Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get walking!
Everybody should walk more and this book will encourage you do just that. The 30 walks included are quite varied and they will take you to all parts of London and even further (e.g. Windsor and Eton, Richmond and Hampton Court). Andrew Duncan includes all the practical information you need, i.e. maps, distances and an estimation of the length of time each walk will take,...
Published on 12 May 2012 by Jan

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walking London
Can not really rate book as I have not used it yet.But I have seen lots of books similar in The Docklands Museum.Which are cheaper than some advertised.
Published 15 months ago by Fiona


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get walking!, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
Everybody should walk more and this book will encourage you do just that. The 30 walks included are quite varied and they will take you to all parts of London and even further (e.g. Windsor and Eton, Richmond and Hampton Court). Andrew Duncan includes all the practical information you need, i.e. maps, distances and an estimation of the length of time each walk will take, but he also includes lots of interesting details to look out for as you walk, snippets of relevant history and great places to stop for a drink or a sandwich and a cup of tea. The book is illustrated with beautiful photos of places you should definitely look out for on your way - Jacob Epstein's wonderful Madonna and Child which is fixed to an arch just off Cavendish Square and the Triton fountain in Regents Park, for example.

The book is well indexed and the "Historical background" section is informative and will be especially helpful to anyone not entirely sure who the Adam brothers were or whether King William IV came before or after all the Georges.

I think this book is a great guide to our capital. However well you know London, I think you will find many facts and places you didn't know if pick up this book and walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable selection of walks, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
Andrew Duncan does a good line in walking guides and this is an excellent introduction to London covering the mainstream sights, but also some back streets and secret corners. There aren't many cities with a St-Andrew-By-The-Wardrobe church and this book is a great way to get out and see that, and a wide variety of what else London has to offer.

Easy to follow, with plenty of interest to read about what is to be seen. The walks are generally 2 - 4 miles long and each has a simple map to help. A paperback, but the binding is stitched so it won't fall apart if you take it with you.

If you enjoy this, there are other books by the author in the same style that are well worth getting, but note that his "Favourite London Walks" is entirely a compilation with most, but not all, of the ones in this book plus some taken from his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step this way..., 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
We're very pleased with this book, and have ticked two walks off in the first fortnight. It was a pleasure to be transported from point to point whilst soaking up the atmosphere created by the well-constructed commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
A good London Walks book with some walks that I wouldn't have thought of. We still have quite a few to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a walkers gem, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
I have walked almost all of the walks in this delightful book with my modest walking group. Its an adventure every time and you never know what is around the corner. I cant tell you how many people I have recommended it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 21 Oct 2011
By 
A. P. Reed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
This book has quite a few interesting walks and is we1l illustrated. It also mentions places to eat along the way and says how long the walk will take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
I already had a copy of this guide and have used it extensively. This was a purchase as a gift for someone, who also wanted to explore the better and lesser known parts of London. It is easy to use, very informative and will lead you to parts of our capital that you may have walked past a hundred times without knowing there was something really interesting hidden just around the corner. Andrew Duncan does not necessarily point out everything; a recent wander along the Marylebone walk had us finding Dusty Springfield's old house, marked with a blue plaque - recent history, but a little something that thrilled us!
Buy it and wander, it is excellent value - well done Mr Duncan and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Discover London's Fascinationg Character, 15 Aug 2014
By 
R Jacob (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
Brilliant book to accompany many great days out exploring this great City by breaking it down into manageable chunks of fascinating interest rather than just an open top bus type overview. A basic tourist guide will direct you to the main sights, and indeed most give a good outline description and history, but what is wonderful about this book, is that the routes chosen take you to places you would likely have either missed or walked past and not realised what they were. There are also hundreds of facts, points of interest and pieces of history I guarantee the vast majority of Londoners wouldn't know.

I had been using the 1999 edition and have completed many of the walks (some a few times over), however London does not stand still and there have been more recent constructions, not least the Gherkin commenced in 2001 and the Shard in 2003, so I decided to get an updated version. In truth although the layout and illustration of the maps have changed for the better and there are more photographs, I have compared some of the text and although at the time of writing this I have not done an in depth comparison, there does not seem to be a lot of difference to my previous copy. Example being the City East walk still makes no mention of the Gherkin but it is a very visible and dominant feature now within this walk, but maybe this will appear somewhere else as I look through.

Definitely recommend it, walking is by far the best way to see this City and this book has transformed my view of London from being an Ok place to visit and see the sights, to leaving me absolutely fascinated and enthralled with it's otherwise hidden treasures. I am a West Midlands resident but love to hop on a train as often as possible with this book in hand and head to capital and complete a walk or two as many walks can be linked if you feel more energetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to see the capital, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
This book provides quite a detailed account of several walks around central London. The walks can be found by their location or their points of interest. The descriptions will tell you in advance how difficult to walks are - and they are mostly very easy strolls. The accounts of the walks also tell you what to look out for and some history
All Londoners know that the best way to see London is to walk, and maybe use public transport, and this book makes good use of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb guide, 14 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking London (Paperback)
An handy little book with a selection of superb walks in and around London. So many landmarks, hidden pubs, views and places of interest packed into each walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking London
Walking London by Andrew Duncan (Paperback - 25 Jan 2010)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews