Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming
Before reading this, I was quite unaware of the author's very varied career, knowing him only as the creator of some memorable animated children's programmes. I now feel I know him personally, as a modest, good-hearted man, dismissive of his own achievements as a writer and artist and mainly concerned with living life to the full whilst showing consideration for others...
Published on 27 Feb. 2002

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to say I'm disappointed
Oliver Postgate's characters surrounded me as a child during the 1970s, and even today I still drink my tea from a mug decorated with a picture of The Clangers, and in a room close to where I am now there are two soft toy versions of the Moon-dwellers, and a cuddly Bagpuss. When I look at these I hear Oliver Postgate's unmistakable voice and smile, taken back to my...
Published on 31 Jan. 2010 by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming, 27 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
Before reading this, I was quite unaware of the author's very varied career, knowing him only as the creator of some memorable animated children's programmes. I now feel I know him personally, as a modest, good-hearted man, dismissive of his own achievements as a writer and artist and mainly concerned with living life to the full whilst showing consideration for others. It was with heartfelt regret that I turned the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is believing, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
SEEING THINGS is far more than just a humourous account of a colourful life. Humour, colour and beautiful writing abound, but this book is above all a profound and deeply moving record of the life of an ordinary man who sees clearly and whose understanding of the human condition and the very nature of life itself cannot fail to inspire and delight a perceptive reader....Do not fail to buy this book. Life is not complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is believing, 9 Jan. 2004
By 
Dr. Richard W. Gray "richy1965" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Still wearing his academic cap and gown, Bagpuss looks down from the high basket where he lives. His eyes are glass and have no truck with age or mortality. Perhaps he has always known that he was to be immortal..."
Festooned with Peter Firmin's wonderful illustrations, and interrupted only by two selections of personal photographs, this is the life and works of the creator of Small Films, in his own, touching words. Alexander the Mouse, Bagpuss, The Clangers, The Dogwatch, Ivor the Engine, The Journey of Master Ho, Noggin the Nog, Pingwings, The Pogles, Pinny's House, and still more worlds from the imaginations of Postgate and Firmin. About a dozen distinct sets of programmes created for children's television by Oliver Postgate and his collaborators (mostly Firmin) spanned the years from 1958 to 1986, and continue to be repeated and revered by generations of present and former little people of all ages.
What led him to such a career? Postgate's maternal grandfather was the prominent 1930s labour leader, George Lansbury. In childhood, his family had him playing party games with the likes of Bertrand Russell, and H.G. Wells (the "short wide frenzied man with a squeaky voice, who bullied people to play games and hated losing"). His own father, Raymond, founded and compiled the original 'Good Food Guide'. And one of his drama school friends, Ivan Owen, called upon by Postgate in his early days of television to spend hours at a time sitting under a table with his arm up Fred Barker in 'The Dogwatch', went on to become 'the man who gives Basil Brush a hand.' The stuff of legend!
How could a man with such a pedigree not be a success? And yet it took Oliver Postgate numerous attempts to find himself a career that would last. With a Quaker background, he survived being a conscientious objector in the second world war, a relief worker in Germany shortly thereafter, a farm labourer and forester, and a self-employed button electroplater, among other things. The strands that ran through all of this (and more) were that he was devilishly independent, and a natural inventor.
And so it was that he discovered television. During long spells 'resting' as an actor, Postgate was taking sporadic work at Associated Rediffusion as a stage manager (director's odd-job man). As 1957 stumbled blindly into 1958, he twigged two important facts. First, recently-married with four instant kids, he needed steadier work. Second, children's programmes were crap. Their content was barely adequate to fill the gap between the preceding broadcast and the succeeding one. So Postgate sat down and wrote something better.
'Alexander the Mouse' was made using a new magnet-based 'live' animation system. This was crap too, but it wasn't Postgate's idea. His ideas, his words, and Peter Firmin's beautifully-drawn backgrounds were just the ticket, in fact, and it wasn't long before he was able to escape and set himself up as a single-frame animator. And the rest is television history. I won't tell you the whole story, because that would be a biography and this is just an abridged book review.
"Bagpuss, dear Bagpuss, old fat furry cat-puss,
Wake up and look at this thing that I bring,
Wake up, be bright, be golden and light,
Bagpuss, oh hear what I sing..."
Doesn't that make you feel better? Now try singing it aloud. Especially if you are reading this at work, or on public transport. Go on, you know you want to. I did it just now. Jacquie ignored me, but she's used to that sort of thing from me by now.
Postgate's writing is, fittingly, as vivid as a colour slide-show, with the man himself present to change the slides, tell the stories and check from time-to-time to be sure that we're all sitting comfortably and enjoying the performance. And, aside from the televisual stuff, it is stuffed full with little gems. Like his father's discovery of a Ministry of Food Handbook on Home Wine-Making, on the last page of which was the line "A good wine can also be made from grapes." Or the starving, barefoot children of Braunschweig (Brunswick) singing him a traditional English Christmas Carol: "I'm dreamink of a vite Crischmas..."
Some more snippets. His bonfire effigy of General De Gaulle was good enough to be saluted by the House of Commons policeman. The first Pingwing was found on a washing-line. Postgate's film studio was a disused cow-shed near Canterbury. He chose the name 'Clangers' because it's the noise that their bin-lid-styled doors ought to make as they are dropped into place. Bagpuss's 'Emily' was Peter Firmin's youngest daughter. But why am I telling you all this? Buy it in paperback and read it yourself. Add it to your wish-list at Amazon, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Life, 5 July 2001
By 
John Freeman "jfreeman_lancaster" (Lancaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I rarely read autobiographies -- make that never to date -- but for some reason even when I picked this book up it struck a chord and I'm delighted I did. From Postgate's early life, through the time of creating Ivor the Engine, Pogles Wood, the Clangers, Bagpuss et al, to his later years this is a warm, funny telling of a busy life. It leaves a glow after reading! Thank you Mr. Postgate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and impossible to put down!, 11 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
An extremely readable book from the creator of those worlds we all inhabited in our imaginations. The most interesting thing about the book is how Oliver Postgate, the man, created those amazing programmes that we all grew up with, more than any other creator of children's programmes, he had the direct line into our imaginations - and the respect that we as children deserved.
His life has been fascinating, with all the experiences that you could ever dream of. I couldn't put the book down until I'd read the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and inspirational, a perfect gift for yourself or others, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
Thomas Cunliffe "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seeing Things (Hardcover)
I came to this book, Seeing Things by Oliver Postgate, with a mild sense of curiosity, expecting it to be a quick skim-through rather than an in-depth read. How wrong I was. Within a few pages I was hooked on this witty, beguiling life-story, a tribute to a man who reminds us how much we can use the gifts and opportunities presented to us to live a truly full life.

Most people will remember Oliver Postgate as the creator of Ivor the Engine, Noggin the Nog,The Clangers and Bagpuss- wonderful children's television series which he created with his business partner Peter Firmin. His eminence as a maker of childrens' programmes was however a hard-won thing, and Oliver lived a precarious existence through the early years of television, turning his hand to a huge range of occupations while supporting his family.

Oliver was born in 1925 to North London parents of a socialist inclination. Brought up in Hendon, Oliver was exposed to a wide range of people who had a degree of influence in forming the early Labour movement, not least his maternal grandfather, George Lansbury, one-time leader of the Labour Party.

The family were adventurous, and in 1938, Oliver's parents, Ray and Daisy decided to take their family on a cycling tour of France, conscious that war-clouds were looming and such a tour may not be possible in years to come. Oliver's description of this tour is evocative of pre-war France, the family meandering across rivers and through the gates of mediaeval towns, with picnic lunches being eaten on the green banks of shady streams.

When war came, Oliver decided to become a conscientious objector. He was advised to turn up at the barracks and then refuse to put on the uniform, so he nervously took the train to Windsor, wondering what awaited him when he arrived at the Household Cavalry's Combermere Barracks. He found himself in the hands of an army completely unprepared for his arrival, uncomprehending of his status, but quite benign.

After the war Oliver first went to war-torn Germany as a driver for a relief team, then returned to England to do agricultural work but eventually ending up back in London to develop his creative talents. After a stint as a stage manager at the BBC he decided he could do better at producing childrens' films than the material he saw at the time, and invented an animation table. Alexander The Mouse was born and Oliver was able to sell 20 episodes to the BBC, and as they say, the rest is history.

Oliver's biography, the facts of his life, and his stories of early television production are fascinating, but it is the sheer warmth of his personality which appeals. The story is fascinating, but it is the person behind the stories that shines out, the way he handled the human-stuff of life, finding his way step by step through marriage, family, work while constantly also being fed by a hugely creative brain which inspired him in so many directions.

Towards the end of his life, after a serious operation, Oliver had a vast and overwhelming experience, which some would call "spiritual" but which he was never really able to explain. Let us say that love overtook him, and turned his life upside down.

Oliver died last year, and the tributes flowed into to someone who not only delighted countless children with his films and stories, but also touched everyone he met with the inspiration of his personality.

This is a very well-written, heart-warming (but never sentimental) book, which would be an excellent gift for almost any category of reader. It is hard to think of anyone who would not be pleased to receive this on Christmas Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Memoir for An Interesting Figure in Childrens' Television, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Seeing Things (Paperback)
Oliver Postage's legacy in children's' programming brings a warm sense of nostalgia to the many generations of children who grew up watching Small Films' brand of no-nonsense storytelling, using animation budgets that put big modern studios to shame to bring some of the most imaginative animated characters of the British silver screen. So Seeing Things paints a portrait of Postage as someone who had an interesting, if chaotic, life, in which he stumbled into this field of animated film-making on a shoestring after an eclectic working life, which he considered at times as mis-adventures.
Whilst die-hard fans of Postage's programmes like Bagpuss, The Clangers, or Noggin the Nog, may be disappointed, as it does not go into detail into the production process of making these series. However, for people who are reading it out of interest of this figure will at least appreciate that Postage had an inventive mind as they read into his engineering endeavours, to his politically motivated ideologies growing up through the Second World War and Cold War as philosophical gold. Reading about how he tackled such issues as solar power and nuclear arms will give a new experienced perspective on such issues raised through the 20th Century.
Seeing Things is an excellent memoir for an interesting figure in children's' television, and makes an essential reading for not fans of such beloved children's' programmes, but also an excellent memoir chronically through an eventful era of the 20th Century through the eyes of a somewhat inventive and down to earth creative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography of an inventor, 8 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Seeing Things (Paperback)
As some of the other reviewers have pointed out, this book is the story of Oliver Postgate's life as seen from his point of view. It starts with his earliest childhood memories, and ends with a post-script by his son. It is not primarily about his TV characters, although obviously, they come in to it. Family life plays a large part, and I found the early sections, where he recalls his grandfather, George Lansbury, and his time at Dartington Hall, especially fascinating. During his young adult life, we witness his struggle to tame his highly inventive and creative personality into some kind of career direction, and the fortuitous encounter with Peter Firmin which sets the whole thing rolling. We get a behind-the-scenes view of the insecurity of the whole film-making enterprise and it is very revealing that they only got paid 100 for each of the first Ivor the Engine programmes.

I like the sense it gives of life being an ad hoc process, not following any set plan, and open to new ideas, inventions and opportunities. In later life, Postgate reveals that he never felt he really 'became anything' in particular (as in, he didn't have a firm professional identity). However, having read the book, I feel that he was always at core an inventor and that throughout his life he turned his inventive mind to whatever was the most immediate task in hand (whether that was the washing machine he built for his mum at 17, the stories he created for TV, or the burn-resistant pan handle he made as an old man).

A great book for those who want to be inspired to live their life with integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable memoir, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
H. M. Holt "souloftherose" (Tring, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seeing Things (Hardcover)
This is a light-hearted memoir/biography of the man behind children's TV favourites such as Bagpuss, Ivor the Engine and The Clangers.

Oliver Postgate has written the story of his life and it was an extraordinary one. From adventures as a young boy at school to becoming a conscientious objector during WWII, he was always tinkering, inventing and thinking about things. One of the most interesting things about this book was Postgate's commentaries and thoughts on the issues of the time and what he felt about them.

I read the first half of this book fairly slowly, dipping in and out every few chapters but in the second half of the book Postgate starts to talk about his time writing and filming the children's programmes he became so famous for and this is where the book really shines; you can tell that he really found his niche here and did some really amazing things.

Although I was slightly too young to remember all the children's programmes he made, I enjoyed reading this book and it has inspired me to find out more about the programmes he created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Postgate - Seeing Things, 26 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Things (Paperback)
Oliver Postgate's memoir Seeing Things is a delight: honest, fuuny and touching this creator of children's classics such as Noggin the Nog and Iv or the Engine records the highs and lows of his remarkable life covering family life in the 1920s with his liberal parents, his experiences as a conscientious objector and a brief but grim time in post war Germany as a driver assisting with aid. His early working life was very varied ranging from farm to theatrical work and he always found himself using his amazing natural aptitude for mechanics in imaginative and resourceful ways. He describes in fascinating detial the development of his collaboration with illustrator Peter Firmin: amazingly, considering the immense popularity of their tales, the fees they recieved were far from generous. I have not yet finished Seeing Things and am loving it. I thoroughly recommend it as a terrific read and it has inspired me to rewatch Noggin and Ivor the Engine whihc I have on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeing Things
Seeing Things by Oliver Postgate (Paperback - 7 Oct. 2010)
£8.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews