Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent textbook that is recommended to students.
This excellent textbook presents an up-to-date account of youth research and policy in the UK. Divided into seven chapters, it covers a comprehensive range of topics relating to youth crime including: joy-riding, homelessness, truancy, Ecstasy and club culture, persistent young offenders, boot camps, poverty and unemployment, parental responsibility, girl gangs, the Jamie...
Published on 11 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great
This is a great book, very interesting and easy to read. This book has helped me get stuck into my Dissertation.
Published 5 months ago by harriet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent textbook that is recommended to students., 11 April 2001
By A Customer
This excellent textbook presents an up-to-date account of youth research and policy in the UK. Divided into seven chapters, it covers a comprehensive range of topics relating to youth crime including: joy-riding, homelessness, truancy, Ecstasy and club culture, persistent young offenders, boot camps, poverty and unemployment, parental responsibility, girl gangs, the Jamie Bulger case, zero tolerance and electronic tagging.
One of the strengths of the text is its emphasis on the value of historical, feminist and comparative perspectives. Unlike most other books on criminal justice published in England it includes detailed discussion of Scotland's resistance to the drift towards punitiveness, and its distinctive institutions (notably the Children's Hearing System) and policies (e.g. the Hamilton 'curfew'). Unlike most other books on youth crime it takes the experiences of girls as seriously as those of boys.
Primarily aimed at an undergraduate audience, Youth and Crime provides an accessible resource for students. Each chapter includes review questions and suggestions for further reading, as well as visual summaries of complex theoretical approaches (e.g. Foucault's Discipline and Punish) and developments in youth policy (e.g. the Crime and Disorder Act 1998). The author takes time to explain key concepts properly (e.g. the difference between correlation and causation) and provides assessments of the work discussed. Particularly helpful is the appended glossary of key terms, which explains concepts as diverse as 'protracted adolescence', 'bifurcation', 'anomie', and 'style'.
My one caveat is that Youth and Crime's subtitle would have more accurately portrayed its contents had it indicated that the book's focus is predominantly on the youth crime problem in Britain. Muncie does refer to a range of international interventions - mainly North American - but he does so only to offer examples of good practice for would be reformers in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youth and Crime: A critical Introduction., 10 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. K. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
This is an excellent informative easy to read publication of interest to students in sociology, criminology and those employed or connected in criminal justice.
Well researched with upto date material.
Highly recommended.
Ken Rogers. Columnist 'Professional Security'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
Excellent book! I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
This is a great book, very interesting and easy to read. This book has helped me get stuck into my Dissertation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
I purchased for a criminology assignment and found the book really useful, easy to read and covers major issues, I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Youth and Crime, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
If you are studying Criminology at University Degree Level this is one of the books you will likely be required to purchase as part of your studies.

My 5 star review is for price, quality of packaging and speed of arrival, plus Amazon Customer Service Support
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
In my third year of my criminology degree, this book is very useful and easy to read, definitely recommend as a core book. Arrived quick, well packaged, said was used but actually looks brand new, not a single page is creased, dirty or written on - very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
Very detailed, and exactly what I needed to develop my professional practice. I am very satisfied with this book and I am happy to recommend it to anyone studying or world king in a similar field to myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying book, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
I needed this book to help with an essay. Easy to read and I am joying reading the author views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great accessible textbook, 10 Oct 2012
By 
K. Bond "Kazzy B Knits" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth and Crime (Paperback)
A good all round source book for students of criminology, youth justice and general social injustice! Makes sensible arguments, backed up with historical fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Youth and Crime
Youth and Crime by John Muncie (Paperback - 18 Mar 2009)
23.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews