Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding scholarship
This second volume of John Sugden's biography of Nelson does not disappoint. After impatiently waiting for its publication, John Sugden's scholarship once again, brings Nelson alive and shows us, warts and all,
the man who was perhaps Britain's greatest warrior. It's essential reading for children of a certain age and adults alike if we are to understand our nation's...
Published 17 months ago by Gerald Hoare

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Preferred Nelson dreams of Glory
I much preferred Sugdens first book, mainly due to Nelsons early life being characterised by constant action, whilst his later life which this book describes is a few fleet actions and his work as a diplomat. This period in his life was also taken up by Lady Hamilton. Pleased I read it but not as good as the first book
Published 3 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding scholarship, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Gerald Hoare "gerrythegreat" (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This second volume of John Sugden's biography of Nelson does not disappoint. After impatiently waiting for its publication, John Sugden's scholarship once again, brings Nelson alive and shows us, warts and all,
the man who was perhaps Britain's greatest warrior. It's essential reading for children of a certain age and adults alike if we are to understand our nation's history and appreciate the horrors and grimness of armed conflict
to which we resort when threatened with conquest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Preferred Nelson dreams of Glory, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I much preferred Sugdens first book, mainly due to Nelsons early life being characterised by constant action, whilst his later life which this book describes is a few fleet actions and his work as a diplomat. This period in his life was also taken up by Lady Hamilton. Pleased I read it but not as good as the first book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodnes, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, like every other Nelson fan have been waiting for John,s follow up book. Great content and a fantastic reference book.
Makes you glad you served
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite quite outstanding, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Pyers Symon (Worcester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having waited 8 years for the second volume, I have astonished at the quality and detail of the scholarship shown here. I haven't finished the book yet (it is many hundreds of pages long) but what I have read makes it one of the best biographies I have ever read. It is not a military history so don't expect details of battles except where they pertain to Nelson himself. Quite brilliant. One tiny tiny quibble: the notes and references are dreadful to use when compared with Vol 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A biography worthy of it's subject, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exceedingly well researched,Dr Sugden gives you an impartial view of his subject.The writing has a terrific pace about it,suitable to the man of action it portrays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Paperback)
Having read the part 1 of Mr. Sugden's Nelson already, this book is excellent as well. Detailed, well researched, easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read, re-read and read again!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my father, who enjoyed I immensely. There is so much information he has read it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Paperback)
If you read just one biographer of Nelson then it has to be Dr John Sugden. Quite simply this is the summit of scholarship and readability combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sword of Albion, 2 Jun 2013
A marvellous book, giving a thorough study of Nelson. The descriptive content was absolutely wonderful and kept me enthralled all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my son in law who really enjoyed it. My daughter complained that whenever she wanted some thing done he had is head in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Nelson: The Sword of Albion
Nelson: The Sword of Albion by Dr John Sugden (Paperback - 20 Feb 2014)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews