Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Higgs Discovery
Professor Lisa Randall again here has shown why she is so respected for her knowledge, understanding and clarity when writing on scientific subjects. Once you have read this book you will have a far better understanding of the Higgs Bosun along with it's impact on the future direction of quantum theory and research. This book is a breeze to read, well done Professor...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by M J Hind

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading from the get-go!
Lisa Randall is a theoretical physicist, specialising in particle physics and cosmology, from the university of Harvard USA. Her earlier books Knocking On Heaven's Door: How Physics and Scientific Thinking Illuminate the Universe and the Modern World and Warped Passages: Unravelling the Universe's Hidden Dimensions (Penguin Press Science) are top quality popular science...
Published 23 months ago by Reculet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading from the get-go!, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
Lisa Randall is a theoretical physicist, specialising in particle physics and cosmology, from the university of Harvard USA. Her earlier books Knocking On Heaven's Door: How Physics and Scientific Thinking Illuminate the Universe and the Modern World and Warped Passages: Unravelling the Universe's Hidden Dimensions (Penguin Press Science) are top quality popular science writing with well deserved high ratings on Amazon.

For me this latest book is a bit of a disappointment. The writing is still well informed, as one would expect, but gives the distinct impression of being thrown together in a rush - a rapid response to the unexpectedly early announcement of the discovery of the Higgs Boson at the CERN LHC.

A substantial later part of the book, which explains the significance of the Higgs boson and Higgs field, to put into retrospective context the earlier pages describing her reaction to events at CERN, is simply copied from her other books. To be fair, she points this out at the beginning.

Her account of first hearing the news while on holiday in Greece is amusing and, like most of the book, her conversational style makes easy reading. I particularly like her clear explanation that, since the Higgs field generates particle masses, the strength of the coupling of the Higgs Boson to those particles must be bigger when they are more massive, and that this has consequences for both the creation (by the LHC) and decay (to be detected by experiment) of the Higgs Boson. But her description of the events at CERN seems rather like the observations of an expert and intelligent outsider-looking-in to where the real action is happening (and wishing she was there?).

Don't misunderstand me - the book is well worth reading - but I think we must wait for the real (experiment not theory) experts, presently working 24/7 to extract and extend the LHC results at CERN, to get a fully informed story of the actual "Higgs Discovery", rather than this very good explanation of why it was worth doing.

A couple of other points;

I think Lisa would have done well to have one of her experimentalist colleagues proof-read the document before it was printed. The following sentence would never have got past any CMS or ATLAS PhD student working on Higgs measurement;
"With increased data, the measurement improves and the signal becomes a narrower peak"
That's simply wrong: the peak only gets narrower if the intrinsic precision of the experiment improves. Increasing the amount of data only improves the statistical significance of the signal-from-background separation.

Finally, being from the UK, and probably not getting out enough, I have to say I have never come across the expression "get-go" as she has written in "If particles had mass from the get-go, the theory would have been inconsistent .....". I suppose it must be the Harvard-slang equivalent of our "early-doors" ?? So I learned about more than just discovery of the Higgs ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A patchwork of random information, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
As other reviewers mentioned, this micro-booklet seems to be a collection of what could be news headlines, blog posts and some personal thoughts around the subject. My expectation was to get an introduction to the subject which could be light but logical/structured, as a starting point for further reading. For example, from the very first pages the author delves into how to find hints of the boson by the way it decays, and then here and there mentions that this thing we are looking for gives mass to particles. In my view this is an upside down exposition for which in my university days I would have been failed at Physics I. Maybe it's me being stuck in needing to first know the Why, and only then be ready to dig into the How.
I would have given 0 stars to be fair if it wasn't for the one bit of information I got out of it, which is that Peter Higgs attended the same school as Paul Dirac in Bristol, which happens to be a city very dear to me.
The only way these printed pages can be defined is a wrapper to advertise her other books, which of course I am now not that keen to spend my money on. Not worth half its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Happiness is Higgs shaped, 5 Feb 2013
By 
N. BARTLETT (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
Disappointing is my verdict on this book. I selected it on the basis of a review in a learned journal that is obviously above my intellectual comfort level. I had expected a short resume of the position of the Higgs in the particle physics firmament and some sort of timescale on its discovery. I may have read those things but if so, it was not that clear.
What I did learn was that the `Higgs' is actually three entities all carrying that name: the Mechanism, the Field and the Particle. It was emphasised how the `discovery' is not such a precise moment. The experiments at CERN continued for a some time with the results analysed in minute detail until a recognisable pattern emerged from the mass of data. When this discontinuity was sufficiently prominent and its characteristics closely aligned with theoretical expectations, the scientists allowed themselves to go public and announce their discovery.
Dr Randall is clearly an enthusiast. She bubbles over with joy about the Higgs discovery and I'm a little sad that I was unable to share her fun. The problem lay in my inadequacy in particle physics. She provided a chapter on how the Higgs is recognised by its decay characteristics. Some of these seemed contradictory. Perhaps they are. After all particle physics is full of enigmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Assumes that the reader already knows a lot of physics, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Roger (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's difficult to know who this book by Lisa Randall is aimed at. I would think its target audience is people who are scientifically literate but are not physicists, least of all particle physicists. After all, if it was directed at physicists it would be far more mathematical. Regrettably, if the intended audience really is scientifically literate. non-physicists, then I feel it misses the mark by a mile. I doubt that anyone who was not a physicist would understand much of this book. I had already read and enjoyed, despite the tough going, Sean Carroll's account of the Higgs boson ("The Particle at the End of the Universe") but even with this background I could barely make head or tail of much of the content of Randall's book.

The book shows every sign of being put together in a hurry, maybe so as to publish something ahead of the competition. This is evident from the inclusion of a chapter from another of Randall's books ("Knocking on Heaven's Door"), this added chapter accounting for approaching 40% of the total book. This tactic results in a disjointed story to the extent that ideally the borrowed chapter, essential to the understanding of the whole, needs to be read before the new text. It might have been better if the author had integrated the new with the old.

I also felt that Randall doesn't do a thorough job of explaining what's meant by symmetry in the context of particle physics. This is crucial to understanding the Higgs mechanism but she seems to assume that readers are already fairly familiar with this concept.

However, in her defence, I accept that explaining the Higgs mechanism to non-physicists, such as me, is extremely challenging - and perhaps nigh on impossible! It may be an unattainable goal except to describe the mechanism in anything other than the simplest of terms. Nonetheless, in my opinion this book falls well short of its intended objective. Perhaps one needs to read the whole of "Knocking on Heaven's Door" to get the most from this new book but, if that's the case, it's not stated and I'm now put off from trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read!, 25 Oct 2012
By 
kclam (Hong Kong, China) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
Vividly written, this book demystifies Higgs boson, Higgs field and presents the development leading up to discovery of a Higgs particle as well as some thoughts on its implications.

The search for the fascinating 'God particle' does not look for the particle itself (which is extremely unstable), but for the particles in which it decays. The new particle discovered at CERN is very likely connected to the Higgs mechanism by which particles acquire their masses. However, it needs collecting enough data in the near future to determine whether the Higgs particle discovered is indeed the Higgs boson.

The discovery of Higgs particle demonstrates the power of empty space where the Higgs field permeates. But it has no practical implication right now. As the mystery of how elementary particles acquire their mass is solved, the next question will be why those masses are what they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rip off, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
I can't believe the author had the audacity to produce this flimsy pamphlet almost smaller than all those bosons or whatever absolute rip off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lack of content, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
More like a series of Sun headlines than a serious book. Although it was inexpensive, it is still arguably overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear I wish I hadn't bothered, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
Far too brief, No interesting diagrams. How on Earth do you have the audacity to produce such a dull, uninteresting piece of work with little pedological value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Higgs Discovery, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space (Paperback)
Professor Lisa Randall again here has shown why she is so respected for her knowledge, understanding and clarity when writing on scientific subjects. Once you have read this book you will have a far better understanding of the Higgs Bosun along with it's impact on the future direction of quantum theory and research. This book is a breeze to read, well done Professor Randall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
simply written yet not trvial, good background information on this complex and momentus subject - highly recommend this book fro any physics nerd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space
Higgs Discovery: The Power of Empty Space by Lisa Randall (Paperback - 9 Aug 2012)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews