Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start
I'm a complete newb at ukulele and this was just what I needed, I'd definitely recommend it to beginners with no real musical background like me.
Published 5 months ago by Anas

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless CD and unhelpful book
I picked this item because it came with the CD and as i'm not the greatest at reading music i thought the CD would help me with the tempo etc. The music on the CD is not from a ukulele so was no help in how it should sound coming from the ukulele and what sort of sturmming pattern is needed for each song. I was really disappointed. There is also nothing in the book to...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Amy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless CD and unhelpful book, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this item because it came with the CD and as i'm not the greatest at reading music i thought the CD would help me with the tempo etc. The music on the CD is not from a ukulele so was no help in how it should sound coming from the ukulele and what sort of sturmming pattern is needed for each song. I was really disappointed. There is also nothing in the book to help you "from the beginning" of learning ukulele, its just nursey rhyme music sheets and an irritating electronic sounding CD. I would not recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Utterly confusing and unhelpful," says the husband., 18 Jan 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
I bought a ukulele and this book for my husband for Christmas. As a complete beginner, this is his take on the book:

"It's called 'Ukelele from the Beginning' but the chords are not really explained clearly and the diagrams to show the fingering are confusing. I literally could not make head nor tail of it at all. After the opening two pages called "Getting Started", it then goes straight on to children's songs and that's it for the rest of the book. I found a clip on youtube about learning to play the ukulele in 10 minutes and it was much more helpful. Still can't play the damn thing though!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is for beginners, 28 Feb 2013
By 
P. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
If you're a non-musician this will be a great book as it really starts from scratch and takes things slowly. If you have taught yourself a few chords and want something more this book isn't for you as you're already at the stage that the book ends at.A good book for someone who has no prior experience on the instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
This book is a good start for a child, in that they may learn the chords and sing along but but doesn't take it any further. I have used it in lessons to assist with music reading but some of the arrangements go below middle C, which is not possible on a soprano. I understand that this is a common occurrence in Uke books but as a child's book, I'd expect it to be a little more accessible. To get the child playing the melody I have sometimes had to resort to transcribing the pieces myself. With a little more though this could be an essential purchase but until that happens, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
I'm a complete newb at ukulele and this was just what I needed, I'd definitely recommend it to beginners with no real musical background like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ukulele kids beginners book - 6 year old loved it, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
Ukulele kids beginners book - our 6 year old Grandson loved it. Learning Ukulele at school & so pleased to have his own. He practiced almost all Christmas Day in his bedroom & found the book easy to understand. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
This is perfect for anyone who wants to begin to play the ukulele and needs to learn and practise the basics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
This book is a very simple, short and clever introduction to learning the ukulele. You will already know the children songs, which will help you to start understanding and reading the notation (not often given in tutors) if you want to. A very basic repertoire of chords is built up and you are easily introduced to strumming to different rhythmic time siganatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learning to play, 20 May 2011
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
I bought this book for my adult daughter who is learning to play the ukulele. She says it is excellent - the tunes are for all simple nursery rhyme type songs so she knows what they should sound like. If you are learning to play then this is the first one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uke Beginning, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning Uke (Paperback)
Useful and helpful book, nicely set out for beginners, would give anyone confidence to do more and play regularly, with the large print and known tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ukulele From The Beginning Uke
Ukulele From The Beginning Uke by Various (Paperback - 26 Nov 2007)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews