Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2010
I was rather disappointed with this book. There are only about 40 recipes and, for me, there just wasn't anything really new or exciting. Each recipe comes with a picture of the finished dish which some people may find useful. The book is padded out with lots of photos of e.g. markets, shops, etc which did nothing for me as there wasn't enough narrative to make this one of those travel/food books that I can happily spend an evening leafing through without actually needing to cook. Perhaps I am spoilt (I have more than 350 cookery books) but I didn't feel that the book was either interesting or good value for money. I didn't return it but I haven't used it either. If I want to cook middle eastern food I invariably find myself using one of Claudia Roden's books or Arto der Haroutunian.
22 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
Really lovely book, nice picutures and interesting and unusual recipes. Nice to see some different ways to cook rice too. Will look forward to trying out the various meat and fish ideas as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Nicely presented, with good photos, but the recipes are rather disappointing. Cannot compare with any of Claudia Roden's books, all of which are superb.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
This is a terrific book. It gives a very short history of how the cuisine developed and the author describes how she learned many recipes from family members. This gives it a nice touch as one feels that these are tried and trusted recipes. The photography is eye catching and I'm not talking about just the food here. There are photos of shops and traders in all their glory. The photos of the teapots and coffee pots are especially striking. The recipes can easily adapted for those who are vegetarians. A lovely book. Well worth the money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Have bought this book not knowing much about the cookings traditions of these regions, the book was well written, clear and easy to follow, by an obviously passionate person who cares about the food she is writing about, ingredients easy to get hold of, results sensational, well worth a look
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
With evocative and colorful photographs and short but to-the-point explanations, Cardamom and Lime sheds light on a region that is not known for its cooking tradition.
The book contains a good range of recipes with quite easy to source ingredients.
Cardamom and Lime is an exceptionally beautiful recipe book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
To be honest I expected a few more distinct recipes. Its a nicely presented book but a rather ecletic mix of home cooking -average
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
A wonderful collection of recipes form the Gulf. You can smell the scent of the spice markets and the flavour of the dishes. The photos are excellent at bringing the fish market and souks to your home. If you know nothing about Gulf cookery, this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
This is an outstandingly beautifull coffetable-book, also instructive where as actual cooking is concearned - not only for the beginner.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Was very disapointed with this book. The quality of the paper was not good and did not feel nice to handle. The pictures inside was boring which did not inspire me to want to cook anything from the book. Would not recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)