Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting family experience
This is book resembles very much a PhD dissertation. The details of the evidence and data is typical of a researcher. The language, however, is simple and easy to follow also for a English non-native speaker as myself. It provides many personal example and highlights also critical moments in the language development of the two boys in Wang family. This is not a How to...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by Arnaldo Pellini

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but was looking more for practical tips
Being in a similar situation as the author (german speaking mother, spanish speaking father and living in an english speaking country) I was hoping to get some advise of this book. But I didn't got really practical tips how to help my girl learning all these languages. It explains more how language development worked with her children
Published 9 months ago by Leonie E.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting family experience, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Arnaldo Pellini (Dumaguete, Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
This is book resembles very much a PhD dissertation. The details of the evidence and data is typical of a researcher. The language, however, is simple and easy to follow also for a English non-native speaker as myself. It provides many personal example and highlights also critical moments in the language development of the two boys in Wang family. This is not a How to Guide, which would be anyway difficult to write on children language development. It is more a reflection on the experience of a family. It therefore possible to compare one own experience with the one described in ths interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars giving lots of ideas, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
This book gives you ideas of how to bring up your child with three languages. Although it is rather specific which Chinese, French and English, it still gives examples you can use for your own language. Really helped us with our "adventure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but was looking more for practical tips, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
Being in a similar situation as the author (german speaking mother, spanish speaking father and living in an english speaking country) I was hoping to get some advise of this book. But I didn't got really practical tips how to help my girl learning all these languages. It explains more how language development worked with her children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
i'm studying this book now to see if trilingual education is for me! very practical approach, yet based on science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
Yes as previous reviewers have said it is written in an academic style as a research project but it is very easy to read and is a good guide if you are trying to raise children with three languages. There are very little materials on the subject (and many people forget or don't know but raising trilingual children is very different from raising bilingual children). The author described her own family and the progress of her own children. Not all her methods are practical depending on your circusmtances and her children look quite gifted (mine were nowhere close to hers in terms of progress at the same age!) so don't give up because of that! She says herself that this book is intended as a guide, an example of certain methods that were successfull in a particular set of circumstances and it is not a "what you must do to succeed book". I am raising children with English, French and Hebrew and this book has been extremely useful. It gives ideas, helps you set realistic targets and explains the challenges at each stage. I highly recommend to any parent who are told that "anyway kids always chose one language", "they will maybe understand but they always reach an age where they refuse to speak one particular language" etc. It requires efforts and commitment from the parents and it is not an easy journey but it is possible and this book will help you. Don't listen to the ones who failed and tell you it will never work. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars could have been better, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
There is not much choice in books about kids in a tree languages environment.
It has a lot of good advices and a very academic approach to it. This academic style was a bit boring for me to read with a lot of repetitions, but my wife like that kind of approach, so i suppose it depend on you.

I liked the real life examples and explanations of the exchanges.
She give different options other that what she did, which is also good because their situation is a bit too perfect with a parent always home.
If you plan to raise a child in a 3 languages environment, this books gives you definitely a good base on what to do and what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
The book is written by a parent-researcher. She's very good in explaining with a simple and clear language how to raise multilingual kids, providing real-life examples, I would definitely recommend for parents who live abroad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy and informative read!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
Finally an INTERESTING and EASY book to read about raising up children with 3 languages. We are French and Russian living in England and this book helped us to stay positive and focused on bringing up our children without giving up on one or another language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting testimonial and strong scientific information provided, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
The book is a well referenced, well written testimonial of a 11 year long study that an academic linguist mom did on her two kids. The text is indeed written as a scientific study, and often quotes the most authoritative sources in the field. In this sense, it is also informative of the most important bibliography on bilinguism.

The book provides little field guidance (it's not a step-by-step guide) but it does explain very clearly on what pillars linguistic proficiency is based and how to develop this proficiency as a child grows. The experience that the author lived with her kids is used as a base to deliver insights which may be valid for other families. There are many context and time specific advices and strategies which are strenghtened with plenty of sound scientific grounding that could be very useful to parents and that I will surely apply in the future with my sons.

This said, the book requires some thinking on the parents side to put the theory and examples in practice. The author does a good job in providing more than enough material to take it a step further and adopting the techniques and practices they might like the most in their personal family communication pattern, so the text can still be very useful.

If you're looking for a guide with very clear advice on what to do and when, something "ready-to-use", this isn't the book for you.
If you would like to understand more about bilinguism and trilinguism, rather than just refer to a set of instructions, this could be one of the reads to add to your list.
In any case, I suggest to read other texts along this one as some more practical advice might really come in handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very knowledgeable read, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
Very encourageable read, only re-ensured me in raising my girls with 3 languages. First few pages a bit boring full or theoretic definitions but the further I read the more I liked it. And the first book ever I found about 3 languages, full of really practical tips. It's simple and approachable. Finally something for parents and not just academics. I keep recommending it to all my friends that have the same issue as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Growing Up with Three Languages: Birth to Eleven (Parents' and Teachers' Guides)
£17.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews