Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to the 3D, Digital Fabrication Phenomena
'Makers' provides an excellent insight in how 3D and other Digital Fabrication Products can connect between small producers with their customers via the Internet without the need for brokers. i.e. wholesalers and retailers to intermediate for them.
If one is not exactly sure about the how the ongoing 3rd Industrial Revolution functions, then reading 'Makers' is a...
Published 13 months ago by HistoryTechDoc

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big subject, flat delivery
I was really looking forward to this book as the subject is red hot. I am a believer - this really is a world changing time, akin to the coming of the web twenty years ago. However, as with so many American books of this type, the hype does not live up to the delivery.
Chris Anderson is certainly well connected and in the right space to write about this subject. He...
Published 23 months ago by I. Pope


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to the 3D, Digital Fabrication Phenomena, 10 July 2013
By 
HistoryTechDoc "HTD" (Transatlantic Citizen) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Paperback)
'Makers' provides an excellent insight in how 3D and other Digital Fabrication Products can connect between small producers with their customers via the Internet without the need for brokers. i.e. wholesalers and retailers to intermediate for them.
If one is not exactly sure about the how the ongoing 3rd Industrial Revolution functions, then reading 'Makers' is a good starting point for cognitive insight into this important market phenomena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big subject, flat delivery, 3 Oct 2012
By 
I. Pope (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was really looking forward to this book as the subject is red hot. I am a believer - this really is a world changing time, akin to the coming of the web twenty years ago. However, as with so many American books of this type, the hype does not live up to the delivery.
Chris Anderson is certainly well connected and in the right space to write about this subject. He is good at seizing the zeitgeist and carving out space in it. This time, however, he seeems strangely flat about the whole thing. For sure, he's got a personal stake in using the new technologies for a startup (he owns an electronics startup), and he there are several things coming together in this space that cry out for deeper analysis. But that, perhaps, is where this book falls down. Rather than dive deep into the issue, problems, opportunities and ramifications, Anderson skates across the surface in a hodge podge of chapters that never really get to the nub of anything. Maybe this is an American problem (and note this book was published in the UK before the US) - talking down to an audience that is not assumed to have much knowledge of anything. Or maybe it is an attempt to write a mass market book. Whatever, the book skates across the surface.
A shallow review of the original UK (Manchester) based industrial revolution (which will be so familiar to anyone who went through school in the UK in years gone by), a visit to a FabLab in Manchester, some meandering about bits and atoms, 3D printers, laser cutters, crossover into the network effect, marketplaces such as Etsy, the potential of crowd sourced and crowd funded startups. Some funny moments. And then - he dives into things like bio printers, which are the realms of fantasy so far. And then the book is done. It might take you a day or so to read.
There really isn't much you would learn from this that a steady perusal of various blogs and company sites on the subjects wouldn't teach you - and you'd be more up to date. What I looked for was the evangelical zeal, the white-hot moments where you find yourself nodding along with your heart beating, confident that you were looking directly into the future. In this book it's all a bit more ho-hum, as if Anderson knows he has to keep on spotting the future while he's actually lost much interest in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great profile of the future, and a darn good read too., 27 Jun 2013
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Paperback)
Whilst this book is not -quite- as detailed and precise as it could be in parts, that's always one of the difficulties with making sane predictions. Yes, the more distant predictions are vague, but I found it very good, and worth 5 stars.
Chris Anderson has been part of the (no longer so quiet) revolution in manufacturing that led to 'Open' projects like Arduino and Raspberry Pi, and has a list of impressive names (people he has worked with) to drop when he needs to.
What he does do most successfully is introduce the reader to the technologies that exist today, draw parallels with (eg) the universal use of computers and desktop printers that were once unaffordable, and point to where we seem destined to end up when other technologies mature and become more affordable to the individual.
His main point is that we are already in the throes of an industrial revolution which is part methodological (open projects, crowd funding) and part technical. He's been involved in both, and I valued his insider insights.
Enjoyed reading it too!
Recommended if you take an interest in technology, manufacturing or the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Paperback)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction to the Maker Movement, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Introduction to the Maker Movement and how this has the potential to revolutionise the way we create bespoke products to better satisfy consumer needs, rather than relying on mass produced products that never quite provide everything we want.

Well worth a read if you want to understand more about this are and a great stepping stone to other related topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and informative, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Paperback)
If you've ever wondered how the "Maker Movement" works, Chris Anderson explains it in a very easy to read way...

At last I understand how it's possible for a company to be '"Open Source - Open Hardware" and remain in business.

This book was my 'bed-time reading' and I don't fall into the "Geek" category!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a very good guide for those who want to start in the ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Paperback)
Its a very good guide for those who want to start in the world of the 3D printing. Definitly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent entry into the maker phenomenon, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and heard snipits of information about this movement for localised production and the decline of mass manufacture this was an excellent guide to the overall subject.
The text is clear and walks you through all aspects from design to fabrication and the examples illustrate real life application.
I would reccomend to anyone looking to get a basic understanding of what is happening in the world of bits and atoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't realise that the industrial 3D printers available today were in use to the extent that is explained in this book. Aside from that, this book really hits home when making us all aware of the massive shift in manufacturing that will result with 3D printing. I'd highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good first few chapters then tails off, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first few chapters when Anderson sets out the argument are good & it is very significant change he has spotted. Then in the second section you've got the argument & it begins to drags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Makers: The New Industrial Revolution
Makers: The New Industrial Revolution by Chris Anderson (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews