Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2009
I ordered this book suspecting it to be a knock off, cobbled together in someone's bedroom to make a quick buck. Not so. Legitimately printed, with an ISBN number and everything, this little black book contains chord arrangements for 80 Waits tracks on guitar. Spanning past to present (There's tracks here from Closing Time all the way through to Real Gone) it's an absolute gem for the price.

It falls down slightly on piano based songs, giving chord approximations. I'm an amateur guitar player, so lack the skill to work out the trickiest. Key-based tracks like Christmas Card From A Hooker In Minneapolis are in there, but as a sequence of chords by lyrics, nothing more. If you can work out picking patterns, then you will obviously be OK.

Another small moan is the binding isn't amazing. My copy is now well thumbed, and some of the pages are looking a little loose. A look at the price explains that problem, though.

But these are small quibbles. For the money, this is an amazing compilation of Waits' work. Buy it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
This book is brilliant - ALL the Led Zep songs (not just selected tracks like most other songbooks), all the chord diagrams you'll need at the start of each song, plus a breakdown of the riffs and of course all the lyrics. Yes, it's small (and keeping the book open while you're playing yet keeping it near enough to see the chord diagrams does take some initiative), but that doesn't detract from the content. My only regret is that I didn't buy this book years ago.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
I am pleased to have found such a book, as not many Tom Waits ones are available., Very handy for learning the lyrics & structure of so many songs in one little book! & at a bargain price too! My only hope is that a similar one is published with Tablature in, for all the intricate guitar solos involved in Toms newer material! Regardless, this book is packed with plenty of interesting new chords to learn from the Jazzy style of Waits' music! An eye-opener for basic guitarists & a nugget of songs for intermediate/advanced players/singer-songwriters! WAITS IS THE MAN!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
I really like this little black book- I have learnt a lot playing this- I used to only play and sing the Beatles ( the complete Beatles which is also a fantastic chord/ lyric book).but now I've found a new dimension
I play 12 string Martin guitar and the Zeppelin stuff sounds fantastic on it- I still have a lot more to learn- Haven't even got around to changing the strings from standard concert pitch to play everything contained in this book - Mr Page you are a genius without a doubt- the book that keeps giving.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
This book is fantastic and I would really reccomend it. It does exactly what it says on the tin!
It contains the entire Led Zep back catalogue, even including hard to find songs such as hey hey what can I do and travelling riverside blues. Although it does contain a basic form of tablature for the riffs, I would suggest supplementing the lack of tab with the mothership book if you really want to nail the classic songs perfectly, and learn the solos.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
If you're interested in the Lyrics of Tom's songs, and why wouldn't you be? This book is a must. If you're a guitarist and a Waits fan, then it's essential. As he's such a prolific songwriter, not everything is in there, but the book covers lyrics and chords to most of his classics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
This is a good handy little book (fits in your guitar case easily) with 86 Led Zeppelin songs, easy to follow chord diagrams and riffs in Tab. Good fun for party's, will definitely buy some more of these little black songbooks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
A great little book,,,lovely size just to pop in your pocket,take it to your gig and have a quick review of what you are gonna play,or study it and learn the songs at home,a very neat and tidy buy,,,very pleased with it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Good quality printing and binding.All the songs that I wanted the lyrics for.Would rather have had just the lyrics but no complaint,Easily read in low light which I wanted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
As a guitar beginner and a Led Zep fan, I found this book really helpful in progressing from simple open chords.
The way some of the riffs are presented could be made easier i.e. in tab form.
It would be nicer if the book were spiral bound so it remains open at the page you want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)