Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all involved with Early Years or KS1
I found this book very informative on implementing good language and literacy practice in the classroom. With all the changes in the curriculum, the research is up to date making it an invaluable resouce for especially the student teacher covering policy and practice with plenty of suggestions for further reading. It is focused on how the child learns and how to teach...
Published on 16 Dec 2000 by ckc97@aol.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Thank you.
Published 2 months ago by myyend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all involved with Early Years or KS1, 16 Dec 2000
By 
ckc97@aol.com (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
I found this book very informative on implementing good language and literacy practice in the classroom. With all the changes in the curriculum, the research is up to date making it an invaluable resouce for especially the student teacher covering policy and practice with plenty of suggestions for further reading. It is focused on how the child learns and how to teach language and literacy in an interesting and successful way. There are plenty of case studies and practical examples for implementing good practice making it relevant for qualified teachers as much as students. An excellent book for all those with an interest in language and literacy in Early Years and Key Stage 1 settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, clear and comprehensive, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
As a primary PGCE student with limited prior experience in schools, this book is the most helpful explanation of current good practice in primary literacy 3-8 which I have found. I only wish there was a KS2 companion volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with this book., 13 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Alison J. Butler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
I required this book for my teacher training course and am pleased that it is really relevant to life in the classroom and the academic part of my course. Book arrived in super condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
This book is very convenient for graduate students who want an indepth knowledge tailored to their requirements. It also is precise and up to date towards the National Curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
This book was in great condition. This book is easy to read and to understand. Worth the money. It has got me through my first unit on literacy and it has good detail in language and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
this book was on my recommended reading list for university i found it to be very helpful in my second year, good for an intial insight into ideas for in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have found this book (so far) extremely useful and well worth the price, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
As a trainee teacher, this book is vital so to understand how a child's language and literacy develops. I have found this book (so far) extremely useful and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
Brilliant Product and Good value for money. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly dishonest book, 11 Jan 2010
By 
T. Burkard (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 (Paperback)
In 2006 Jim Rose conducted a review of how children are taught to read, and concluded that the educational establishment had been wrong to ignore synthetic phonics. In short, synthetic phonics entails the 'simple view of reading'--ie, reading failure can be virtually eliminated if early instruction concentrates on teaching letters and sounds. This has been demonstrated most dramatically in West Dunbartonshire, which--save for Glasgow--is Britain's most impoverished local authority. In 1996, the educational psychologist Tommy MacKay started introducing synthetic phonics, and by 2007 reading failure had been completely eliminated. No excuses about poor parenting, social deprivation, or any of the usual malarkey you get from the likes of Ann Browne.

Jim Rose concluded that synthetic phonics was the way forward for schools in England. He was supported by most newpapers, and crucially by BBC news programmes. But much of the impetus for synthetic phonics came from Tony Blair, whose own son was saved from educational humiliation by synthetic phonics. Now that he is gone, professional educators are back in the saddle, sneering at the 'simple view of reading'. Ann Browne does her share, but she doesn't have the courage to confront the issues head-on. Instead, she uses selective quotes, and hides behind her colleagues' consensus. It would seem that for this kind of educator, professional vanity prevents them from seeing the stark truths demonstrated in West Dunbartonshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Developing Language and Literacy 3-8
Developing Language and Literacy 3-8 by Ann C Browne (Paperback - 19 Jan 2009)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews