Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars35
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
34
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2012
A lively,informative excellent and comprehensive guide. Great photos. Well worth reading , studying and doing the walks. It makes London Jewish history come alive. It also shows how wonderfully rich in history London is. It's up there with other well known London tour guides.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Bought 2 of these - one for my sister-in-law (for Christmas!) and one for myself. Really comprehensive, very clearly laid out, and extremely easy to consult. You don't have to be Jewsh to find this book useful! Good price too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
I received this book as a gift and actually did not give it much thought until shortly before a recent business to London. The knowledge and historical erudition of the authors is remarkable, yet they succeed also to provide a very accessible source of essential tourist information for the Jewish visitor. But I think this book also should be of considerable interest not only to Jewish readers, given the wealth of interesting, often fascinating, facts concerning London's Jewish community, past and present, and its profound and beneficial impact on the development of the capital.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This is one of those wonderful books that totally lives up to what it says it says on the cover: "A comprehensive guidebook for visitors and Londoners". There are ideas for walks, wonderful photos and a wealth of information about the Jewish effect on our historic city. I do have one bone to pick with the authors (it's a salmon bone!) There's a chapter called "Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Bagels" when we all know it's beigels - the best beigels in London come from the Beigel Bake in Brick Lane!! Apart from that Rachel and Roslyn - take a bow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Being Jewish myself I loved this guide book to the settlement of Jews in the capital.Well craftedtext and good illustrations made this a must buy for me
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Beautiful pictures and wonderfully quirky historic details made this book an interesting and diverting read for all the family. Very reasonably priced.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Compact and easy to carry around when you are visiting some of the trips. Thought I knew a lot about the sunject...until read this book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Just to add my kopek's worth to previous greatly-deserved reviews. One of the treasures of this outstanding book is the underlining of the architectural and artistic Jewish contribution to the Capital. From the great synagogues and housing developments to Ronnie Scott's eponymous Jazz Club, ' Jewish London ' is a celebration of a community's gift to the body, mind and spirits of London's fellow citizens. This book is a true work of love and diligence - educational and evocative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
Jewish London: A Comprehensive Guidebook for Visitors and Londoners
What a super little book. Indispensable for Jewish visitors to London and also for Jewish residents. Covers Jewish London area by area in a way that is both erudite and accessible. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
A comprehensive and easy to read informative book on all aspects of Jewish London. Well presented, logically divided into category and beautifully illustrated. Easy to slip in to your bag and refer to on route. A must for any serious traveller to London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)