now a classic and remains as relevant today as ever. So many people are indebted to Roger Fisher for his work in establishing the concept of win-win strategies that expand the pie and allow the greatest number to have a larger slice rather than simply arguing over who gets what from a smaller pie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in
Getting to Yes: Negotiating an agreement without giving in by William Ury (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews