Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice introduction to Cricket, not a travel guide
I have to take issue with other reviews that bemoan the lack of detail on the Cricketing nation locations for interests outside of the sport, this is not a travel guide after all.
What it is is a good introduction for people who know little about the great game, or a nice flick through guide with lots of photo's for travelling fans of every nation, covering grounds...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by A.M.Boughey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for the armchair traveller than the Barmy Army
If, like me, you've followed the travels of England tour parties over the years from under the duvet in a cold and frosty UK, wondering how the Fremantle Doctor feels, or what a jacaranda tree looks like, then a guide that offers some background information on the world's cricket venues is an exciting prospect, raising the thought that you might one day get yourself out...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by will_de_beest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice introduction to Cricket, not a travel guide, 28 Nov 2010
By 
A.M.Boughey "Poetmaster" (Rochester, MN) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to take issue with other reviews that bemoan the lack of detail on the Cricketing nation locations for interests outside of the sport, this is not a travel guide after all.
What it is is a good introduction for people who know little about the great game, or a nice flick through guide with lots of photo's for travelling fans of every nation, covering grounds you may know well, to those you didn't even know existed.
Over 200 pages of easy reading, nice pictures and bullet point coverage of the salient points of each ground and team/country. Not in depth by any means, and as others have noted, this leans more towards the modern game, and one day internationals, rather than a retrospective or historical archive of the roots of the game.
Nice coffee table book, and does well what it aims to do. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wisden meets Lonely Planet - great for itinerant cricket lovers, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
... and who doesn't love this most glorious of sports?

Sumptuously illustrated with splendid photos, this is a compelling guide to all the major (and a few of the minor) cricketing nations. The cost of a beer, rickshaw ride or even entrance to strip clubs is itemised alongside average monthly temperatures, must see and do things, the country's test, and ODI statistics and a few amusing cricket anecdotes. As a complete cricket nut myself, I found the Fan's Guide almost unputdownable - reading it from cover-to-cover in just a couple of sittings.

A few minor irritations merit reporting - statistics relating to bowling speeds are given solely in km/hr (which means little to me), expenses are quoted in local currencies, with no exchange rate given, there are a few typos and the book is written in a very close-pitched font that isn't too easy on the eyes.

No big deal though. This is a delightful little book which, I'm sure, any cricket fan would be delighted to receive. Thanks once again Vine Programme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to the World's Cricket Grounds., 24 Jan 2011
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The title is a little misleading, in that i was hoping for more information about Cricket played around the globe.
This book is essentially a guide to each international Cricket ground around the world.
It is interesting but the information is largely statistical which of course means a lot of it is already out of date.
To summarize as a Cricket fan i liked this book and it is nice to keep handy when England are playing abroad, or even at home as these grounds are covered as well.
But a better title should have been a Fan's Guide to World Cricket Ground's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little gift for a cricket fan, 26 April 2013
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all I will confess up front, the game of cricket isn't really a sport that I follow, but when I saw this book advertised, and waited until other reviews had been posted, I ordered it immediately for a close friend of mine who is mad about the game and was facing imminent retirement.

Feedback from him has been very positive and proved a great companion during a April shower rain break at Trent bridge this week! Based upon the comments received I would say this book, which is very reasonably priced at under £15 at the time of writing, is a great little 'stocking filler' type gift for the Cricket fan in your family or circle of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falls between two stools, 25 May 2011
By 
Paul Fillery (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a strange book, but a worthy purchase for cricket fans nonetheless. Instead of a Wisden-style reference guide to the test-playing nations and their players, it is almost (as other reviewers have mentioned) a Lonely Planet or Rough Guide to the various featured countries. Some history and travel advice, details on the major test stadia and their locations, and on the countries themselves (the ten major test-playing nations are featured). Plenty of colour photos give a flavour of the exotic locations in which cricket is played around the globe. That's not to say there is no cricket in the book at all - far from it. But just make sure you know what you're buying first to avoid being a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good Lonely Planet type book about Cricket Nations., 17 Mar 2011
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this is like a Lonely Planet book where Cricketing nations are described, complete with a host of good colour photographs, maps, fact boxes and information and facts for the visitor etc.
We have a wealth of cricketing statistics, bowling averages and other stats.
So we have Cricket facts coupled with Country facts - as others have described!
A good light read and a nice collection for the Cricket lover for their bookshelf.
AND it is also a good book to lend to others interested in Cricket in light of the World Cup taking place and the Ashes win - so a great introduction!

It is however not very in depth, but who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for cricket fans because......, 13 Mar 2011
By 
Peter J Godliman (Slough) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a reference guide to world cricket. The guide covers the ten main cricket playing nations and most of the Test Match and One Day International cities and their stadia. However, it is more than a cricket fan's reference book that is packed with statistics gathered throughout the long history of the game.
Each country has a brief snapshot covering a few pages. Then come the cities within that country, again each one has a brief description, some very varied photographic images (not only cricket related) and a section for the travelling partners who want to experience the surroundings - three things you must do whilst here. All of this in two pages! The next two pages are devoted to the stadium, it's history, statistics such as highest team and individual scores, for both Test and ODI, and even naming the respective bowling ends.
The book is well laid out with numerous attractive and action photos, and follows the same simple format throughout. The final section has a short appraisal of the minor, affiliate, nations and their progress, or lack of it, in ODI World Cups.
However, I was frustrated to find that, whilst following and watching the current World Cup competition, some of the stadia being used are not included in the Fan's Guide. I hope the authors are working on a follow up edition that will cover the remaining sites, as at present I cannot perceive it as a complete guide. I appreciate the title does not pretend to be complete - I simply feel that this edition does not fully satisfy the true fan's desire for total information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright and fun, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little browsing book, although I doubt if you would actually take it anywhere - it is a 'read and dream book'. Nice and bright with good photos and a raft of information on all Test teams and their home locations. Bite size facts about team history, grounds and stats and then stuff about the general area and local culture.
It's written in a light and easy style that gives a nice view of places you may never actually visit, but would like to. Gives you a real flavour for the places and the teams. It reminded me of one of those 'greatest golf holes around the world' books - great to look at and dream about - but for most of us, the book is as far as we will get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for the armchair traveller than the Barmy Army, 24 Feb 2011
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
If, like me, you've followed the travels of England tour parties over the years from under the duvet in a cold and frosty UK, wondering how the Fremantle Doctor feels, or what a jacaranda tree looks like, then a guide that offers some background information on the world's cricket venues is an exciting prospect, raising the thought that you might one day get yourself out of bed and go to watch in person.

And this is almost, but not quite, it. What it offers is three or four pages on each city, including a bit about the ground, some records (the entry for Brisbane is already out of date thanks to Alastair Cook) and a few ideas of things to see elsewhere. It's reasonably well written and presented, although there are some odd captioning errors. But it's not really clear who it's for: a true travelling fan would want far more detail before spending thousands on an intercontinental trip, whereas a stay-at-home doesn't really need to know where to find street food or strip clubs. Best enjoyed as a lightweight companion to broadcast coverage rather than a serious trip planner - and seen that way it's rather fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The armchair semi-enthusiasts guide, 20 Jan 2011
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Fan's Guide to World Cricket (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very simply this book goes round the 10 test playing nations and gives a description of each of the major test grounds in that country. The account includes a little bit about the city in which the ground is sited, a few places of interest, and then a list of the major statistics associated with the grounds, highest and lowest, team and individual, test and ODI scores and bowling performances.

This is probably best for the casual armchair fan who wishes to know a little about the ground he or she is hearing about on TMS. There isn't enough information for it to be a true travel guide, nor are there sufficient statistics to attract the true afficionado.

Still it's perfectly good within its own limited horizons, and gently entertaining for the casual browser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Fan's Guide to World Cricket
A Fan's Guide to World Cricket by Adam Hathaway (Paperback - 25 July 2010)
£10.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews