Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to the 3D, Digital Fabrication Phenomena
'Makers' provides an excellent insight in how 3D and other Digital Fabrication Products can connect between small producers with their customers via the Internet without the need for brokers. i.e. wholesalers and retailers to intermediate for them.
If one is not exactly sure about the how the ongoing 3rd Industrial Revolution functions, then reading 'Makers' is a...
Published 12 months ago by HistoryTechDoc

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big subject, flat delivery
I was really looking forward to this book as the subject is red hot. I am a believer - this really is a world changing time, akin to the coming of the web twenty years ago. However, as with so many American books of this type, the hype does not live up to the delivery.
Chris Anderson is certainly well connected and in the right space to write about this subject. He...
Published 21 months ago by I. Pope


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A primer in the new craze of personal manufacturing., 24 Dec 2012
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chris Anderson's new book is a great overview of the latest craze for home and personal manufacturing. Like his previous books: The Long Tail (digital and long tail e-commerce) and Free (ad-support and fermium products and services on the internet) he has set out to document and define this latest craze that is getting a lot of press at the minute.

Overall, the book does a great job at explaining the various technologies involved (local machining, 3D printing, crowd-sourced funding, community support etc.) getting you speed with what's possible. The stories of the various groups involved is quite inspiring and the appendices while short do act as a valuable reference point for anyone wishing to learn more. I've been inspire myself to create a few interesting designs in Google Sketchup, a bit of free software that I didn't even know existed.

My main criticism would be that unlike Anderson's previous books that moved step by step through a detailed argument and analysis that he lays out, this book feels more disjointed. It has a tendency to jump about from topic to topic, mixing Anderson's personal memoir with his argument. While I still enjoyed the content I found it a harder read than his previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Forward, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Hardcover)
Makers provide clear paths for implementing innovation using digital tools.
Using these strategies can address environmental issues and create jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Revolution is Coming to your Desktop!, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Dr. B. R. Gray "Benbob79" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Hardcover)
For me it was hard to put down, I read it cover to cover in three sessions, admittedly one of them was a 7 hour flight.

The book makes a bold statement on the cover and battles to back it up throughout. A new industrial revolution.

In this book the author explains not only the technologies which will bring this revolution about but also how the internet has enabled a new way of working which in turn has bought these technologies within reach of the masses. It's not just about 3-D printing and being able to get straight to marked but access to the factories of the world like we've never had before.

A worthy read in itself, but if you've not come across 3-D printing or Open Hardware before then this book is going to blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of manufacturing?, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Makers: The New Industrial Revolution (Hardcover)
The book that follows on from where the Long Tail started. Only this time it's about the manufacture of niche items and products.

It describes how anyone these days can set themselves up as a manufacturer of a company to make anything and everything. THis can be done by using open source designs, collaborative engineering, small scale production, and ways of generating startup money for products.

He covers various examples, including details of his own multimillion pound company 3D Robotics, that he he up to make RC helicopters that were created using open source manufacturing methods.

I think that it is a seminal book that details the way that manufacturing is changing. Big companies aren't history just yet, but the small guys are starting to have a more equal hand in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, will bring out the optimist in you., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good look at the fascinating world of open source programming and development as well as 3D printing. Chris Anderson's enthusiastic style can't help but make you feel more optimistic about the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OBVIOUS STATEMENTS OF TODAY WITH NO WIDER IMPLICATIONS, 4 Sep 2013
Chris Anderson has a nack of using many words to ramble, stating the obvious and saying very little of value. The concept of this book can be summised in one sentence:

'Individuals through 3D printing, now have the opportunity to compete with big business'.

The reality is that this book's content is nonsense as it is clearly not true that individuals can manufacture products of anything other than solid state - which can be purchased much cheaper in China and India.

An irrelvant attempt at a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Makers: The New Industrial Revolution
Makers: The New Industrial Revolution by Chris Anderson (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews