Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide to bilingualism
Colin Baker's book is a practical guide for achieving bilingualism in children. Its structure makes it very easily accessible to both parents and teachers alike, in that each section addresses a question about a particular aspect of bilingualism. It is split into two main sections, the first one dealing with issues in the home and the second one with issues in the school...
Published on 22 Jan. 2002 by dorismerkl@hotmail.com

versus
62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good message but poor on specific, practical information
This book confirms and repeats, over and over again, that bilingualism is a good thing, that there are no disadvantages to bilingualism, and that young children are, for the most part, good at learning languages. This should allay any unfounded fears parents may have that bilingualism might not be a good idea. The poor side of the book is that it can essentially be...
Published on 15 May 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good message but poor on specific, practical information, 15 May 2003
By A Customer
This book confirms and repeats, over and over again, that bilingualism is a good thing, that there are no disadvantages to bilingualism, and that young children are, for the most part, good at learning languages. This should allay any unfounded fears parents may have that bilingualism might not be a good idea. The poor side of the book is that it can essentially be condensed into the above review. There is little or no practical advice on how parents can best bring up a baby to be bilingual short of those methods obvious to most people (e.g. "talk to your child"). The second half of the book covers different approaches in different schools. The message is good (if obvious), the content shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide to bilingualism, 22 Jan. 2002
Colin Baker's book is a practical guide for achieving bilingualism in children. Its structure makes it very easily accessible to both parents and teachers alike, in that each section addresses a question about a particular aspect of bilingualism. It is split into two main sections, the first one dealing with issues in the home and the second one with issues in the school environment. Some sections also contain references for those interested in delving a bit deeper into the subject. There is a helpful glossary at the back of the book explaining the linguistic terminology used throughout the book. All in all, it's an excellent guide for people interested in bilingual issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and encouraging, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Parents' and Teachers' Guide to Bilingualism (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
When I raised my own children in a dual-language environment I had to battle prejudice all the way. The majority language speakers (German) thought I was confusing my children by speaking a minority language (English) with them on a daily basis. I finally gave up and ended up speaking my own second language (German) with my own children, which felt unnatural to me.
Now I have a grandchild who spends lots of time with me and I decided to speak English with him from the start. I found this book very encouraging. It contains insight and wisdom and lots of suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference manual, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: A Parents' and Teachers' Guide to Bilingualism (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
This is a good reference book for people who are approaching family bilingualism for the first time and need thinking material. The book provides answers to many questions one may have on what bilingualism is, how to support it, advantages and disadvantages of it, education, etc. The manual structure is very user friendly as it organised in a crossed reference question-answer way, so it is easy to jump from topic to topic according to each one's interests.
However, do not expect a step-by-step guide on how to raise bilingual children, which I think does not exist as each family is unique. This is more a useful introduction to the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will bilingualism negatively affect my child? No, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Parents' and Teachers' Guide to Bilingualism (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
Save yourself time reading this book and just read the question and answer above again.

This book is split into 5 sections which all approach the same question above, "will teaching my child to be bilingual have a negative affect on him some how?" and the answer given over and over again in different, long-winded ways is "No, bilingualism is actually beneficial to a child's development".

There are no techniques for actually teaching your child or dealing with developmental problems which may arise, no inspiring ways to get you child involved in language learning. No yardsticks by which to measure your child's development.

Complete waste of time and and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent and easy to read introduction to the subject, 18 April 2003
By A Customer
This book really met our family's needs - we are a bilingual family, in the exact same situation as Colin Baker and his family - which ment that the case studies were of real practical help. It is really useful to use as an arguing tool for anybody who comes up against prejudice against bringing one's children bilingual.
It's also very easy to read, I feel I'll be referring to this one again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for a parent ( me), 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Parents' and Teachers' Guide to Bilingualism (Parents' and Teachers' Guides) (Paperback)
gave me plenty of useful info on bilingualism / multilingualism and gave me confidence in what to do with my little one ( as I live in the UK and english is not my first language)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Parents' and Teachers' Guide to Bilingualism (Parents' and Teachers' Guides)
Used & New from: £0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews