Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of psychotherapy?
The authors already have several titles to their credit and this is a logical step from Mick Cooper's excellent Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy: The Facts are Friendly. The idea of pluralistic psychotherapy has similar themes to the following books: The Heart and Soul of Change: Delivering What Works in Therapy, How Clients Make Therapy...
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by MAH

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
I liked the book, I did find it somewhat difficult to read at times as I found all the quotes in the middle of almost every text slightly distracting as there's a lot of them.
Published 16 months ago by emma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of psychotherapy?, 10 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
The authors already have several titles to their credit and this is a logical step from Mick Cooper's excellent Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy: The Facts are Friendly. The idea of pluralistic psychotherapy has similar themes to the following books: The Heart and Soul of Change: Delivering What Works in Therapy, How Clients Make Therapy Work: The Process of Active Self-healing and The Great Psychotherapy Debate: Models, Methods, and Findings. The idea is that therapy should be based on what the client needs, rather than getting them to comply with standardised treatments. This is not a new idea, but efforts to do this in the past have gradually evolved into yet more models of therapy. Cooper and McCleod are calling for a 'sensibility' rather than a distinct method - an invitation to adapt what is useful to the context of the client's specific circumstances. This is not a re-hash of the books already cited; it stands alongside them in its own right and offers fresh ways of looking at the issue. The authors give you the philosophy and research behind the pluralism they promote, and it's a compelling argument. They also discuss how to apply these ideas in therapy. At just under 200 pages and scaled between A4 and A5 in size, it is a book with a broad scope that you can still tuck into your work-bag. If you liked Cooper's 'Essential Research Findings' and wanted guidance on what to do next, then here it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
Such sensible ideas for a way of working. I loved it. Cooper has the knack of saying things I have had in my own head, but he articulates it beautifully, so that I kept thinking as I read it - yeah, that's what I think. I love a structured way of working, and find in using Pluralistic Counselling, I can use my person-centred counselling, plus many other useful ideas I have gathered over a lifetime into a coherent and structured way of working (and not feel guilty!). There are downloadable forms to help get started, and my clients all say they love being more involved in steering their own therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for integrative practitioners!, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Jad Berrington "Juls Bee" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
....or those who are confused about orientation. A good, broad framework on which to build on your own Self as a therapist- with ideas and theory to bring confidence and ways of working into reality. A dip in and out of too. Don't borrow, buy! I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, informed and needed !, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
its time, its time to move towards a practice that asks clients "what do you want ?" and then respond to it, with the freedom to move, to move around within all the richness at our disposal.. and this book, for me, explains, why and how. loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, stimulating and practical, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book - very well-written and insightful. Challenging to the interested professional, invites serious reflection on one's current practice.. Many examples and references to up-to-date research integrated into the discussion. A significant addition to the literature on psychotherapy and research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy to read text book, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
Easy to read textbook that set out new concepts in an accessible format. Exercise throughout the book meant time to consider
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Paperback)
I liked the book, I did find it somewhat difficult to read at times as I found all the quotes in the middle of almost every text slightly distracting as there's a lot of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy
Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy by John McLeod (Paperback - 16 Nov 2010)
22.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews