Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better for toddlers than older children
The title of this book is rather over-optimistic, but I love the style, optimism, and general message which come through. This is more than a recipe book, the early sections offer advice, encouragement and different strategies, and these I feel are the best bit about the book.

The first section is filled with hints, tips and basic common sense which Fiona has...
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by FussFreeFlavours

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual recipies
This book is nicely written and photographed but the recipies are quite unusual. I got it on offer not sure I would pay full price for it.
Published on 27 Sep 2011 by Annemarie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better for toddlers than older children, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
The title of this book is rather over-optimistic, but I love the style, optimism, and general message which come through. This is more than a recipe book, the early sections offer advice, encouragement and different strategies, and these I feel are the best bit about the book.

The first section is filled with hints, tips and basic common sense which Fiona has structured as `The 25 Rules', many of which will be very familiar to Mums - grow your own, or pick your own, don't use food as a bribe or a punishment, set an example; some of which are reassuring - it's a natural phase, persevere; and some of which are new - become a marketing guru; use the distraction technique (getting kids to eat healthy foods whilst engaged in other activities), and change the scenery.

The core of the book is recipes for 25 frequently challenging foods to make with the children. The foods range from tomatoes, potatoes, through cauliflower to lentils and legumes. Fiona encourages full involvement of the children - helpfully indicating with an amusing `splat' icon how trashed your kitchen will look at the end of the session! She also encourages letting children take on responsible roles, including chopping. The emphasis throughout the book is for healthy recipes, with lots of hints and tips throughout.

For each food, Fiona suggests some innovative ways of presenting (or marketing) the food to children which can help break down barriers and potentially get the kids trying. There are then a couple of recipes for your to make with your children -with extra tips on how to transform the recipe into `Gourmet for Grown-Ups'. The recipes are clearly laid out with easy to follow instructions and lots of photos.

I found the recipe section the least useful for me particularly. Many of the recipes are innovative and unusual, and herein lies the challenge - I think in terms of tackling fussy eating, they are probably more suited to a challenging toddler than a very fussy 7 year old - Aubergine crispies, courgette and lime sorbet and spinach, feta and cranberry parcels for example won't be making it onto the list of accepted foods for some time to come, but I am encouraged to try meatballs with a twist (tuna meatballs) and sweet spiced sunshine cakes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual recipies, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
This book is nicely written and photographed but the recipies are quite unusual. I got it on offer not sure I would pay full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun kids recipes and tips, 3 Nov 2011
By 
J. B. Gibson (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
This is a great resource with useful,workable tips to get your kids eating some of the things they're not usually good at eating. The recipes are fun and really yummy. The book is also nice to look at, well layed out and with smashing pictures. Well done to the author for the idea. We've tried a number of the recipes and the kids are expanding their repertoir of food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 26 Oct 2011
By 
D Mac (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
This book is great! Forget Annabel Karmel (who I reckon just cribs recipes from other books and doesn't really suggest anything out of the ordinary), Fiona Faulkner is a cook with imagination. My daughter's only two so we haven't done any cooking together from it but the recipes have gone down a treat. I bought the book for such a great price on Amazon (6.62) and would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kids will love it, 23 Sep 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
How do you get kids to eat foods that are good for them? I remember when I was 10 and I refused to eat anything but pickled onions, pickled cabbage and a mars bar on Sunday afternoons. Fiona Faulkner knows all about finicky eaters. In this book she presents scrumptious ways to get kids to eat the foods they hate. I like the 25 rules and the nutritional tips. Getting the kids involved with cooking is a good start, but beware that in practice if they see the food they hate, no matter how you dress it up, you might have a revolt on your hands. I once cooked bean burgers for some nieces, they loved them. So I thought we would cook them together, when they saw the ingredients they refused to touch them. This colourful book includes all sorts of recipes, even ice creams. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, I mean book, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book which surprised me in many ways. I was not expecting such interesting recipes, which stretch from aubergine crispies to pink porridge. But what really lifts this book above many others is firstly, it tells you how to cook with your children, giving them specific and safe elements of preparation to do, and secondly shows you how to add something simple to the recipes so they become something more exotic for adult taste buds if you so wish.

In essence you get 3 books for the price of one: new, easy to prepare, recipes to get children eating healthily; an elementary food preparation and cookery course for your children (and, frankly, me as well); and a "how to guide", for both and parent and child, to make a special meal together for adult and child guests at your home. So buy it, it could be the start of a beautiful friendship your children have with food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and tasty, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
Got this book as soon as I read about it in the Sunday Times and have so far only tried one recipe so maybe it's too soon to celebrate any sort of triumph, but I have yet to recover from the shock of seeing my son, 4, eating three portions of "orange pasta", with the dreaded carrots and pine nuts and everything. My daughter, 6, wasn't too impressed with the finished dish but loved cooking it and has demanded we try out the remaining recipes during the holidays. Very good start and very impressed with the book - we cook a lot and this looks super easy, very tasty and most importantly FUN for the kids, with lots of handy little tips thrown in for those of us who aren't natural born kiddy-chefs. The author also tells you how to turn the recipes into more adult dishes so it's a great way of cooking two dishes (if you have fussy little guests over, for example) with half the effort. Love this woman, whoever she is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24), 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
Wow. At last a book that gets kids excited about eating healthy food. Lots of really great recipes that are easy and dont require Materschef cooking abilities. Great pics of each dish too.
The author clearly has her own children and this is book written by someone with hands on experience of cooking for kids and making the experience fun.
Dont hesitate, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad buy, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
Have two young boys both who are fussy eaters, one of them almost food phobic.Bought this book after reading very good reviews hoping that this would show me some tips that I had'nt already thought of. Even a child who eats well might find a lot of this food hard to eat. Maybe if your child is just slighty fussy you might be lucky with this book, but if you have very fussy eaters, don't even bother to buy this book, the recipes are just ridiculous. This author obviously has never had to feed children with eating disorders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for family friendly inspiration, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: 25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) (Hardcover)
We all know that encouraging children to help in the kitchen is a good way to get them interested and knowledgeable about food, however lets be honest, we usually limit the recipes to fairy cakes, crispy cakes and pizza,right? Not any more....Fiona Faulkner's bright and colourful new book provides a great selection of snacks and meals that can really be prepared WITH the children and enjoyed together with the whole family - a really fresh approach and a very welcome additon to our cookbook collection, 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24)
25 Foods Kids Hate (and How to Get Them Eating 24) by Fiona Faulkner (Hardcover - 20 Aug 2011)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews