Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift
Bought this as a little gift for my Rangers supporter hubby. Informative but in a light hearted way. Easy read too!
Published 19 months ago by Mrs L Davidson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad ....
Not too much depth here, very descriptive at times, probably a better read if you're coming to the Old Firm from the 'outside'. Worth reading nonetheless. I enjoyed it.
Published 21 months ago by vinny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside the Divide: One City, Two Teams ... The Old Firm (Paperback)
Bought this as a little gift for my Rangers supporter hubby. Informative but in a light hearted way. Easy read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad ...., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too much depth here, very descriptive at times, probably a better read if you're coming to the Old Firm from the 'outside'. Worth reading nonetheless. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applecroft1, 26 Jan 2013
My mum who's in her mid 60s is originally from Glasgow and a Rangers fan. All I can say is she loved it and couldn't put it down! She said it brought back so many memories and typified the culture at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read, 30 Aug 2012
I am not a fan of either of the Old Firm but I am intrigued by them which is why I bought this book.

Wilson offers an excellent insight into the workings of both clubs, their histories, traditions and the mindset of their supporters.

The book does not seek to glorify or dress up the Old Firm as something that they are not and there is a particularly poignant passage about the Ibrox disaster which brought a lump to my throat.

All in all this is a fantastic book that I read in 3 days. I thoroughly recommend it to any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 17 Feb 2012
I really enjoyed this book-a fabulous read and very interesting. I liked how it gave the perspective of a wide range of people about what the Old firm meant to them. I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book on the "Old Firm", 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in understanding the rivalry between the two biggest clubs in Scotland. The book delves deep into the history of the rivalry, and due to the brilliant research, and content, you will understand the divisions between Celtic and Rangers. "A Fantastic Book" Read It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BEHIND THE GREEN AND BLUE, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A VERY INTERESTING LOOK AT THE OLD FIRM WARTS AND ALL A MUST READ FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN THE BACKGROUND OF THESE GREAT RIVALS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good insight, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sums up the old firm well and gives an accurate description of Glasgow. Would recommend to any old firm supporter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different insight into the Old Firm, 17 Feb 2012
This isn't like any other football book that I have ever read before and I've read a lot! I would say it appeals to Celtic and Rangers fans, as well as general football fans. I thought it was really different and some of it brought back memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Derby, 29 Feb 2012
Superbly written and insightful, this book is a genuine first, a well balanced account of the history of Rangers and Celtic, and the Old Firm match in particular, from the perspective of everyone involved in the fiercest derby in football.

It could be argued that it is impossible to understand Glasgow without appreciating the significance of the derby match between these two unique clubs. I would go as far as to recommend that the book is added to the high school curriculum in the West of Scotland as a first blow against the outdated religious apartheid that is perpetuated by our educational system and ignored by our political representatives.

Since the book was published Rangers have finally succumbed to administration after years of financial mis-management and, despite what the current Celtic chairman may say, the future of these two great clubs are as inextricably linked as their past. It is also therefore a prescient read while the future of Rangers and this historic match remains in jeopardy.

Highly recommended not just to the millions of Old Firm fans around the world then, but also to all football fans interested in the wider social and cultural impact of the game. A stark reminder of the depth of feeling that truly great clubs hold over the people that support them in a time when the wider game has spiralled out of control financially and lost touch with what made it special in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside the Divide: One City, Two Teams ... The Old Firm
Inside the Divide: One City, Two Teams ... The Old Firm by Richard Wilson (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews