Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand
A very informative book.
Amust for anyone interested in Electrical work.
It's very well laid out and easy to understand?
You will not be disappointed
Published 20 months ago by tomsboxers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a book to avoid
This book is not useful to an ordinary householder wanting to do improvements to the house wiring. There are no wiring diagrams in colour so the explanations become confusing and don't give you the information and therefore the confidence you need to do the job. There are much clearer and better produced books out there so I recommend looking within these books first and...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but slightly basic., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
Depending on your level of expertise this is quite a good book, easy to understand, great for the beginner. Akin to the idiots guides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a book to avoid, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
This book is not useful to an ordinary householder wanting to do improvements to the house wiring. There are no wiring diagrams in colour so the explanations become confusing and don't give you the information and therefore the confidence you need to do the job. There are much clearer and better produced books out there so I recommend looking within these books first and then sourcing from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
A very informative book.
Amust for anyone interested in Electrical work.
It's very well laid out and easy to understand?
You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
I was alerted to this book by somebody quoting some of the nonsense it contains on an electrical advice forum (I'm a qualified electrician, BTW).

I looked at the "see inside pages" and I found more nonsense on virtually every one.

The author clearly knows nothing about the subject - there are far better books around written by people who really do know what they are talking about. Not only would this book be a waste of money - at best it will mislead you, at worst it might lead you into danger.

And be suspicious of other reviews here - when they are written by the type of people who say "the area rule for rings is not covered" when there is no such thing as an area rule for ring finals you have to wonder how much trust you can place in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 20 July 2011
By 
Peter Scott "peter46077" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
This seems to have everything in it that a diy installer needs to do an efficient and safe installation. I have done home electrics for years. One of my sons has just bought an old house and needs to replace and improve the circuits. I thought my knowledge might be out of date, so I bought this book to check. I can't find anything missing, though a few areas could perhaps be improved. Earth bonding is covered but not the connectors that you might use. The area rule for rings is not covered and there is no suggestion about how a house might be split for multiple rings. These are minor criticisms. Overall the book is thorough and clear with excellent diagrams. So I'll be handing the book over to said son tomorrow for him to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, with diagrams and explanations of the details of most of the 'domestic' situations that you are likely to encounter, set out in simple and straightforward terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
There are more comprehensive and considerably more expensive books on this particular topic but they tend to be written for the professional electrician. This book distills the salient points of domestic electrical systems and installation & repair procedures for the competent DIY-er. However, this book is not intended for the complete novice and a basic understanding of electricity and electrical installation work is assumed. It has been undated wrt current electrical wiring regulations. Above all this book is relatively cheap (and slim) and covers most of the electrical topics that the home handyman is likely to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 29 Dec 2011
By 
A. Hallett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics (Paperback)
Great book, very easy to understand the book, well laid out and good pictures,very easy to understand the text and diagrams, a well thought out book to give a good start to understand electrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics
The Complete Handbook of Home Electrics by Julian Bridgewater (Paperback - 25 April 2009)
Used & New from: 3.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews