Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2013
Its a very good guide for those who want to start in the world of the 3D printing. Definitly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Inspires me and signposts the way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
A complicated read unless you are a' techie' - this book is a real eye opener and shows how technology is making manufacturing by cottage industry entrepreneurs with limited financial resources possible on a larger scale than ever before. The opportunities this book suggests are quite limitless - a must read for would be James Dyson's.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Great read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Fantastic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Very disappointed as I still have not received my copy of this book which is recommended for my Alevel students to read hence the purchase. Was estimated 3rd September. It's now 4th oct!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Makers provide clear paths for implementing innovation using digital tools.
Using these strategies can address environmental issues and create jobs.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
The book that follows on from where the Long Tail started. Only this time it's about the manufacture of niche items and products.

It describes how anyone these days can set themselves up as a manufacturer of a company to make anything and everything. THis can be done by using open source designs, collaborative engineering, small scale production, and ways of generating startup money for products.

He covers various examples, including details of his own multimillion pound company 3D Robotics, that he he up to make RC helicopters that were created using open source manufacturing methods.

I think that it is a seminal book that details the way that manufacturing is changing. Big companies aren't history just yet, but the small guys are starting to have a more equal hand in the market.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
For me it was hard to put down, I read it cover to cover in three sessions, admittedly one of them was a 7 hour flight.

The book makes a bold statement on the cover and battles to back it up throughout. A new industrial revolution.

In this book the author explains not only the technologies which will bring this revolution about but also how the internet has enabled a new way of working which in turn has bought these technologies within reach of the masses. It's not just about 3-D printing and being able to get straight to marked but access to the factories of the world like we've never had before.

A worthy read in itself, but if you've not come across 3-D printing or Open Hardware before then this book is going to blow your mind.
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
A good look at the fascinating world of open source programming and development as well as 3D printing. Chris Anderson's enthusiastic style can't help but make you feel more optimistic about the future.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse