Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2014
I've just returned from a holiday in North Wales and found the guide invaluable. It slips in your pocket but is packed with useful information, often telling you the best place to park. 77 castles are covered in detail and you get a black and white photo, details about access to the site, a potted history of the castle and then a description of the buildings. The book is sorted by traditional county, which is really useful if you are on a touring holiday and need to know what is available locally. At the beginning of the guide is an introduction to the castles of Wales and at the end is an extensive list of minor castles, including their OS grid reference for which no description has been given. Having looked at several similar books on offer in shops during my holiday, it seemed to me that this one represented the best value for money. If you want more information CADW produce individual guides for those sites important enough to warrant an entry fee.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2009
Very interesting book for those who want to advance their knowledge on their local history and to explore a beautiful part of the UK.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
A useful handbook to the castles in Wales. It starts with an introduction that paints the extremely complex background of castles, emphasising how difficult it can be to define them as either "English" or "Welsh" constructions, with many changing hands and undergoing developments at the hands of others. Then follows a county-by-county listing of the better sites, including directions on how to find those that are better concealed as well as giving a history and description of each. Just to ensure completeness, a complete list of all castles - plus even 'possible' and 'lost' castles - is included at the back, making the handy-sized book truly comprehensive.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I liked this book as it had grid references for each castle and therefore easy to find on Google maps as it was a present for someone living in Rhodes. Also the castles were listed in each county so it was better for locating them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Well written book, plenty of information and historical knowledge about the castles in Wales. Photos of castle's are in black and white. Definitely recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Planning a driving tour of Wales next month and saw this little book. Arrived in one day and in perfect condition. An excellent read so far and will be most valuable on our trip. More in-depth details on each castle, excellent information on locations and access. Very highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Wanted to give my son a small present that would be useful when he and my grandsons visit N Wales in the summer - they love ancient sites. As soon as I gave it to them they were looking at it and my eldest grandson (7) asked to take it to bed so he could read it! Lots of details and photos and it will be great for planning visits. Really good value!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
A useful addition to visiting castles in WAles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
my son in law (from USA) loved this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Good book to use before a visit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)