Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read; highly recommended
This is not usually the sort of book I would go for but having read the extracts in The Times I thought I would give it a whirl and I am glad I did. Once I had picked it up I couldn't put it down.

Th first part of the book covers in gory detail the author's experiences in Liberia as a journalist with the mercenary Nick du Toit who he hired to protect him and...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by isabel in the kitchen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Confusing at times
Published 8 months ago by LES WILLIAMS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Jan. 2012
This has to be one of the best books that I have ever read. Full of action and the horrors of wars,but touched with some humanity and the contradictions in how people can be kind and yet be barbaric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a story., 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend the Mercenary (Paperback)
We often read bits about wars in Africa and I for one find some quite unfathomable. I found this first hand account of rebels fighting in Liberia truly engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to get into, but definitely worth it!!, 9 April 2013
I chose this book due to reading a lot about hired guns/private military/mercenaries. This title is unlike any others I've read, as its written from a reporters point of view, at the beginning, it informs you of the eventualities that are coming, but I must say it took a little while longer to read, due to the fact it was so informative, and was an education about West Africa, its cultures, and of course it's troubled past. But above all, about two very unlikely friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy, 31 July 2010
By 
Patrick Troy (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, very well written.It was . MY FRIEND THE MERCENARY. and that is what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed it. At times horrific, but always engaging. The road less travelled, for sure; made me interested in the conflict, as well - a passing interest is enough to get you through this book in days. The last section changes tack, as the coup is taken apart forensically - but this is not to the detriment of the book, which is pacey and informative throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I could smell the gunpowder and bombs, 22 April 2013
An excellent read. Wonderfully written and greatly descriptive.

Thoroughly enjoyed Brabazon's work.

Highly recommended.

My only gripe is that Brabazon does not get it right when it comes to EO - Eeben Barlow created Executive Outcomes and nobody else. And it certainly was not created by that Wonga clown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend the Mercenary (Paperback)
Confusing at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I got a bit bored, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend the Mercenary (Paperback)
Perhaps I have read too much of this genre, but I found it a bit dull and have't finished it (got about half way through). Seems like the author is trying to make what was a boy's own adventure into a boy's own adventure. If I finish it and think differently I'll revise this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Brabazon's story of his time in Liberia with Nick du Toit is a gripping read. Following Nick's incarceration as a mercenary in Equitorial Guinea following the failed coup, Brabazon's gives a side of the story one would not get from Simon Mann. Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Factual and interesting., 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A factual account of an unusual but close friendship built on trust under trying circumstances. The author risks his life and pretty hard conditions for a story but gained a good friend in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Friend the Mercenary
My Friend the Mercenary by James Brabazon (Paperback - 16 Jun. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews