Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another detailed book by Alan Dunn
This book mainly focuses on different types of cake decoration one can use at Christmas/ Winter time.

The book does has a fruit cake and royal icing recipes at the front - though not one that I have tried, I purchased this book for decoration inspiration rather than as a recipe book. Also at the front of the book there is a section explaining techniques and...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Aimée

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
flowers are quite complicated and not very chrismassey
Published 1 month ago by sc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another detailed book by Alan Dunn, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
This book mainly focuses on different types of cake decoration one can use at Christmas/ Winter time.

The book does has a fruit cake and royal icing recipes at the front - though not one that I have tried, I purchased this book for decoration inspiration rather than as a recipe book. Also at the front of the book there is a section explaining techniques and materials required.

There is a large section devoted to 'Flowers and Foliage' which include many winter flowers such as 'Christmas Rose', Winter Jasmine', 'Ivy', 'Red Amaryllis' and many, many more. These flowers are not part of a design as such but show a step by step guide as to how to make them to create your own arrangement.

The last section shows complete cake designs for you to follow as well as some unique centre pieces. At the back there are some useful templates as well such as leaves, petals and a snowman.

The designs are very, complex and not for the faint-hearted. I myself have not tried any for fear of their difficultly level. As I have this book earlier in advance I will be trying the different style so that I am prepared for the Christmas period next year, as all of the cakes are beautiful and would make a talking point at any winter party.

Over all another detailed book by Alan Dunn with excellent photos and guidance and hopefully after practice I can make a great 'different' Christmas cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
Yet another great book from Alan dunn his first Chrismas book has some great new ideas and simple but effectiv designs. I used one of his ideas in my sugarcraft classes and had some great results from my students. They all enjoyed working on it and had great feedback from friends and relatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
Patricia Clarke "patriciann" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous, as are all of Alan's books. With clear instructions and helpful advice. I can't wait to decorate this years Christmas cake, the only problem will be, with which one?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Cakes, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
Not the usual christmas cakes - many new ideas including using holly and ivy and many other flowers. Interesting to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting ready for next year, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
Patricia Grant "pattie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
Lovely ideas in this book that can be put to use in other seasons/cake styles.

Good step by step instructions, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cake decorating, 12 Oct. 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
I can't help but feel that this is one of those books with the wrong title. I thought it would be full of yummy Christmas cake recipes. Instead this book is full of delicious things of an entirely different nature - it's all about decorating not only your Christmas cake but the table too. It is fantastic and does even include a fruitcake recipe. Learn how to decorate your cake from the icing up. Discover flowers and foliage for arrangements in great detail. In addition take that humble fruit cake and turn it into a work of art. The recipes for decorating the cake are simply the best. This book is about the spirit of Christmas and is the icing on the cake! This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
Another stunning book from Alan Dunn. Wide selection of differnt types of Christmas designs and ideas. As usual good instuctions on how to achive them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars alan dunn, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
saw this man at a show at the nec 4yrs ago, he is fantastic in the job that he does. some of the things a bit hard, but just needs practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want something different in cake decorating this is the one to go for, clear illustrations and templates which makes it great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book purchase, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes (Hardcover)
Having wanted to purchase this book after seeing it with a friend I was pleasantly surprised to see it for sale at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes
Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes by Alan Dunn (Hardcover - 25 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £16.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews