Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out
I like this very much because it is ideal for someone with little background in Welsh. Most coursebooks leave me behind after a few pages! The vocabulary is suitable for everyday situations. CDs are a very convenient way to learn. As I live in England, it is a useful way of hearing Welsh, which I would not have otherwise.
Published 21 months ago by Miss M R.J.

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cymraeg y'r dde yn unig.
I speak a reasonable level of welsh, and bought this CD for the car to keep my language skills reasonably up to date. It has proved to be very irritating! Only south Welsh dialect is used and the north Welsh dialect is ignored cometely. Since I am originally from Anglesey, and want to speak to my old friends when I visit, this CD could actually be more of a hinderance...
Published on 29 Jun. 2011 by Dr. G. Hopkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
I like this very much because it is ideal for someone with little background in Welsh. Most coursebooks leave me behind after a few pages! The vocabulary is suitable for everyday situations. CDs are a very convenient way to learn. As I live in England, it is a useful way of hearing Welsh, which I would not have otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine by me., 26 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
South Wales welsh is fine for me. I already know a fair amount of what is covered in this but I have enjoyed listening to it.
I have picked up some other ways of saying what I can already say.

Some things are a little casual. e.g. Na for No.

As extra practise for other study this is fine. It is not a course - no teaching to count etc. no grammar.

For me, it has provided new vocab, new expressions, revision of standard things, new expression templates.
It's cheap, cheerful and fun. The conversations are clear but a little slow at times and at times a little contrived.

Despite my criticism I do like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hands free welsh, 12 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
This is excellent and just what I was looking for to improve my welsh, would recommend to other keen learners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diolch, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
Excellent course. Makes learning fun. Very concise and logical.
A section on pronounciation would have been useful. Otherwise good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-free Welsh, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
This was requested by my son, who now lives in Yorkshire, and thought it was time he learned some of his native tongue. Apparently it is very useful in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
Need to learn welsh and this will be helpful in augmenting lessons which are weekly so need some additional help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, interesting instruction package - I really am glad ..., 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
Very useful, interesting instruction package - I really am glad I bought it. I like the sound of spoken Welsh - I suppose it comes from having had four North Welsh godparents - something very special when you're English, and I have grown up being used to the sound of Welsh voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cymraeg y'r dde yn unig., 29 Jun. 2011
By 
Dr. G. Hopkin (Manchester, Near Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
I speak a reasonable level of welsh, and bought this CD for the car to keep my language skills reasonably up to date. It has proved to be very irritating! Only south Welsh dialect is used and the north Welsh dialect is ignored cometely. Since I am originally from Anglesey, and want to speak to my old friends when I visit, this CD could actually be more of a hinderance than a help.

Disappointing. This should have been made clear in the product description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to learning Welsh, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
As a complete beginner I am loving this CD. Some of the phrases make me giggle though! Great start to learning Welsh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands-free Welsh (Audio CD)
Really helps my learning listening to this CD in the car in addition to the course I'm on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hands-free Welsh
Hands-free Welsh by Heini Gruffudd (Audio CD - 15 July 2009)
£9.95
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews