Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great read
its a great read all the books are good to read and its the history of my England nothing else to say all three book
are first class a insight into life well done Simon Schama and a big thanks.
Published 1 month ago by sandy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be titled "Simon Schama's Random Rambling Essays on a History of Britain 1776-2000"
This isn't even a history book as far as I am concerned. It is mostly just random series of essays about different aspects (seems to be a lot about Victorian authors/artists, etc) of British history within timeframe of 1776-2000,, not really much of any serious discussion on the Industrial Revolution that began in Britain and spread shortly around the world. I had liked...
Published 18 months ago by horoscopy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a great read all the books are good to read and its the history of my England nothing else to say all three book
are first class a insight into life well done Simon Schama and a big thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complelling series, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. William Rodwell (Hook Norton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The entire series is cleverly constructed with a flowing and easily absorbed narrative. Clearly by the third (if not the second) book the story had reached far beyond kings and queens and their various intrigues. Instead the author cleverly picks out key characters or circumstances both well known and seemingly insignificant to give flavour and context to the age. The juxtaposition of Orwell and Churchill is particularly insightful as not only do they seem so far apart at first glance but also so very close together at their most basic level. In essence this is what is to be British; to have divergent views and ways of life and yet in our hearts we hold dear a tradition of democracy and mutual dependency. The case the author makes for keeping the United Kingdom in the face of a potential split by Scotland is fundamental. A good read, never a dull moment and while anyone could argue for all the various omissions would such an encyclopaedic book capture the spirit and vitality (warts and all) of Britain as well? - I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Schama, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000 (Paperback)
As a Simon Schama fan I was delighted to receive my copy of his "History of Britain" Vol.3 which brings me 'bang up-to-date' with my British History. I really appreciate Schama's effectively simple but explicit style of presenting history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be titled "Simon Schama's Random Rambling Essays on a History of Britain 1776-2000", 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000 (Paperback)
This isn't even a history book as far as I am concerned. It is mostly just random series of essays about different aspects (seems to be a lot about Victorian authors/artists, etc) of British history within timeframe of 1776-2000,, not really much of any serious discussion on the Industrial Revolution that began in Britain and spread shortly around the world. I had liked hist Volume 2 on the English Civil Wars and Revolution enough to try Volume 3..but Volume 3 seems to be the result of the author ,not having time to write Volume 3 so he just wrote a "fun essay" volume or his team of history scholars/writers who helped him with previous editions quit and left him to write this all on his own..and he instead wrote a book of "fun essays volume" instead.. (actually he even mentions , to my surprise, at the beginning of the book how this volume was going to be different than previous volumes..and not a chronological , detailed history, but a book of essays..this is mistitling a volume of a product and to me, a rip off).

Big question for me...is where did the 5 star reviews come from...but I suspect they must be friends of the author ..as this is so obviously a bad non-history of Britain..that can be my only conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a re-issue of an existing title, 6 Nov 2009
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000 (Paperback)
I bought the original book when it first came out and really liked - great style and tells history as a narrative where one event flows into another rather than a series of single events
BUT .. this is just a re-issue of that original book and it was very difficult to tell that from the description on Amazon
So I was disappointed as I thought it was an updated version - or a new take as it said it was published in 2009
As it was it will make a good Christmas present - but I was disapppointed as I thought it was a new title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typically English, 7 Feb 2012
By 
John Burke "Bill" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000 (Paperback)
A great series overall, though the Empire period displays a typically English desire to mitigate and 'let off' the many criminals of this period. England will never be willing to take its place beside the worst that history has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000
A History of Britain - Volume 3: The Fate of Empire 1776-2000 by Simon Schama (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews