Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In case of Emergency... Rely on yourself
I've met Neil, on his book tour in London, I'm a huge fan of his book The Game, raved about it to all my friends and have probably brought a dozen or so copies to hand out to friends. When I read it, for me, it had a certain resonance, as I read the stories about as i could understand and related to some ( not all!) of the scenarios that he wrote about. When reading the...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Mr X

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Survival for Oprah fans (ban it!)
Like many people who watch the news i thought a bit of "survivalist" knowledge might be timely. Having read "The long hard road out of hell" i was under no illusion that Neil Strauss was going to change my life with his writing style, but as he spent 8 yrs researching survivalism with the pro's i expected a light read crammed with useful tips.
I would have to say...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Opinionated 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emergency - This Book Will Save You From Boredom, 26 April 2009
I'd never read any of the previous works of Neil Strauss so had no frame of reference for his writing style.

Emergency is one of those books I hated to put down even to go asleep. Neils writing style flows so, so well and I was entertained and even a bit horrified (in places - you'll understand when you read it) from start to finish.

Just a fantastic journal of somebody who goes on a quest for surviving the worst and becomes a better human being as part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like The Game, 1 July 2009
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Emergency, I found had little really new or interesting information. In The Game, Straus revealed a whole unknown subculture of dedicated pick-up artists and skills they used. The Game was a coherent whole and a fascinating expose. In Emergency we know the characters from previous documentaries. Survivalists, for example have been covered in great depth. Likewise cryognics fans,wealthy tax exiles and doomsday groups. I felt that there was little genuinely new information to keep me interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to save yourself, 27 Sep 2010
By 
F. Hoti - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book. I thought it would be something about what to do when you approach a women of some sort, but I turned out to be wrong, and I found myself enjoying reading a factual type book. Neil Strauss in a phenomenal writer, and can't wait for any upcoming books from him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endure, adapt and overcome . . . . your on your own!, 6 May 2009
By 
Mr. James Doyle "Eldoylio" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably the most thought provoking book about surviving as a global citizen I have ever read.

Lots of good points to get you researching whatever is relevant to yourself and your long term financial and political wellbeing.

Short, sharp, witty and often startling chapters make this more of an enjoyable collection of notes rather than a paranoid diatribe that so many other books on these topics often turn out to be. This should be on everyones reading list for 2009 . . . . especially if you are a Fliesian preparing a BOB for WTSHTF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency: One Man's Story of a Dangerous World, and How to Stay Alive in it (Paperback)
Don't wast your time with this book if your looking for answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this in one night!, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Emergency: One Man's Story of a Dangerous World, and How to Stay Alive in it (Paperback)
Breath-taking and extraordinary account of one man's goal of surviviving any (and I mean any!)potential catastrophe in the America of post-9/11. Strauss learns how to live in nature foregoing modern conveniences for the great outdoors. In the course of the book Strauss picks up numerous skills including tracking, how to survive a kidnapping, and disaster management among others. Read it and be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He taught you how to get the girl; now learn how to save the day..., 12 Aug 2010
By 
Thomas Ashley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is not a survival manual - it contains few actual lessons for you to follow. Instead, like The Game, it is an engaging account of how a man who knows nothing of the subject transforms himself into an expert, and the consequent changes to his lifestyle and world view that occurs.

What it lacks in depth of detail in any one area it more than makes up for in breadth - There cant be many people who have ever tried to cover so many bases as Neil Strauss has done under the general header of Survival - topics include living in the wilderness and the city, natural and unnatural disasters, terrorism, totalitarian oppression, armed & unarmed combat, dual nationality, escape & evasion, first aid, flying sailing biking & hiking, diet, psychology, finance, networking, and going out with a timid (but remarkably tolerant) girlfriend while undergoing this personal transformation.

Naturally it is quite America-centric in places - UK survivors must make do without quite so much legally held firepower (and consequently will probably live longer), and with an EU passport we currently have a much greater choice of places to run to WTSHTF, making the dual nationality stuff a less pressing priority; however they are interesting to read about.

The book on its own will not save your life, but may well inspire you to do your own local research and get out there and learn a few things that could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well, but ..., 24 Mar 2010
... for me it got really boring towards the end. Conceptually I thought it was a good idea and some of the info was very interesting. Ultimately though I found I didn't care if he got his second citizenship and the survivalists still sound like complete and utter nutters.

Plus I doubt if he'd follow through on all the stuff anyway. So so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Self-Mocking Paranoid's Path to Self-Sufficiency and Confidence, 17 May 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The ideal reader for this book is someone who feels compelled to start planning how to get out of every room safely in case of an earthquake just as soon as the room is entered.

Walter Mitty would have loved this book with its vivid fantasy lived out of preparing for the worst (referred to here as "WTSHTF"). I must admit that quite a few of the sections were pretty interesting to me, as well. I felt regressed to the age of nine at those points in the narrative. The book's drawback is that Mr. Strauss usually emphasizes the emotions of being at risk and developing confidence at the expense of presenting the evidence of how to be effective in a difficult situation.

Ultimately, Emergency comes across as self-parodying for the reader to come to terms with the excess of paranoia here. I felt like the idea behind these experiences was to spend lots of money having exotic adventures and then to write a best-selling book about it.

It also seemed to me that a book of genuine advice for a few more common emergencies would have been more interesting than this take-off on the idea of fleeing a fascist government or surviving civil unrest.

Another drawback is that you probably know more about survival than Strauss did when he began his search for safety. The clueless parts of the book may seem more than a little lame.

I thought the parts about escaping from kidnappers were the best. Those exercises sounded like a lot of fun.

What will you learn? A little about a lot of things including the challenges of getting a second passport if you are an American, opening an offshore banking account, protecting your assets from lawyers and the U.S. government, killing and dressing a goat, getting water with a solar still, preparing caches and escape routes from urban areas, some of the many schools that will prepare you to be able to survive without resources in the wilderness or a city, some forms of emergency training, and how some people try to stay off the radar of any government.

Do you need to know any of this? Probably not. It's more like reading about Robinson Crusoe and being interested in what to do on a desert island.

Mr. Strauss's sense of humor is pretty good. I especially enjoyed the contrast between his take-charge, be-prepared-for-any-eventuality approach and his girl friend's desire to avoid any risk . . . often being afraid about higher risk events than Mr. Strauss was.

Enjoy a little paranoia!

But if you want to feel more loved and confident, Jesus will do you more good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 5 May 2009
By 
This is a thoroughly enjoyable read from likeable author Neil Strauss.

Neil has the ability to immerse himself in the subject matter for which he writes about, and Emergency is no different. Although he persues an interest in a variety of practical skillsets, as oppose to the main focus of 'The Game', he does so with unwaivering determination. The number of certificates he gains throughout his survival and disaster training is simply staggering, and testiment to what one can achieve when they become dedicated to a purpose.

Not quite a 5 star due to it taking almost half the book to get going. Also practical information on the topics followed in the book are perhaps better extracted from other books. Nonetheless, it's a compelling read with an eye opening and thought provoking conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emergency: One Man's Story of a Dangerous World, and How to Stay Alive in it
£8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews