Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best bags
Cheryl Owe is such a versatile author. Here she tackles bags with a vengeance. This is a superb selection of 30 bags with easy to follow instructions, good step by step photographs and templates. The styles include purses, handbags, shoppers, drawstring bags, duffle bag, beach bag and more. The handbags include day and evening styles. The instructions at the beginning...
Published on 22 July 2011 by K. Platt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed with this book
A little disappointed with this book, I feel the bags are a bit too simple and homemade looking, I prefer a more professional finish.
Published 1 month ago by kitty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best bags, 22 July 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Cheryl Owe is such a versatile author. Here she tackles bags with a vengeance. This is a superb selection of 30 bags with easy to follow instructions, good step by step photographs and templates. The styles include purses, handbags, shoppers, drawstring bags, duffle bag, beach bag and more. The handbags include day and evening styles. The instructions at the beginning give you the basic techniques you need. This is the essential bag making book. Recommended. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful bagmaking book, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
I was given this book for Christmas and it has really inspired me. As a beginner it took me some time to work out some of the instructions, but now I have mastered most of them and the results are pretty good. One of the difficult parts is increasing the pattern size as the pieces are not all printed full size. I would recommend it to anyone who has done a bit of sewing already as it inspires you to try something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I made one!, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Great book for anyone who wants to have a go at making bags that you actually want to use but you might still feel like a beginner. some bag books still feel a bit scary to the inexperienced sewer. (especially those that use all the pricey leather straps and metal hardware I find). These instructions are pretty easy to follow even for an inexperienced sewer. I found this book very encouraging having completed my first bag (the one on the cover) and was pretty pleased with the result! It was reasonably priced too at around a tenner for all the materials. I did use some nice buttons!

I agree with the earlier reviewee on pattern sizes. What a shame that full sizes aren't put in all sewing books. It's a real let down to me. Nobody wants to have to photocopy at 400 per cent. Please sort this out authors/publishers. Make all the patterns as inserts at the right size please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Really like this book, it is extremely informative. Gives lots of hints and tips on bag making even for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
I purchased this book for myself as I had got my daughter interested in sewing (she is 43, so it tok quite a while) and she saw my copy and "borrowed" it as she loved it so much. Can't blame her, it is a good all round book for beginners and those of us who are more experienced sewers, The patterns and instructions are all very clear, and adding your own touch to them the possibilities are endless ! Great Book, we both love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
This book has the clearest photographs showing the techniques well. The measurements and pattern pieces are accurate, but some instructions need a little unpicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Bags, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Having gone bag making crazy last year and bought 5 books, this newest one has got to be the most useful. I bought it 'second hand' but it was in excellent condition, arrived quickly and is being a catalyst to my own ideas now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best craft book, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
This book is wonderful. Simple to understand and all the patterns are basic. The only thing is not full size patterns but easy to recreate. If u buy no other craft book this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good selection, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Contained a good selection of bags to work and instructions clear. Should be very useful for many years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags of info, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. A. P. Bonner "Ann B" (East Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags (Paperback)
Lots of good 'one off' bags to make you stand out of the crowd. Very good descriptions and diagrams to follow and still leaves the maker scope to personalize the bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags
The Book of Bags: 30 Stylish projects for Beautiful Sewn Bags by Cheryl Owen (Paperback - 5 July 2011)
11.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews