Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, readable and exciting history
The second of Schama's beautiful volumes technically covers 1603-1776, but (naturally) spends most of the time discussing the era around the Civil War: it was here, after all, that Britons actually spent considerable energy deciding what sort of country they were: blank canvas after blank canvas was begun only to be torn up, until the monarchy cum Parliamentary democracy...
Published on 9 Dec 2002 by R. S. Stanier

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title
This book although well written, is in fact a comprehensive History of England. I found very little at all on Scotland and only one paragraph in this huge book about Wales. The title is totally misleading, Why did Scharma call it a 'A History BRITAIN' is a mystery.
Published 11 months ago by geoffrey chinnock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, readable and exciting history, 9 Dec 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second of Schama's beautiful volumes technically covers 1603-1776, but (naturally) spends most of the time discussing the era around the Civil War: it was here, after all, that Britons actually spent considerable energy deciding what sort of country they were: blank canvas after blank canvas was begun only to be torn up, until the monarchy cum Parliamentary democracy compromise was reached.
Schama writes on two levels: the first is just to tell you what happened and to cover off the classic stories along the way, hence longish excursus on e.g. the Great Fire of London, the building of St Pauls, Wolfe in Quebec etc. The second is to offer his own vision for the forces behind what was going on.
Since Schama's vision is invariably fresh and insightful, this is a constantly illuminating read: he can shed light on topics you think you know well, as well as just lucidly explaining the things you knew nothing about.
Occasionally, though, this makes it a strange work. His explanation for the bringing to trial of Warren Hastings, for example, is that the Governor of India was a vicarious scapegoat for Britain's failure in America: though fascinating, that has to be a very idiosyncratic view, and yet he doesn't flag this up. All this means, I suppose, is that you shouldn't read Schama to get the standard account of things, there may be other books that do that job better.
Rather, read Schama's history for his unceasingly fresh vision.
Moreover, he expounds his themes magnificently, for example, the way Britain gravitated away from the "right" (mercantile) to the "wrong" (governing) sort of empire, or in how responsible Charles I actually was for the onset of the Civil War.
Unafraid to back the out of favour Whig view of history (that it was all inevitable progression) with relatively few qualifications, Schama's confidence is invigorating.
One minor quibble is a fallout from his TV narration, where things, instead of being "probably true", are "not altogether unfounded" or instead of being "reasonable" are "not without reason". After a while, this grates.
But this is a trivial thing.
All in all, this is simply magnificent.
I started with Volume 2 and am now beavering through Volume 1 in an effort to get myself on track.
Much, much more than a book of the series.
A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schama at his best. Compelling, superb, lucid and readable., 21 Jan 2003
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is by far the best of the three volumes of Schama's History of Britain. Volume 1 needs more space to tell all the stories Schama wants to discuss; Volume 3 loses a little coherence because of its thematic rather than purely narrative approach. Volume 2 is the jewel in the crown though - an account of the 160-odd years from the start of King Charles I's reign through to the start of the American Revolution - the years that saw England transform into Britain, and from a marginal state at the edge of Europe into one of the Great Powers.
The themes of the book are nationalism, power, trade, and the complex relationship between government, monarchy and the people - Schama is a master at juxtaposing the stories of all three, showing the chains of chance, cause and influence that shape history. He quotes original sources liberally, writes in a wonderfully fluid and unaffected style, and has chosen a sensible set of illustrations to accompany the text.
Since Schama covers 150 years in the sort of space he'd previously used to cover the previous 4500 years, there is plenty of room for background, for personality and character (both the author's and those of the protagonists) to be revealed, and for analysis of the what-if's and might-have-beens.
This is narrative history at its best - a book as powerful as Schama's "Citizens" which singlehandedly rekindled my interest in European history.
Absolutely superb - a master at the peak of his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would be five stars but...., 25 Feb 2013
By 
J. G. Hastie "GogolH" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...in the Kindle edition many of the illustrations are illegible, some of them nothing but black rectangles. Thankfully, the text is OK - unusual in my experience of Kindle. Schama is a master, and I'm looking forward to reading Volume 3 - probably the Kindle edition, so more black rectangles no doubt. Does anyone actually check Kindle editions to see whether they're up to standard? It would appear not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating view of the period, 31 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: A History of Britain - Volume 2: The British Wars 1603-1776 (Paperback)
Schama presents a clear and lucid view of the period and the developments there in. A good read with lots of insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this close upon having finished (devoured rather) volume 1, and this is as good if not better. Predictably, it's not exhaustive or extremely detailed but precisely therefore it offered what I was looking for: an easily readable, engaging (Schama is a master storyteller) overview of British history.

It's so good that afterwards I couldn't wait to get my hands on volume 3, AND buy a host of more in-depth books on particular periods or events, and surely that is the best than any history book can hope to achieve?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British History, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Desert_Wind (Pheonix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok here is the sad thing about education in the USA. They don't teach a whole lot of history today. I mean I went to grade school some 15 years ago and we learned about history, but not the extent I would of appreciated. So between Simon Schama, John Lukacs, and Black Adder I think I've learned about a lot of British history I didn't know before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, fantastic, excellent!, 4 Mar 2014
One thing to note (on the Kindle version) is that the pictures at the end are all blacked out, so you can't discern a thing, which was a little bit disappointing. But don't let that put you off, as I'm sure that it is just bad luck. The book itself was really good! To me this was much better than the first volume of A History of Britain. Though I still think that Simon Schama's writing can be a bit too articulate for a layman. Practically, every paragraph, I had to use (Kindle's) dictionary to look up a flamboyant word. There must be thousands of such words in the text, and he never seems to use the same word twice! But then again, I suppose we all have to learn sometime. The book itself, however, did fill in those gaps in my own history, such as, who are the Stuarts? How did we pass from the Tudors to the Stuarts? What does Jacobean mean? Who is Charles I? How did the English Civil War(s) start? What did Oliver Cromwell do? Who is Charles II? What is the Restoration? What does Caroline mean? Who is James II and VII? Who is William of Orange? What is the Glorious Revolution? How did we pass from the Stuarts to the Hanoverians? Who is James Francis Edward Stuart? Who is Charles Edward Stuart? Who were the Jacobites? What did these people do? What were their religious beliefs? How did they view monarchy? How did religion play a part in all this? How are all these events connected? How did these people affect British history? Etc. In short, this book answers all of them deeply and in a very detailed way. I now know my stuff about seventeenth and eighteenth century Britain. I would highly recommend this book, and in fact the whole series, to anyone who would like a deeper understanding of British history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simon Schama is as good a writer on history as I have found - maybe sometimes his own version, but easy to read and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title, 24 Aug 2013
This book although well written, is in fact a comprehensive History of England. I found very little at all on Scotland and only one paragraph in this huge book about Wales. The title is totally misleading, Why did Scharma call it a 'A History BRITAIN' is a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable overveiw of British history, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a researcher and need to understand the background to the British Civil Wars and the beginnings of the most revolutionary period in Europe, then this is the book for you. Schama's eloquence is impressive; the books in this series are an easy read and just perfect if you need to access this period quickly and competently. I highly recommend the series - tv and literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of Britain - Volume 2: The British Wars 1603-1776
A History of Britain - Volume 2: The British Wars 1603-1776 by Simon Schama (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews