Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly and Moth Guide
I was trying to find a book to identify a couple of unusual butterflies we had had in our garden this summer. It just so happened that one of them is the butterfly on the front cover, which is what drew me towards this book.

It is a lovely book just to flick through like some other people have said because the illustrations are so lovely and colourful. There is...
Published on 25 Sept. 2010 by Ellie Murphy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The curates egg
First of all the good bits.

It's small enough for any pocket and it has a useful plastic sleeve to protect the soft cover. The butterfly illustrations are adequate and probably good enough for someone with a casual interest in butterflies to identify most of the butterflies you will see. Best of all it's relatively cheap compared to the better guides...
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by Tieflyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly and Moth Guide, 25 Sept. 2010
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
I was trying to find a book to identify a couple of unusual butterflies we had had in our garden this summer. It just so happened that one of them is the butterfly on the front cover, which is what drew me towards this book.

It is a lovely book just to flick through like some other people have said because the illustrations are so lovely and colourful. There is information on each butterfly and moth and they are in colour coded sections that make quick referencing easier. The fold out guide that comes with it is also useful.

If you want lots of detailed information on butterflies and moths then this is not for you. However, if you want to identify butterflies and moths in your garden or when you are out having a walk through countryside then this is a very useful pocket book. It even has a plastic cover to prevent it being damaged outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Usefull, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
B. J. Davies "EntilZha" (The Rhondda, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
This book is beautiful both in its quality and content.

It is a small, compact book which is, at first, surprising in it's weight - until you open it. Then you realise that it is printed on high quality smooth paper. On these pages are beautifully detailed little works of art which please the eye and the soul. There are notes on each species regarding Size, Descriptions, Habitat, Food and distribution. I use it to identify butterflies I take pictures of, or see while I am out and about but in all honesty I would own this book purely for the pleasure of holding it and looking at it - because it really is beautiful, as are the Butterflies and Moths that it describes.

I also own the Concise Bird Guide, I've sent for The Concise Wild Flower Guide and have pre-ordered the Concise Tree and Insect Guides as I am confident that they will be of equal quality and just a great a pleasure to own as this Butterflies and Moths one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grat little book, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
Great little book. Plastic cover. Easily fits in pocket for use when out walking. More than sufficient info for the casual user just interested in identifying butterflies and moths in the garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book for the keen amateur., 3 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very useful and handy little book to take about with you if you want to identify butterflies and moths. It only has very brief descriptions of each creature, so if you want something that goes into more depth, then I suggest a bigger and more detailed book. The pull out chart is lovely to look at and is very useful in trying to discriminate between similar species. All the pictures are in colour and they are very detailed and clear. A great little book for an amateur or for an inquisitive older child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The curates egg, 14 Oct. 2010
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
First of all the good bits.

It's small enough for any pocket and it has a useful plastic sleeve to protect the soft cover. The butterfly illustrations are adequate and probably good enough for someone with a casual interest in butterflies to identify most of the butterflies you will see. Best of all it's relatively cheap compared to the better guides.

The bad bits.

The moth illustrations are totally inadequate to identify most of the moths shown in the book. Unlike butterflies most moths land with their wings folded to some degree or other. Some have their wings partially open and others have their wings totally folded and overlapped. The illustrations in this book show them as they would be if pinned out in a collection. Far better if the moths wee illustrated in their natural resting position or perhaps with one illustration of each. Many of the moths illustrated are also quite difficult to see during the day and it would have been better to have illustrated more common moths.

The idea of combining butterflies and moths in one small pocket book is admirable but I can't help feeling that it would have been better to have stuck to the butterflies and supplied more information on them rather than bulking up the book with a relatively small number of the British moth population and failing to give enough information to identify them properly.

A much better book on butterflies alone is " A Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland" by Richard Lewington which costs about twice as much (Currently [...] on Amazon) but is still quite a small book and provides aboutv ten times as much information. The only really worthwhile (and relatively portable)moth guide currently available which gives the sort of detail needed to identify moths with any real chance of success is "The Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland" by Townsend, Waring and Lewington. This covers all the British macro (larger) moths including common colour variations but is a larger format and currently costs [...] on Amazon. At the end of the day I suppose you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book for butterfly enthusiasts, 13 Aug. 2010
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
Was really pleased with this book. It came complete with plastic cover which is brilliant if you use it a lot. The size is just right to carry around inside your pocket, and the pictures and details are just spot on. Well worth taking a stroll in the countryside with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job for field work, 27 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
With its small pocket size & plastic cover, its just the job for field work, especially when working with children or beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Pocket Book, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
With the wonderful recent weather having brought out so many butterflies I thought it was about time I had a book to name some of the less familar ones. This is a lovely little book that comes in a plastic cover very easy just to put in your pocket when you go out for a walk plus it also lists some of the moth varieties. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) Excellent resource. Is useful for adults and older children .., 13 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Harding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides)

Excellent resource. Is useful for adults and older children alike (say from 7 years upwards). Grandchild spends lots of time identifying species. Good size and well protected in its thick polythene folder. Great to take out on walks. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift for Family Member, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) (Paperback)
The book is small and easy to carry around for identification purposes and has a plastic cover. It would be nice to have had more caterpillars shown with the butterflies but, given the size, it is more about identifying the adult I presume. My sister is happy with the book even with its limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides)
New Holland Concise Butterfly and Moth Guide (New Holland Concise Guides) by Wildlife Trusts (Great Britain) (Paperback - 25 April 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews